Gamers logo

How I splatted my way to Inner Peace

How playing Nintendo Switch's Splatoon 2 respawned a new me

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 4 min read
6
How I splatted my way to Inner Peace
Photo by Felipe Vieira on Unsplash

“Call me when you’re on your break” His text said. I call my husband as my break begins and he tells me he’s about to buy a Nintendo Switch. Before games me scoffs” We already have more than one Xbox and a PlayStation”. My husband builds his case for purchasing a Switch by telling me it’s a gaming system that all 4 of our children can play simultaneously. Multiplayer games are already in his hands. After he tells me what it’s on sale for, I tell him to go for it but I’m not convinced it’s a smart buy. Oh, how wrong I was.

He was right. The kid’s open the new gift and their excitement and gratitude warms me. They enthusiastically take to playing Mario Kart and Mario Party together after school. Next, Super Smash Bros is added to their gaming rotation. One day, I come home from work and I’m drawn instantly to the family room to find the source of their laughter. Pure happiness on every face, I find myself rooted in the room watching the screen until I blurt out “This looks fun” . Soon, they have a controller in my hand and they are teaching me how to play Mario Party. “It’s easy” they tell me with huge grins as I struggle to remember what B means.

Eventually, their interest began to wane and the Switch stayed lonely on it’s dock for nearly a month until my husband decided to go to GameStop. Seeing games on sale he grabs a couple, hoping to spark one of the children’s interest in the Switch again. That evening, he held up Splatoon 2 and asked me if I wanted to try playing the game. I say no and he decides to load the game up and he got my interest by….customizing an inkling . Admittedly, I’m a sucker for a game where I can personalize my character. After watching him pop a balloon with an ink gun, I asked when I could have a turn. He gave me a knowing smile and handed me the controller.

I was soon hooked on this colorful game. On my days off, I would plan my day off to include not only gaming but things I planned to do with the kids and the house. Before gaming, I would struggle to get everything done and the end of my day off would feel like it was spent crossing off to-do’s and no “me time.” I finally accomplished an adult thing, scheduling and making proper use of one’s time.

Playing video games had a better impact on my work days too. I now had a better option than coming home to complain and vent, I had an outlet. I would take any negative energy I was still holding on to from the day and tunnel it into playing Splatoon 2. I soon noticed the impact on my mental health, I was less stressed, and I found myself letting things go much easier. That’s not to say it's never done the opposite, I once had to force myself to take a one week break after becoming frustrated.

Gaming enriched my relationship with my children, as well. They used to talk to me about games while I was folding clothes and I would absently nod along not fully knowing what a camper was. Not only can I match their excitement but I’m able to hold gaming conversations with them now. They cheer for me when I win and level up and I offer them the same support in return. Taking on the role of teacher, they even taught me how to play other games and systems showing me how patient and kind they are.

I can’t imagine surviving the pandemic without video games in my life. My husband ended up purchasing a second switch and joining me in games. It brought more laughter than arguments. It was a new and fresh way to spend time together and we embraced that. With 4 children, couple time isn’t in abundance, and we have always been clever about finding ways to make sure we make time for our marriage as well.

The one thing gaming has given me that I never thought it would: inner peace. Playing Splatoon 2 spearheaded me into making personal goals for myself. Hitting my personal goals is just as fun to me as winning a match. I started making silly goals for myself while playing and it led to me adding mediation, yoga and scheduled cleaning time into my schedule. Bundle these things and you have a me that has leveled up higher than she imagined she could.

Video games are a different journey for everyone but for me taking to the sticks has made me a better player in the game called “real life.” A price tag can not be put on my new found confidence or inner peace. Call me a geek if you must but I’ll keep splatting on.

women
6

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.