Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 3

By Kelly RileyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 3. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 3: Eddie Daggett

Eddie put a gun to my head and told me to get in the car. What was I supposed to do? I did as I was told, knowing that Sam would be looking for me. I only hoped I could buy enough time...

Eddie: All right, lady, you're going to tell me why you and that FBI agent are tailing me.

June: It's about Clare and Harry van Buren. They were murdered.

Eddie: Yeah, I know. Real tragic. But what's that got to do with me?

He was wound really tight, and his gun was pointed right at me. I needed to find a way to calm him down and connect with him.

Clue #1

June: Is that a photo of your mother? She has such a warm smile.

Eddie: Leave my mother out of this! Answer the question. What's the murder got to do with me?

June: Well...the FBI thinks you killed Clare and Harry.

Eddie: What? That's crazy. I'm innocent. I didn't kill them.

June: I'm sure it's just a misunderstanding. We can talk about this. Just put your gun down...

Eddie: Look, lady, I'll put the gun away, but I can't go to jail. Not for something I didn't do. I've been doing things differently ever since Ma died.

Eddie was close to his mother. He clearly had a softer side. I just needed to keep him talking.

Clue #2

June: Are those lilies? I've always loved lilies.

Eddie: Yeah? They were Ma's favorite. Pink. The brighter the pink, the better. I put a fresh bouquet on her grave every day. In fact, that's where I was the day of the murder. I can prove it. The day of the murder, I met Harry on his boat. We talked business. Then I came to the cemetery. I was here until sundown. My mother's grave is right here. See for yourself.

Clue #3

June: I want to believe you, Eddie, but a dozen melted candles don't prove anything.

Eddie: Look, I admit it's not a great alibi, but it's the only one I've got. Harry and Clare? They were good people. And their little girl--real smart. I swear on my mother's grave, I did not kill Clare or Harry van Buren.

Eddie knelt by his mother's grave and swept away the leaves.

June: So, if you didn't kill Clare and Harry, do you have any idea who did?

Suddenly Eddie jumped up.

Eddie: Did you hear that?

Clue #4

It looked like someone was following us. Maybe it was Sam. At least I hoped it was.

June: Could someone be trying to frame you?

Eddie: Sure. Lots of people. Business was good. I've got an office at a nearby garage. I want to check my books. They'll tell me who was in Harry's neighborhood that day. Give me a second. The office is in the back. I'll be right out.

Sam: Stop right there! You're under arrest!

June: Wait, Sam. He's helping us track down Clare and Harry's killer.

Sam: Quick, he ran out the back!

Clue #5

June: The door's jammed. Eddie must have blocked it.

Sam: You let him get away!

June: You spooked him! I had the situation under control.

Sam: I warned you about this man! I told you how dangerous he was. Now go home and let me do my job.

June: I'm not going home, and you've got Eddie wrong. He can help us find my sister's killer.

Sam: He is your sister's killer. End of discussion.

Sam left without another word. I had to find Eddie before he did.

Clue #6

June: "Liberty Pharmacy." Smells prescription-strength all right. Logo looks familiar too. Like the whiskey bottles in Harry's cellar. If the pharmacy is part of Eddie's supply chain, maybe someone there knows where he is.

June: Excuse me. I'm looking for a friend of mine, Eddie Daggett. Do you know him?

Sonny: Do you go into all the pharmacies asking for your friend Eddie? Why are you asking me?

June: I happen to know he had a connection to Liberty Pharmacy.

The pharmacist was cagey, but there was something familiar about him.

Clue #7

June: It's okay. You can admit it. I see the family photo on the counter. Let's see...That's Eddie, that's Eddie's mother, and that's you.

Sonny: Listen lady, I don't know who you are, but you're obviously not from the Bronx. Eddie's a happily married man, and he likes to keep his business private.

June: I think Eddie could be in big trouble, and I'm trying to help him.

Sonny: What kind of trouble?

June: An FBI agent thinks he killed my sister. He's gone after Eddie.

Sonny: Why should I trust you? How do I know you're not in league with the FBI?

He was cautious, and I couldn't blame him. I had to win his trust.

Clue #8

June: A purple heart. Are you a veteran?

Sonny: Army. Corporal. Took a bullet at the Somme.

June: I was a nurse in a field hospital near there. I treated soldiers from that battle.

Sonny: You really want to help Eddie?

June: Yes, I really do.

Sonny: All right, he's at an old rail yard near Clifton in Jersey.

When I got to the rail station, there was no sign of Sam. But I knew it wouldn't be long until he found Eddie too.

Clue #9

June: Eddie's car...but where's Eddie? This place looks abandoned, so at least I know he hasn't caught a train out of here. If I were a notorious bootlegger, what would I be doing at an abandoned train yard? Eddie uses Harry's cellar for storage and a pharmacy for bottling. He also uses a garage for distribution. Hmm. That just leaves the distillery.

Clue #10

June: Steam's coming from that train car. That must be Eddie's distillery.

Sam: Good eye. Now let me take it from here.

June: No, Sam. Wait!

I rushed in to get ahead of Sam.

puzzle
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristi G.2 years ago

    This is awesome! I hope you're doing well and will contiue the story. I don't have time to play a game like that and I really got hooked on the story. I was so excited when I found your page. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.