Gamers logo

Gnome Stories—Volume 1

Short Stories, Mostly About My 'World of Warcraft' Gnomes

By Laura GiegPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Child of Frost

(The story on how and why Irean got to have white hair... hehe.)

Irean kept her eyes focused on the two gnomes facing the line she was in, listening for when they called her name.

"Nyassa Firespark."

"Here!" For a second, Irean eyed the brown haired gnome beside her, quickly returning her gaze to those who were taking, as she'd heard the term, "roll call".

"Irean Icebolt."

"Here."

"Hi there! I live in Ironforge. You?" Nyassa eyed her with interest.

"I was sent here from Gnomeregan... all I 'member was that i used to wake up encased in an ice block. Mom and Dad didn't know what to do with me, so they sent me to Mistress Bink to see if she could do anythin'. They're friends, y'know." Irean was studying the floor, rather embarrased.

"O!... Well, I'se fire mage. I like to burn things." Nyassa grinned at her. "I can show you around, if you like." Ny paused. "You have pretty hair, by the way. Speckled brown and white the way it is... "

Irean looked up. "I'd like that please. And thank you... Mistress Bink said it might turn all white. I don't know much about it but sounds like my 'frosty outbursts' as she called 'em seem to be doing that."

"Really?"

"Muhuh."

Reflection

(Irean was created to look somewhat like me.. minus the white hair of course. Some of the thoughts and feelings she displays reflect me, and some of them are her own. She is part of me, but an individual at the same time... )

Home. The word echoed in the gnome's mind as she sat on her bed looking at the note she'd written.

Guild leader

Friend

Teacher

Defender

Protector

Role model

Most attributes she could ascribe to most if not all of the people she'd met in the 'watch, including herself. She added the names of people she considered her closest friends from the 'watch next to the first list.

SIlveria

Reinnea

Rodek

Kost

Mixler

Bombastik

She'd lost count of the times she'd thrown herself into the fray, helping defend Alliance lands; she fought even harder if one or more of her friends was in the group defending as well. However, one name stood out, even in the list. True, she had been... somewhat happy in her last guild, but Mixler had invited her to the Arcane Academy, and she'd practically jumped at the chance; why he'd invited her in the first place she'd never know (not that she'd be bold enough to ask)... that was beside the point, because for the first time, it felt like she'd come home.

Among Friends

(I think this has been coming for a long time... just had to get to that point. Icc= 20 (in dc points), Irean =1 (1 boss down)... but at this point I hardly think it matters. What *does* matter is that I was there with friends... and if you can tolerate my uncooperative connection for all the help I can give when it behaves... I will gladly raid with all of you on Sundays... to those who I *hope* count me as a friend (you know who you are), I will continue to help in any way I'm able... To those who are.. mere acquaintances? I hope to get to know you all better on the fields of battle, both through raids, instances, and guildwatch. Anyway... without further ado...

Irean sized up the Magnataur in front of her, then glanced around at the others in her raid. She tossed a grin in Mixler's direction when he wasn't looking, then briefly touched Aqueous's right bracer, pointing the water elemental in Gormok's direction. She hoped that her friends, as well as the rest of the raid, would do well... and she also vowed to do her utmost to help them fight. Mix initiated a ready check, which she quickly answered with a yes. Time to go to war...

mmo
Like

About the Creator

Laura Gieg

Website, brand, graphic, and visual designer-in-learning, gamer, 3D modeller-in-learning... yeah, I like designing... also writing comics to preface a game I’m also designing. You should hopefully see the writing side of me quite a bit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.