Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 17

By Kelly RileyPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 17. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 17: A Deadly Affair

Mrs. Talbot and I made it out of Ray's garage after a close call. It was high time to untangle the web of lies we had walked into. We started with Stella.

Mrs. Talbot: Why would Stella have tried to kill us?

June: Well, we thought Ray was the gambler and that he was paying off Detective Martel. What if it was Stella all along?

Mrs. Talbot: Maybe she killed Ray and paid off the cops.

June: But why? We need to find a motive.

Clue #1

June: Lingerie. "Brief Encounter."

Mrs. Talbot: I can't say I'm familiar with the brand.

June: Hmm. Stells said she and Ray weren't getting along. Either they reconciled, or Stella had another lover. If Stella was having an affair, it might explain why she wanted Ray out of the way.

Mrs. Talbot: So how do we find out who sent the lingerie? I don't suppose we'll be lucky enough to find a card from the sender.

Clue #2

June: Today's our lucky day. "I can't get you out of my mind. Meet me tonight... Elliot Bernard." It's from Elliot! All this time he failed to mention he was sleeping with the victim's wife.

Mrs. Talbot: Is there anyone we can trust?

June: Elliot owes us an explanation. Let's go talk to him.

...

Elliot had kept a secret from us. A big one. So we decided to pay him a visit.

June: You're having an affair with Stella Conroy. Why didn't you tell us?

Elliot: Do you really need to ask? Stella was a married woman. It would have been a scandal.

June: We think she might have killed Ray and set Bobby up.

Elliot: No, it's not possible. Stella was with me the night of the murder. We went to the opera.

Clue #3

Two used tickets to Madame Butterfly. Was Elliot telling me the truth?

June: So you and Stella were at the operat at the time Ray was killed?

Elliot: Yes, but now you mention it... Stella was gone for a while during intermission. She said there was a line in the powder room.

June: And your club, where Ray was killed, how far is it from the opera house?

Elliot: Oh, my. Why, it's just around the corner.

June: So Stella would have had time to leave the opera and commit the crime during intermission?

Elliot: But Stella? Really? We talked about her divorcing Ray... not this. I'm thunderstruck, I truly am. Have you spoken with the authorities?

June: We're worried Stella might be paying them off. We have to find another way.

Elliot's mantel was covered in photographs. One of them gave me an idea.

Clue #4

June: Detective Martel is in this photograph. Are the two of you friends?

Elliot: I wouldn't say we're friends, but we certainly run in the same circles. I see him from time to time at the country club.

June: It might be time you called in a favor down at the club. I still have the ledger from Martel's bribes. That should get us somewhere.

...

Elliot: June, the country club is men-only. A tired tradition I know, but you should really wait outside.

June: If I always waited outside I would never get anything done.

Whiskey and cigars. Old boys are the same the world over.

Clue #5

June: Care for a cigar, Detective?

Detective Martel: Miss Parker, what are you doing here?

June: We found the ledger, Martel. We know you're taking bribes. Unless you want your friends to hear how you paid for your club membership-- I suggest you and I have a talk on the terrace.

...

June: Here's what's going to happen. You arrest Ray's killer and we forget we saw the ledger.

Detective Martel: And who is Ray's killer, Miss Parker?

June: His wife. Stella.

Elliot: June has all the evidence you'll need to make an arrest, Detective. You just have to make the call.

Clue #6

June: Tell your department to send a team to City Park in two hours. We'll make sure Stell is there.

Elliot: We can't have Bobby Talbot go down for a crime he didn't commit, Detective. I'm sure you can understand how important that is.

Detective Martel: Yes, of course. Thank you, Mr. Bernard, Miss Parker. I'll do that.

...

Elliot called Stella and told her to meet him at the City Park bridge.

Elliot: I still can't believe she was the one who killed Ray. The whole thing has come as a mighty shock to me, June. Would you mind if she and I had a few moments alone?

June: Not at all. I think she's here already.

Clue #7

Mrs. Talbot: What do you suppose he's saying to her?

June: I don't know, but Stella looks really angry. I hope Detective Martel gets here soon.

...

Detective Martel: Hello, Miss Parker. We're ready to make an arrest.

June: Great, Detective. Elliot arranged to meet her at the bridge. He's talking to her right now. Wait, what's happening? Is that a gun?

Clue #8

June: Stella, calm down. Drop the gun. You don't want to do this.

Stella: No! I'm not going to jail for this!

Detective Martel: Shoot this man and you'll not only go to jail, they'll throw away the key. I'll see to it.

Stella: Fine. I'll put the gun down but you've got this all wrong. I did not kill Ray.

Detective Martel: Stella Conroy, you're under arrest for the murder of Ray Conroy. Come with me.

...

Stella's arrest had left us all rattled. Elliot invited us to his place for a drink.

Mrs. Talbot: To think Stella almost got away with framing Bobby. I can't bear the thought of it.

June: The most important thing is that Bobby is safe now. Now how about that drink? I think we could all use one.

Clue #9

June: Old-fashioned whiskey sours. Just what the doctor ordered.

Elliot: Ladies, I'd like to say how sorry I am for the part I played in all of this. To think Stella was so unhinged that she killed a man to be with me.

Mrs. Talbot: I'm just glad Bobby's name is finally clear.

Elliot: So what will you do now that you've cleared Bobby's name?

Mrs. Talbot: Well, I suppose we'll go and tell him the good news.

Elliot: That reminds me, where has young Bobby disappeared to?

June: Our friend Jack flew him to Reynosa, Mexico.

Elliot: Well that's a long drive. Why don't you take one of my cars? You'll get there faster.

Clue #10

Elliot had a beautiful collection of cars, but one in particular caught my eye.

Elliot: Excellent choice, June. I should have known you'd pick the fastest one.

June: Thank you for all your help, Elliot.

Elliot: No trouble at all. It's the least I could do. I hope we cross paths again someday.

Mrs. Talbot: Let's go and bring Bobby home.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.