Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 4

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago • 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 4. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 4: Clare's Secret

Eddie Daggett's death had left me in turmoil. Everything about it felt wrong, and the letter he'd given me revealed an incredible secret. If Harry wasn't Virginia's father, then who was?

"Virginia's father knows about everything. I need your help." I had read it over and over. Hard to believe Harry wasn't Virginia's father. He and Clare had been together since college. It was the only time I'd ever seen her blush -- when she talked about Harry. Since her death, her room hadn't been touched.

June: Forgive me, Clare.

Clue #1

June: These letters were stashed away. What were you hiding, Clare? "Harry won't make you happy. If you marry him, you'll be making a mistake." Who wrote these? There's no signature.

There was no further clue to who had written the letters. To be Virginia's father, Clare must have known the letter writer when she was at college.

Clue #2

June: "Richmond University, Class of 1910." The year Clare and Harry graduated.

Virginia: Oh, Aunt June. What are you doing in here?

June: I just thought it was time to start sorting your mother's things.

Virginia: Is this Mother's yearbook? Oh, but it's ripped.

Virginia was right. The yearbook was missing a page. But I knew where to find another copy. We reached Richmond University in less than two hours. Virginia had insisted on coming along.

Virginia: So what about you, Aunt June? Did you go to Richmond University, too?

June: Oh, no. I went to London instead.

Clue #3

June: Ah, the Richmond University crest. Did you know that your father stole it once?

Virginia: What?

June: Yes. Quite a scandal. He unbolted it from the wall and ran across campus with it. Completely naked.

Virginia: My father? Really?

June: Oh, yes. Harry liked to tell the story when he'd had a few.

Virginia: So, are you looking for something specific, Aunt June?

June: I was curious about that torn page in your mother's yearbook. I thought maybe the university had another copy on hand.

Clue #4

June: Here it is. "Class of 1910".

A lump formed in my throat when I saw the yearbook page.

Virginia: Wait, I've seen this man before. He was at the estate, talking to my father.

June: Virginia, I'm taking you home right now.

I decided not to call Sam before dropping by his office. I wanted to see his reaction when I walked in.

Sam: Miss Parker? What are you doing here? If this is about Eddie Daggett, you can drop it.

Class #5

June: "Van Buren Killer Eddie Daggett Implicated in Mob Murders."

Sam: A job Eddie did years ago. We found evidence when we cleared his office.

June: I'm not here to talk about Eddie. Why didn't you tell me you knew my sister and her husband? My niece saw you at the estate before they were murdered.

Sam: Be very careful what you say next, Miss Parker. It sounds like you are accusing me of murder.

June: What were you doing snooping around at the estate?

Sam: I was investigating Harry's bootlegging activities. Now I have a report to finish. Close the door after you leave.

When Sam turned to his desk, my gaze fell on some paperwork.

Class #6

The handwriting on Sam's report matched the letter I found in Clare's bedroom. The confirmed it. Sam was Clare's lover. But I needed more than just Virginia's memory and some love letters. I needed hard evidence that Sam killed Harry and Clare. The police had looked over the crime scene weeks ago. I had to think about what they could have missed. I tried to remember the photo of the crime scene. Harry had been sitting in this chair...

Clue #7

June: A letter from Harry to Sam. It's been burned, but... "Despite certain biological facts, you have no claim on this family. Stay away from us." So Sam knew he was Virginia's father and confronted Harry and Clare about it.

The letter still wasn't enough to put Sam at the scene. My head was spinning. Maybe a cigarette would help. I didn't smoke very often, but this was an emergency.

Clue #8

When I reached for the lighter, I noticed a familiar crest on it. "Richmond University 1910 - S.W." Initials? Sam Watts.

June: I've got you now, you murderer. What was that? It sounded like a scream!

I arrived at the garage to see Mrs. Talbot on the ground and Sam grabbing Virginia.

Virginia: Aunt June! He just barged in. Mrs. Talbot tried to stop him...

Clue #9

June: Mrs. Talbot, are you all right?

Mrs. Talbot: June, what's going on? Who is this man?

Sam: You could have left me alone. I gave you Eddie, but it wasn't enough for you. Now I have no other choice. I'm taking Virginia with me.

June: You killed her parents!

Sam: I had a daughter, and they kept it a secret for 16 years. I had the right to know! Get out of my way!

Mrs. Talbot: What's going on? Where is that man taking Virginia?

June: I don't know. But I'm not going to let him get away. Help me find something to start the car!

Clue #10

June: There's the crank. I'm going after them. You call the police.

Mrs. Talbot: June... Bring her back safe.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.