Gamers logo

How cheaters are ruining Rust again.

We thought they all got bored and left, but thanks to the OTV Server they are back in bigger numbers.

By AjaxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Rust has been my favorite game for a very long time. All of the current Rust players were having a grand ole time just looting and raiding each other and even linking up to take on the oil rigs when we were bored. Most of the servers have gotten rid of the cheaters and forced them to either quit or make their own servers which no one really plays on. For years upon years we had a cheater free zone with the occasional cheater coming in, but quickly getting thrown out. We all thought that the cheaters just up and left this game to terrorize another game that doesn't care about its fans and abandoned the game early on. (I'm looking at you Reign of Kings).

Now usually when I personally come across a cheater, I either just quit that server and never go back to it or tell an admin if they are on. If the admin is online at the time, they just ban them outright. If no admin is online, I just quit the server and never come back to it. Other players try to team up and take the cheater down, but most of the cheaters just use a "God mode" type of cheat where they will never die. I came across one of these in my own gameplay.

I was minding my own business, farming trees when I hear an arrow hit just at my feet. Turn around and see this naked guy just looking at me with his bow in hand. I pull out my handgun and aim it at him and he turned away and threw his bow to the ground. I just let him be and continued my tree farming. Again, I hear an arrow hit near my feet. This time I just ran away to another area of the map. As I was farming trees again, you can guess what landed by my feet once again. And once again he threw the bow to the ground but this time I had enough of this naked player. I used the in-game voice chat to ask what his problem was. The player never responded, so I spoke again and told them if they don't type in the chat or speak I'm going to empty my clip in his head. Once again the said player did not speak or type into the chat. So I unloaded my clip into his head and to my shock, did not die.

As you can see, this player has no weapons on him at all. (If you have a weapon either in your hot bar or inventory it will show up on your waist or back). Well in a matter of seconds this guy had a full set of armor and an AK and just blew me away. Well I respawned back at my base nearby and was suiting up to go get my body and try to find this guy. Well he found me. This dude just spawned right through my fully armored base and shot me dead once again. He then destroyed my bed and took all the resources out of my locked TC somehow. I respawned back into the map a very walk back to my base. I started on my way back and guess who spawned right above me and shoots me dead again. At this point I just quit the server and waited until later that night to log back on. When I did, my base had started to decay due to him stealing the resources from the TC. At this point I just got so angry and quit the whole server that I spent months upon months playing on.

In a matter of seconds a hacker destroyed everything that I have built up. This hacker has taken the fun out of the game that I have so much freaking hours on. Server admin for that server has tried to ban him, but he somehow keeps logging in and destroying everybody's bases and just being a real douchebag. All because the well known streamers started streaming the game made the hackers come back in full force and destroy the servers we all love to play on. Maybe the owners of the OTV should be trying to make a public server for all the people that have quit due to their need to stream Rust. There are so many other survival games out there, yet they decided to stream the seven year old game that a lot of us original players have played since Rust Legacy. I'm pretty salty about that one and I don't know if I'll get back on Rust, at least not for a couple weeks or more now.

pc
Like

About the Creator

Ajax

Canada/United States

Father

Horror Stories/Poems

Poems

Gaming Reviews/articles

Love the outdoors and nature

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.