Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 13

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 13. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 13: Mrs. Talbot's Son

Our trip had done Virginia good and she returned from Paris in higher spirits. But when we arrived at the estate, we learned that all had not been well in our absence.

June: Mrs. Talbot! It's good to see you.

Mrs. Talbot: June. You took off to Europe without a moment's notice. You didn't say when you'd be back. The riding instructor, Virginia's school... I had no idea what to tell people.

June: I'm sorry, Mrs. Talbot. What do you mean?

Mrs. Talbot: I've got a stack of messages here for you. I don't have time to look at them.

Clue #1

June: It's from St. Prudence. "Virginia faces expulsion unless we hear from you." I thought I'd settled with the school? I guess I need to call them.

Mrs. Talbot: You most certainly do. I have matters of my own to attend to. I'll be out of town for a while, but Mr. Talbot will be here.

June: I'm really sorry for leaving you in the lurch, Mrs. Talbot. You said you have to leave town. Is everything all right?

Mrs. Talbot: I don't have the time to explain right now. I have to get ready to leave.

Virginia: What's wrong with Mrs. Talbot?

June: I don't know, but look, there's a telegram addressed to her.

Clue #2

June: This telegram asks for money to be wired as soon as a possible. It's quite a large sum too. I wonder who would ask for this.

Virginia: I've never seen Mrs. Talbot get angry like that before.

June: Let's go and see Mr. Talbot. Maybe he can tell us what's bothering her.

Mr. Talbot: Ah, June and Virginia! The explorers return!

June: My dear Mr. Talbot. The lighthouse is looking marvelous.

Mr. Talbot: Thank you, June. It's good to see her shine again, isn't it? Amazing what you can do with a little time. And Mrs. Talbot's home cooking, of course. That reminds me. I found something when I was peeling away all the old paint.

Clue #3

June: I completely forgot! Our carving: Clare and June. We used to sit up here and tell stories of priates sailing into the bay.

Mr. Talbot: Ah yes, I remember. Is there something I can help you with, June?

June: Mrs. Talbot seems upset today. Is everything all right?

Mr. Talbot: Oh, it's our son Bobby. He's gotten himself into another scrape.

June: It's been years since I last saw Bobby. How is he doing?

Mr. Talbot: Oh, you know. Living his dreams playing saxophone down in New Orleans. He sent me the poster from one of his shows.

Clue #4

June: Looks like Bobby's doing really well.

Mr. Talbot: Well, there's a difference between getting gigs and getting paid for them.

June: We found a telegram asking for money. Was it from Bobby?

Mr. Talbot: Yeah, Mrs. Talbot's worried he's in over his head. Wants him to come home. Between you and me, I'll bet there's a nice young lady invovled. To be twenty-two again!

June: Still, maybe I should talk to Mrs. Talbot.

...

June: Mr. Talbot says you're worried about Bobby.

Mrs. Talbot: Yes, I need to go to New Orleans right away.

June: Okay. Is there anything I can do?

Mrs. Talbot: This is a family matter. Maybe it's best you don't get involved.

Clue #5

June: Ruby the rabbit. Do you remember when you gave me Ruby?

Mrs. Talbot: Yes, you and Clare had been playing in the lighthouse again. One of the rotten steps fell through and you broke your leg.

June: You were the one who took me to the hospital. You taught me to use my crutches. Mother was gone and Father worked all the time. You were my family. Let me come with you to New Orleans.

Mrs. Talbot: What about Virginia? She can't miss any more school.

Virginia: I'll be fine, I promise. I can get a head start on my schoolwork.

Mrs. Talbot: I suppose Mr. Talbot will be here to keep an eye on you.

June: It's settled then. I know someone who can get us to New Orleans. Let me make a call.

Clue #6

June: Jack, it's June. How are you?

Jack: I'm great. To what do I owe the pleasure, Juney?

June: I have a friend who needs help in New Orleans. Think you could give us a ride?

Jack: New Orleans? Sure, I have an old war buddy there I can visit.

...

Mrs. Talbot: That was exhilerating. Where did you learn to fly, Mr. Hayes?

Jack: I started out dropping seeds on my grandfather's farm. When the war broke out, I signed up.

Mrs. Talbot: Oh, so you were a flying ace?

Jack: Ah, I wouldn't go that far. Let's just say I did my part.

June: Okay, where are we? Let's get our bearings.

Clue #7

June: Bourbon Street. You said Bobby's club was in the French Quarter.

Jack: Well then we have to be close. Bourbon Street is the right way.

June: So tell me why you're so worried, Mrs. Talbot. Bobby's always been a good kid.

Mrs. Talbot: He has some growing up to do. There are a lot of temptations out here. He keeps asking for money. Each time more than the last. Bobby works at a club called Tallulah's.

Jack: Tallulah's? Huh.

June: You've heard of it, Jack? What have you heard?

Jack: Oh, erm, I think it's right up ahead.

Clue #8

June: "Tallulah's: Live jazz, fine drinks and Cajun food." Looks like a fun place.

Jack: I'm going to leave you ladies to it. I have an old war buddy in town I'd like to look up. Don't let June get you into too much trouble, Mrs. Talbot.

Mrs. Talbot: Thank you for your help, Mr. Hayes.

June: Come on, Mrs. Talbot. Let's find Bobby.

...

June: It's awfully quiet, isn't it?

Mrs. Talbot: It's eerie. All the other clubs on this street were open.

June: You're right. The place should be hopping.

Clue #9

June: "Closed under police order." That's all it says.

Mrs. Talbot: The police? I have a terrible feeling about this, June.

June: Don't panic, Mrs. Talbot. Let's ask someone what happened here.

...

June: Excuse me, Officer. What happened here?

Detective Martel: This is a crime scene. I'm afraid I can't tell you.

Mrs. Talbot: Officer, my son works here. I need to know that he's okay.

Detective Martel: I'm sorry I can't help. Please keep clear of the entrance.

The officer wasn't going to help us. Maybe there was another way to find out what he knew.

Clue #10

June: The officer's notepad. He has a list of the names and addresses of the club's employees. Here's Bobby's. 225 Lafayette.

Mrs. Talbot: Why would the officer have Bobby's address? What's happened?

June: I'm sure it's just a standard part of the investigation. Let's go to Bobby's.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.