Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 14

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 14. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 14: What Happened to Bobby Talbot

Our search for Mrs. Talbot's son Bobby took a turn when we entered his ransacked apartment. Bobby was in trouble, and we were only beginning to understand how much.

Mrs. Talbot: Where is Bobby? What happened here?

June: Looks like someone tore the place apart.

Mrs. Talbot: What was that? Did you just knock something over?

June: No. I heard it too. It sounds like someone's here.

Clue #1

June: I think I found our intruder. Hello, Mr. Kitty.

Mrs. Talbot: Bobby's cat. He named him Leo. Bobby picked him up when he was a stray kitten. Why would he abandon him?

June: I don't think he planned on it. It looks like he had to clear out pretty quickly. Nobody trashes an apartment like this because of late rent. Mrs. Talbot, is there something you haven't told me about Bobby's money problems?

Mrs. Talbot: Bobby's always been, well, naive. He can trust the wrong people. Schemers, con men... they promise the world, and to a dreamer like Bobby...

June: I understand. We'll keep searching, but let's not worry until we have to.

Clue #2

June: A ticket for a pawn shop. Looks as if Bobby's pawned his saxophone.

Mrs. Talbot: Bobby sold his saxophone? He always said he'd rather starve.

June: The ticket's good until tonight. Maybe we can pick up Bobby's trail at the pawn shop.

...

Pawnbroker: Can I help you, ladies? You look lost.

June: Not lost, looking for someone. We think he pawned a saxophone here a couple weeks ago. Here's his pawn ticket. Do you remember him?

Pawnbroker: Oh yeah. He came in a month ago with a pretty girl. I could see why he'd want the money. You want to take a look at the sax? I doubt he's coming back for it.

Clue #3

June: This is a beautiful saxophone.

Mrs. Talbot: Music was Bobby's first love. I can't fathom what would make him give it up.

Bobby: Mom? Miss Parker? What are you doing here?

Mrs. Talbot: Your telegram, Bobby. You can't just ask for that kind of money without an explanation! And then I come here and find out you've pawned your saxophone? What's going on?

Bobby: Mom, you don't need to worry. I've got everything figured out.

Mrs. Talbot: Mmhmm. I'm sure you do. That's why you pawned your saxophone.

Bobby: I just needed some seed money. I'm here to buy it back.

I watched as Bobby repaid the pawnbroker. He counted the payment out in crisp new bills pulled from a nondescript briefcase.

Clue #4

Bobby's briefcase was full of fresh bank notes. It gave me an uneasy feeling.

June: Bobby, where did you get his money?

Bobby: I'll tell you everything, but I have to get to the train station. We can talk on the way.

...

Mrs. Talbot: Okay, Bobby. What's going on? Why was your apartment ransacked? Why are we going to the train station?

Bobby: Look, I know you're worried. But everythings going to be okay. I just need to leave town for a little while until things blow over.

Clue #5

June: Mexico? You're going to Mexico?

Mrs. Talbot: Robert W. Talbot. You owe me an explanation.

Bobby: You have to promise not to get angry. There was a poker game. High stakes. Big prize. I entered. I won. Problem is, I wasn't supposed to. The game was rigged. Now I need to lay low.

Mrs. Talbot: I don't understand, Bobby. All of this over a poker game?

Bobby: Not just any poker game, Mom. The man who runs it... just trust me, he's bad.

June: Have you gone to the police?

Bobby: No good. The police in New Orleans are all on the make. I have to get out of town.

June: Let me guess. The police have all been bought by the guy that's after you.

Bobby: Exactly. And now they're here. We need to leave before they notice us.

Clue #6

June: How about the maintenance door?

Bobby: It'll work. Quickly, before the police see us.

...

The side door led us directly to a half-finished train platform.

Bobby: Watch your step. There's not much light here.

June: That's an understatement. We'll break our necks if we don't find a light source.

Clue #7

June: There. That's a little better. We can at least see where we're walking.

Mrs. Talbot: This gambler you crossed... what does he want? Why don't you just give his money back?

Bobby: It's not that simple. It's a matter of pride for him.

Mrs. Talbot: What were you thinking, Bobby? Getting involved with crooks and gamblers. You know your father and I would have given you whatever you needed.

Bobby: Mom, I'm sorry. I know how terrible this looks. But you have to believe me. If it was just about the money...

June: Shh Someone's coming. We can have this argument later. After we get out of this tunnel.

Clue #8

June: Here. We can use these boards to cross. There's a door on the other side. Hopefully it's an exit.

Bobby: The cops will be watching the train station now. I need another way out of town.

June: I think I know a way. Let's hope the police aren't watching the airfield as well.

...

We stopped by a public phone and called Jack. We told him to meet us at the airfield.

Mrs. Talbot: Bobby. Don't go to Mexico. Come home.

Bobby: I will. There's just something I need to take care of first. I wish I could tell you more, but I can't. I can't risk getting you involved.

Mrs. Talbot: I'm not going to talk you out of it, am I? Just promise me one thing... be careful.

Bobby: I will. I promise.

Clue #9

June: Damn it. The police are already here.

Bobby: I hope your friend Jack gets here soon.

I still don't know how the police knew we'd be at the airfield that day. They didn't waste time locking the place down. Grounding the plans, blocking the exits.

Bobby: We're sitting ducks here. It's only a matter of time before they find us.

June: Stay calm. Jack will pull through.

Clue #10

June: Jack! Thank God. How did you make it past the police?

Jack: I flashed my Distinguished Flying Medal. Cops love a bona fide war hero. Works every time. Now, hop in.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.