Gamers logo

In the Life of a COD Fan

A brief history of Call of Duty (Just how many are there?)

By Brennan StarrPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
In the Life of a COD Fan
Photo by kabita Darlami on Unsplash

Going back to being 16 and booting up Call of Duty for the first time on PC (my teenage years were mostly spent on PC), and I can remember the joy of storming the Normandy beaches with all its graphical, for 2003, glory. The action of the bullets flying by, your fellow soldiers screaming out, and bombs on bombs coming down and destroying the beaches was the action packed fun this teen's heart was after. Let's fast forward to 2005, release of Call of Duty 2.

Call of Duty 2 was one game that I could not get enough of. With the online play being the best thing about it, in my opinion. Call of Duty 2 gave me something else to compete in instead of just playing Delta Force at that time. Of course the story was your typical World War II story but they showed it from different points of view which I found pretty neat. Then comes Call of Duty 3 only a little over a year later.

November 2006, Call of Duty 3 makes its appearance and I could care less. This release was not coming to PC so little ol' me did not care to even play this one. I guess there wont be much to say here about the 3rd installment. Well besides, boooooo.

By Toxic Player on Unsplash

At this time, I had switched over to the Xbox realm and couldn't help but be there for the midnight release of Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare. We were finally getting something that wasn't World War II and I was really excited about getting in on the online competition. Esports wasn't really big yet but there were sites available for tournament play, which of course I got into with a couple of friends (we never really went anywhere with it, obviously) but it was a great time and some real competitive fun.

Many people were really into the story for this title, but not me. Unfortunately, when it comes to story and FPS, Borderlands was about the only one that I cared about. From many friends recommendations and reading reviews on the story for this one, I would recommend at least one story run. It's just not my cup of tea.

By Mark Decile on Unsplash

Now, we have to really fast forward to 2012 to the release of Call of Duty Black Ops 2. This game, was by far, hands down, the best Call of Duty to date. No, no, not just because I played it until my Playstation at the time went dead. They introduced all kinds of new things to do on your "down time" like making your own Calling Card emblem. This was one of my favorite features on the game. If you had a talent for art or design, this was going to be a really fun extra for you to partake in. I made all kinds of emblems, from Hello Kitty to Galaga ships.

Besides your typical online kid and teenage rage, the online play was very solid. Not too many connection issues, the balance was.....well the balance was ok. Honestly I do not expect much when in comes to balance in any online battle type games, especially FPS's. I guess playing from the days of no balancing I notice the unbalance but it just doesn't really effect me and the way I try to play.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

That's exactly right. This is that part of the review where you, the reader, lose all faith in my word as a beginning writer. I have to confess, I don't even touch another Call of Duty game, until I picked up Call of Duty Mobile just last year (which I do not find time to play anymore).

This is where I lose the die hard fans, the rest of the games were cut and paste, until Warzone and Mobile, it was the Madden series of FPS's. None had caught my attention until I played Mobile. Mobile would eventually get me into Warzone, which I would then slide out of eventually, being the game jumper I am. I enjoyed the games while I played them. Warzone is definitely broken, but not many will disagree with me there. When Mobile fixed the controller players having their own little servers so the non controller players could have a better chance of actually winning issue, then it made the solid list.

All-in-All Call of Duty is a strong standing franchise and has seen more success than most. Trading hands and growing in rapid spurts has worked for them for years, and here's to many more to come!

Thank you for taking your time out to read about my experiences with the Call of Duty Franchise. If you enjoyed it, please leave a like and subscribe! Tips are not expected but appreciated as even a $1 goes a long way.

By Huma Kabakci on Unsplash

Short Stories!!! Sci-fi, Horror, and more! Along with more spats about random titles that I remember most in my life. Until then! Be yourself and Game On.

combat
1

About the Creator

Brennan Starr

Father, Gamer, Entrepreneur, Pawn Broker. I enjoy writing short articles, stories, and reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.