Gamers logo

How to Save Time Making Sims

....Possibly, it also depends on your self control cause, gurl-

By Bianca WilsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

For some of you, making a sim takes you even longer than building your own house.

I've been working out some solutions and some of you may not like to hear this but guess what? It involves mods. I mean the rest.

1. (A non cc way) Randomizing sims

Just keep clicking the dice until a sim resembling the one you want pops up I guess. But you already knew that I'm sure.

2(???) Allow me to introduce you to something called Presets and Face Skin Overlays/ Overlay Face Skin - the order of the three words doesn't actually matter.

2. Presets-

When you're customizing your sim in CAS, and you're clicking on the eyes, nose, cheeks etc, yeah, those are called presets. And those are presets made by EA. If you download cc with a nose you want, you can save yourself the time of sculpting to get it a certain way or at least trying and failing, and then having to settle.

For me, I love making asian sims and so I will naturally always reach for eyes that actually look asian/ sharp and unique, I use these also for my other race sims, since my eyes could be classified as almond shaped???

Anyway here's one of my favorite presets that I hope you will like too.

a. Evoxyr's visions set

Say hi if you remember them from my other gothic cc list.

Evoxyr is a creator that likes to make multicolored hair cc that reminds you of rouge from x-men and more so feel free to check them out!

Click here if interested:

b. Miiko

Y'all may know her if you've seen my first ever article about cc- bet you can probably tell she's one of my favorite cc creators huh? Here's her eyes set.

Now when downloaded in game, these eyes can look weird depending on your game settings, usually when you just size them down they will look recognizable lol, also make sure you are using her eye shape overlay, which she also links in her description.

here:

These sims are wearing Miiko's eyelash mods which you can find on her tumblr or patreon. (To remove ea eyelashes there's a mod made by kijiko feel free to check it out, but you're looking to save time on making sims so if you like ea lashes, then don't worry about this!)

With Miiko's eyelashes they will be featured in the skin details area, and they will be shown every time you create a new outfit! Yay!

https://www.patreon.com/posts/57269237

I say these because with some eyelash cc there are some put in the "glasses", so you have to re-apply it every time you create a new outfit. The downsides of eyelashes in the "skin detail" category is that it's usually incompatible with a specific accessory. I'm not trying to say one is better than the other, just that if you're looking to save time, this is for you!

She specifically mentions what eyelashes are incompatible with certain accessories so do be sure to read the description before downloading yeah?

Miiko is a sims 4 cc creator that specializes in making the most gorgeous maxis match hair, but she is also exceptional at making detailed cc as you can see.

She also made body presets.

Ahem, allow me to remind everyone that when you make a sim there is a library of body shapes you can use to sculpt from. With miiko's presets, her Serena body preset is specifically curvy in all the right places and her Sophie body preset is muscular. Her vanya and and mae body presets may appear in a larger size but you can easily size them down if you aren't trying to. Stop wasting time sculpting your sims! Or maybe this mod will make you want to sculpt even more haha... please let me know if this helped you or nah.

For some of you, these poses may all look the same to you, it did for me when I first started out. Please pay close attention to the arms, hips, and legs, also that the vanya and mae presets are on that "thick thigh life" then you'll begin to notice the difference. And if that's not enough just download them to see haha...

Her body presets all have separate posts, so to find them all here is her tumblr library link: here

Goodness. Would you look at my word count? I spent too much time here.

To find more presets cc go fish!

3. Face Skin Overlays/ face skin

One could argue that this is the REAL time saver. Ahem. I'm sure you've seen cc creators, and other people with their fancy simblr(sims dedicated tumblr) sims looking all stylized and sometimes even realistic.

It's because their sims are wearing face overlays. Face overlays alter the look of the default ea face to make it look...better. Depends on what look you're going for.

Exhibit a: (pics from my sims lit Model sister! this is my sim Nalani who yes is the model)

Please compare Nalani and Merida to their sister on the far left Marina who isn't really wearing any cc, aside from hair. All are still beautiful but Nalani and Merida steal your attention don't they? There's just something about their face aside from the make-up right?

With face skin overlays, it doesn't matter if you're dissatisfied with the eyes and nose once you slap one on, everything is suddenly fine. Some overlays come with wrinkles, or it's own eyeshadow to save you the time of going ham with makeup and face detail. Some face skins look cartoonish and others look 3d.

This may make you mad but I will go over what face overlays they're wearing at the moment later since I'm writing this away from home and can't quite remember.

Ah and in case you're wondering, Merida is wearing one of Miiko's hair and Nalani one from Sunivaa's. As for Marina... I think it's one from Aharis00Britney or Marsosims?

Thank you so much for reading and please leave a like if you liked! I get views but I never get any likes so it makes me wonder, I'm assuming this is liked since my sims lists are more popular than the rest of my stuff. Help a sister know! Please!

pc
Like

About the Creator

Bianca Wilson

Author of Dream of the Cabbage Spirit on Amazon. Webnovel writer, simmer, poet and daydreamer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.