Gamers logo

How the Nintendo Switch Finally Piqued My Interest in Nintendo Products

For much of my life I had been interested in Nintendo products.

By Dustin MurphyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Courtesy of Nintendo of America and IGN

Thirty years ago my father first introduced me to gaming around the age of 1. To be honest, possibly younger.

For much of my life I had been interested in Nintendo products. I was one of the many gamers who heralded in The Legend of Zelda as one of the best adventure franchises of all times. Among it, I also helped queue up the lines for fans waiting at stores to get their hands on Nintendo 64s on launch night. I was also among the many who celebrated each time someone fell off Rainbow Road.

I was also one of those many who began to lose faith in Nintendo with the cataclysmic commercial failures of both the Nintendo GameCube and the Nintendo Wii U. I watched the staggering numbers of third party games come forth in such small amounts that I felt myself falling apart on the inside. Sure, I did grab the Nintendo Wii U for The Legend of Zelda games, just as I did my Wii, and justly did the same with the New Nintendo 3DS so I could get the most out of both Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask.

Like Many, That Was Where My Fandom Capped

I would occasionally drifted here and there for games such as Yo-Kai Watch, Yo-Kai Watch 2, Monster Hunter 3 to Generations, and inevitably any JRPGs that came out. They were the only games I found myself interested in. Yes, like many, I purchase their hardware at some point. My GameCube? I purchased last year. My Wii U? About two years ago, but that was it. It was where I halted myself until the New Nintendo 3DS and my Nintendo XL (one my dad still has to this day).

But something didn't change: I lost faith in Nintendo. I lost enough faith that I found myself lacking in the want to play their games, to purchase their hardware, or even write about them none-the-less.

My faith in a company that I grew up with was utterly destroyed as a whole. I lost all hope in what they could accomplish. The Wii U was my breaking point, the changes made to games such as Metroid: Federation Force made me even more dumbfounded on the future of their titles.

However, now my hope for Nintendo has refreshed with the Switch

The Nintendo Switch Just Grabbed Me With Sheer Wonder

For years I've been saying that Nintendo's weakest link has been their inability to grab a set of third party games that would bring fans in. They lacked graphical prowess, innovation, and the cunning that would set them apart from anyone out there. Nintendo has proved once more they aren't gone, that they can still innovate, and they know what us gamers want.

Whether we are the millennial focus that was shown in today's reveal, the hardcore gamer, or the person looking for a new past time. Nintendo hasn't forgotten what makes games matter: accessibility.

I've been a glutton for taking my PlayStation Vita everywhere. I still boot up games on it such as Persona 4 Golden, Soul Sacrifice Delta, Hyperdimension Neptunia Rebirth 3, or even Silent Hill: Book of Memories. They are all great games, they are games that prove why my love for the almost dead PlayStation Vita remains strong. Hell, I prefer it over any console or PC to date. But the Nintendo Switch just may change that once my hands are wrapped around the oddly shaped controller.

Courtesy of Nintendo of America

All we know is, Nintendo doesn't care about the console wars. They are trying to gain fans like myself back. They are trying to pull us in once more with something new.

Luckily for them, that just may happen at this point, but first they will have to prove their third party support is strong. They will have to prove that they aren't going to pull another situation like the Wii U, and that they won't forget those who don't jump up to the Switch on day one.

But Should I Be Ready For Disappointment?

Courtesy of Nintendo of America

I trusted that both the Wii U and Nintendo 3DS both would capture my attention more thoroughly like the DSi and the Wii. I'm still a bit sore over the decline that Nintendo has seen over the years, the promises they made to keep the Wii U alive, and the reluctance in developers to help do so due to the touch pad requirements.

While I know many games I'll love will be on the Nintendo Switch, I can't say I'm fully sold, but consider me interested at this point.

console
Like

About the Creator

Dustin Murphy

A video games journalist and Content Creator. He has been featured on sites such as AppTrigger and MoviePilot. He's the president and editor-in-chief of the independent news publisher Blast Away the Game Review.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.