Gamers logo

'Fortnite': Season 7 Review

My Thoughts on the Subject

By Charna SansonPublished 5 years ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - December 2018
1
Season 7 Teaser Cover

On December 6th, the seventh season of the worldwide famous game of Fortnite was released and this is my review on it. Being a regular player of this game I have got both positives and negative opinions on the current season.

The New Map Changes

The snowy storm from the West brought a fresh sheet snow which covered a large portion of the map, changing the way we move, battle and observe. The tundra that spreads across the South-West part of the map has allowed us to explore brand new areas such as: Polar Peak (home to the late Infinity Blade), Happy Hamlet, Frosty Flights and an unknown frozen lake which was Greasy Grove. I love the new map update because in season 6 there wasn't much left to explore as the map hadn't changed and it made the game boring.

The facelift has changed the way we move around the map as zip lines have been brought in so we can cross the map in a faster way... but it comes with a price, being on a zip line you are completely vulnerable. Even though you can use your weapons, you're an easier target as you are travelling in one fixed direction, so snipers and those with good accuracy can easily pick you off.

I was extremely excited to explore this map as it was fresh, new and a mystery. I can easily say that this map change is the best yet.

The Stormwing

I'm in the middle with the planes as they have both positives and negatives. Many people like them and think they are a great addition but others want them out of the game. And I can see both sides of the story.

Positives:

  1. Faster Mobility, allowing us to move from end of the map to the other in a much faster way as well as letting us get out of the storm if we are caught in it.
  2. Powerful. The Plane itself can be used as a weapon as you can boost the plane into buildings and destroy them within seconds as well as push other players off high platforms.
  3. Can fit the whole squad on board. The plane can seat all squad members with one being the driver and the others being the passengers. Not only can they travel with you but they can also fight at the same time by providing extra air support.

Negatives:

  1. Glitchy. The planes can be very glitchy and broken, I have had moments where I have collided in the air with another plane and I was kicked out of the plane only to fall to my death. Another time is when I was taking out a building and hit a tree with 20 health left and the plane stopped working. It seems that the littlest thing can cause the plane to freak out.
  2. Easy Target. Being in a plane will alert other players as they can be very loud, also being in a big wide plane can make it easy for people to shoot you down as the handling of the plane is heavy, making it hard to dodge.

Wraps

Even though the wraps provide camo for your weapons and vehicles to make them eye candy they give no upgrade; which in a way is good, but instead they make you stick out more. Some wraps allow you to blend into the environment while others are quite bright and eye catching, so when you are trying to heal in a bush, the skin you are wearing may blend but your weapon does not. Having a bright red gun in the middle of a snowy map isn't the greatest idea. I admit, I would keep the wraps in the game as they allow me to get creative with my weapons and give me a target to unlock in the battle pass. But overall, I'm not happy with this addition.

Theme

I think this season's theme is one of the top ones alongside season 2 and season 4. So far it's pretty obvious that the current theme is Christmas which fits with the current time of year. Of course, every Season has a story that progresses as the season carries on. We've had superheroes, portals to another dimension, and who can forget Kevin the Cube that created the garden of Eden? It's hard to tell if these stories are connected—only time will tell.

As far as I'm concerned, this theme is one of the best because it has changed the face of the map, brings a whole new story, has amazing Christmas skins and a new soundtrack. I can only think of one negative for this theme and that is wondering how they are gonna incorporate the snowy mountains ranges into next year and future seasons. The whole theme is Christmas but that only comes around once a year, so unless the snow melts to reveal something, that's about it. This whole theme is amazing and interesting but I can't see it carrying on into future seasons like the others have.

Overall

Caption from the Season 7 Trailer

Overall, my review on this season is a positive one. As I said before, this season has brought many new things to do and explore. It has brought a new mode called Creative mode where players can have up 12 friends with them and build their own custom map and hold their own modes and races with Karts and Planes. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to try this mode out yet due to me being a lonely person and having nobody to play with. The previous season got tedious quite fast with a boring battle pass and no new areas on the map to explore. Epic Games have really outdone themselves here and made up for the abysmal that was season 6. There will be people here who think this season needs to be improved but then again many games are like that.

We are still in the early stages of this season so who knows what Epic have up their sleeves? Maybe the snow will melt gradually to reveal something, so I'm keeping an open mind. I will probably do another review at the end of the season to see how the season has changed over time.

Until then, stay Vibin' and Survin'.

product review
1

About the Creator

Charna Sanson

Hello! Charna Sanson

I write video game reviews. I love all genre of games!

Been a gamer since my father handed me a controller and have been avoiding responsibility ever since!

Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/hammieplay_z/about

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.