Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 15

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 15. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 15: Nightclub Blues

After Jack flew Bobby to Mexico, Detective Martel brought Mrs. Talbot and me in for questioning. I hadn't understood why Bobby ran from the police, but I was about to find out.

Detective Martel: You just helped a murder suspect flee the country.

Mrs. Talbot: That's impossible! Bobby wouldn't kill a fly, even if his life depended on it.

Detective Martel: Ray Conroy was stabbed to death early this morning between 3:00 and 4:00 AM. Robert Talbot is our lead suspect in the murder. Ma'am, do you recognize any of these items?

Clue #1

June: "R.T." This pocket watch is engraved with Bobby's initials.

Mrs. Talbot: I gave him that pocket watch when he finished school.

Detective Martel: We found it on the victim.

Mrs. Talbot: There must be some mistake.

June: So you found a pocket watch. Maybe Bobby knew the victim. That doesn't prove anything.

Detective Martel: You don't understand how serious this is. You helped Bobby escape. That makes you an accessory. Once we find definitive proof that ties Bobby to the crime, you're going to jail.

I wanted to find out what kind of evidence he had so far.

Clue #2

June: They already have a case file on Bobby. It says the murder took place at Tallulah's.

Mrs. Talbot: That's where Bobby works. That's why it was closed down by the police.

Detective Martel: Hand over the file. It's confidential.

June: Are we done?

Detective Martel: For now. You're free to go. Just don't go too far.

...

June: Excuse me, are you the owner of this club? I'm June Parker. This is Martha Talbot.

Elliot: Talbot? Must be related to Bobby. He's not here right now, but can I help you?

June: Yes, Bobby's in a bit of trouble. The police think he's tied to the murder at your club.

Elliot: Not Bobby! I don't believe it.

June: We were hoping we could get a look at the crime scene. Could you help us?

Elliot: If you think it'll help Bobby, of course. But I warn you, it's not a pretty sight.

Clue #3

Elliot: Here's where I found the body. Came in last night. Saw Ray lying facedown in a pool of his own blood.

June: Do you have any idea who might have wanted to kill Ray?

Elliot: Where to start? Ray would often come in and drink too much. Heckle performers. I had to kick him out on more than one occasion.

June: What about Bobby? Did he and Ray ever argue?

Elliot: Well, there was this rumor they were fighting over a girl. Miss Stella Lee. One of my singers.

June: I'd like to talk with her. Where can we find her?

Elliot: My performers pick up other work during the day. You could check the notice board.

Clue #4

June: "River Boat Jazz with Stella, Siren of the Mississippi." The next river boat departs in half an hour. We should hurry if we want to catch her. Thak you, you've been a bit help, Mr.--?

Elliot: Elliot Bernard. Call me Elliot. Best of luck, ladies. Hope this turns out to be one big misunderstanding.

The boat was bright, brassy, and full of life. It made Mrs. Talbot all the more tense.

June: Mrs. Talbot, you've barely said a word since the police station.

Mrs. Talbot: Bobby has been known to get into trouble from time to time. But I know my son. He is not a murderer.

June: I know. I'm sure Stella will clear things up.

Clue #5

June: Stella? Do you have a moment?

Stella: Sorry. I'm on break. Can we talk after the show?

Mrs. Talbot: It's about Bobby Talbot.

Stella: I've got five minutes. But then I have to finish my set.

June: Elliot Bernard said there was some trouble between Bobby and Ray Conroy. He also said you were in the middle.

Stella: Bobby was a sweet boy, but there was never anything romantic between us. As for Ray...

Stella grew quiet. She took something out of her purse and set it on the table.

Clue #6

June: A wedding ring?

Stella: It wasn't common knowledge, but Ray was my husband. He was no good, though. He drank too much and could work himself up into a real fury.

June: So you were on the outs with your husband. Any idea who killed him?

Stella: Look, if we're really going to do this, I'd prefer to go someplace more private. We can talk later at my apartment once I finish my set.

...

We met at Stella's apartment, but the singer took her time settling in before we talked.

Stella: I know I told you earlier there was nothing between Bobby and me. But that's not completely true. The truth is Bobby was infatuated with me, but I refused his advances. But that only made him more determined.

Clue #7

June: "I'd do anything to have you. I won't stop till we're together. Ray won't be a problem anymore. I'll take care of it."

Mrs. Talbot: No, I don't believe it. I just don't believe it.

I had so many more questions for Stella. About Bobby. About the letters. But then we were interruped by a knock on the door.

Clue #8

Elliot: June, I was hoping I'd find you here.

June: What is it?

Elliot: There's something I need to show you and Mama Talbot.

Stella: What's going on? Is it about Ray?

Elliot: Don't you worry Stella. This is between Mama Talbot and her boy.

...

Elliot rushed us to his car, and we set off for an undisclosed location.

June: What's this all about?

Elliot: I've got a contact over at the Louisiana Times. Apparently, someone sent him photos taken the night of the murder.

Clue #9

June: Is that Bobby? It looks like he's hiding something in the swamp.

Elliot: My contact is obliged to publish these, but I told him to hold off. I thought you should see them first.

June: Are these the only copies?

Elliot: Can't say. He doesn't know who sent them.

June: What could Bobby have been hiding?

Elliot: Well, I'm almost afraid to say it, but the police never did recover the murder weapon.

Mrs. Talbot: Wait, stop. We don't even know that this is Bobby in the photos.

June: I want to go to the place these photos were taken.

Elliot: I thought you might. I'm taking you there now.

Clue #10

June: The willow from the photos.

Mrs. Talbot: You're not really entertaining the idea that Bobby hid a murder weapon in this swamp!

June: I'm sure that Bobby's innocent. That's why we need to find this evidence before the police do.

puzzle
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.