Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 11

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 11. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 11: The Good Woman of Cortona

We'd found the stolen painting and were close to catching the thief. Little did we realize that by day's end, we'd have uncovered a theft of a different kind.

...

We found Luca, looking secretive, at a flower stand near his mother's tailor shop.

June: Luca. This painting. Tell us the truth. Did you steal it?

Luca: What? No. I've never seen that painting before. It's very good. Is it famous?

He was utterly guileless. I could see why Virginia thought he was innocent. It was too bad all the evidence pointed to him.

Clue #1

June: Dammit. Silvio's here.

Amelia: Already?

June: He must have been following Luca.

Amelia: I thought we were following Luca. Why didn't we see Silvio at the church?

June: I know. Something's not right.

Silvio: Caught you! Didn't your mother teach you that you shouldn't take what doesn't belong to you?

Luca: What is this painting? Why does everyone think I stole it?

Silvio: Go on, play the innocent lamb. You won't fool Silvio Santini! Come, I'll take you to the police myself!

Something fell from Luca's hands as Silvio started to drag him toward the police station.

Clue #2

June: A bouquet of flowers. Virginia, I believe these were intended for you.

Virginia: Now do you believe Luca's innocent? Or do you think he just decided to swing by the flower shop after hiding the evidence?

June: It's not exactly the behavior of a fugitive, is it? Something's not adding up. I think we need to pay one more visit to the tailor shop.

...

June: Every clue we've found about the stolen painting points to this shop.

Amelia: But if the boy's innocent, then who...

June: Look, someone's been here recently.

Clue #3

June: These booths are caked in mud.

Virginia: Not Luca's. They're too small.

Amelia: I thought the footprints at the church looked a little small...

June: I think we've been following the wrong family member.

Amelia: June, you're losing me. You said you think we've been following the wrong family member. Who else is there?

June: Perhaps I should let Viola explain for herself.

Clue #4

June: We were looking for the "man" in the purple vest. I never thought to look for a woman.

Viola: Yes. It was me. I was the man in the purple vest. I stole the Piazza of Love.

Amelia: You murdered Pascal.

Viola: I...no. Let's go to my home. I'll explain everything.

...

June: All right, Viola. We're listening.

Viola: Yes, I was the one who stole the painting with Pascal. But I didn't kill him, I swear it.

Amelia: Prove it.

Viola: I so wish I could. All I have is this...

Clue #5

Amelia: Pascal's jacket...

Viola: After we stole the painting, Pascal got drunk and demanded more money. I couldn't pay, and this angered him. He took a swing, but he lost his balance. He hit his head as he fell into the river. I tried to pull him out, but he slipped out of my grasp. He was already gone. I didn't know what to do. I panicked. I took the jacket and left town that night.

June: How do we know your story is true? No one saw what happened.

Viola: I know. Why do you think I didn't go right to the police? I knew no one would believe me. I buried everything from that night in the garden. You can look. I have nothing left to hide.

Clue #6

Amelia: This is Pascal's handwriting.

Viola: Yes, I found the letter in his jacket pocket. I didn't know whether to send it, or...

Amelia: "Dearest Amelia. I believe I have found a solution to all of our money problems. If you knew, you'd never approve. But I hope that you will forgive me after the fact." Oh, Pascal...but why? Why steal the painting to begin with?

Viola: Come with me.

...

June: A vineyard. Why'd you take us here?

Viola: It was my father Bernardo's favorite place to paint.

Amelia: June...these paintings.

Clue #7

June: These paintings look just like the Piazza of Love.

Amelia: Silvio's work.

Viola: No! Not Silvio's work. Silvio Santini is a thief and a liar! He stole my father's work. He destroyed him.

June: Silvio stole your father's work?

Viola: Silvio was my father's student. But he had no talent. Here is a picture of them, taken many years ago. You can see for yourself.

Clue #8

June: Silvio's always been a snake, hasn't he?

Viola: He said he was taking my father's paintings to sell them to a wealthy collector. Instead, he started showing them in Paris, claiming they were his own work! I couldn't let him steal my father's legacy. Do you understand now? Do you believe me?

June: Amelia?

Amelia: I...yes. I believe you.

After we talked to Viola, Amelia and I went to confront Silvio. It was the only way to clear Luca's name and return the Piazza of Love to its rightful owners.

Amelia: You know, I'd always wondered how an overdressed ape could create such inspired work. Today I found out. You didn't. You stole it.

Silvio: Caution, dear Amelia. I hear jealousy ages you ten years.

Clue #9

June: What's this you've been doodling, Silvio? A view of the hills?

Amelia: Is that supposed to be a chicken?

Silvio: Philistines! I don't expect you to appreciate genius.

June: Did you really think you'd get away with passing someone else's art off as your own work?

Silvio: Spare me your condescending looks. You don't know how I've suffered, slaving away in that old man's shadow, day after day!

Amelia: Enough. Let Lucao ut of jail. You know he's innocent.

Silvio: Never. How would it look if I let him go? Every thief in Paris would think me an easy mark.

Clue #10

I could see that Silvio was planning to leave town soon. He had a ticket to Paris for later that day. I had to take a chance.

June: Let Luca out of jail, or we'll tell everyone who really painted the Piazza of Love!

Silvio: Ha! Who will believe you? No one, that's who.

June: If you won't free Luca, I'll find a way. But don't think you'll get away with this.

Silvio: Please, don't make me laugh. I'll spill my coffee.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.