Gamers logo

Interior Decorating as a Calling?

To Love One's Work is Satisfaction

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Design Home Game Image

I started playing a Play Store game on my cellphone less than a week ago. I got addicted to it on the first day. I love decorating rooms and this game satisfies my passion for that enjoyment. It allows me to use my tastes and preferences of art and furniture to design a beautiful room and house. I have had very few opportunities to do this in my real life, so this virtual experience is truly wonderful.

It makes me think about my career choices as well. I've worked in so many industries and environments, but rarely did I get a chance to express my artistic side. Art was also on the side as a hobby, not a career path. I don't know why I never considered Interior Decorator as a career. It is a perfect choice for me as I can see by playing this game because I really get passionate about it. When I complete the design, I have a sense of pride about it, even if the room isn't mine. How many people can say that about their jobs?

I think being passionate about your work or your product is really a good thing. One is energetic and excited about the work when there is passion. One doesn't complain about the difficulties or challenges present in the work when there is passion and enjoyment in the doing. Passion makes a big difference in regards to the success level one can achieve and feel in their career path. Perhaps that is what is meant when they say "Do you feel it is your "calling" to do such and such?" I never knew what "calling" meant until I started playing this little app game.

Maybe that seems silly to some. How can a job like Interior Decorating really be considered someone's calling? After all, anybody can do it really. It doesn't require any special talent, does it? And is it really a "calling" if it's not a necessary part of what is needed in the world? The world wouldn't break down if there were no Interior Decorators, would it? Probably not, but I don't think that means that the job can't be a calling. Maybe a "calling" is simply doing what you're good at and being in love with doing it. Maybe it's as simple as that.

Although I believe that I can transform any shoddy room into a masterpiece of comfort and artistic brilliance, I really don't know how to make this a career. I assume there are plenty of Interior Decorators already in the business and how does one compete or stand out? I have no idea. Hopefully, I'll learn more about the decorating world as I play the game and look into it on my own. I'd love to break into it, but without knowing how it works with real people and real situations, there isn't much more I can do about it at this time.

For now, I'll enjoy creating the designs on the game. I'll enjoy decorating my own home and playing with new ideas. I'll learn as much as I can about the industry and how these professionals make a living that way. Maybe I will pursue it in reality or maybe I'll keep it as a hobby like I have with most of my other artistic endeavors. Either way, I truly enjoy it and I think that with any work or hobby we engage ourselves in, that's a humongous plus. I hope you find your "calling" or at least enjoy whatever career or job that you have taken on. It makes you feel good, and then you can make others feel good too.

mobile
1

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.