Gamers logo

Cyberpunk 2077 may not be what you think it is…

Mode: Normal // Console: PS5 //

By AshzarPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Owned by CD Project Red

Cyberpunk 2077 is a game which is thought to be one of the biggest disappointments as a game release by pretty much everyone that I know of. I didn’t have an opinion though, cause I tend not to listen to early reviews. The game had too much points to hate, like many and ugly graphic glitches as well as terrible performance on the previous gen consoles.

Keep in mind that what I’m about to describe is my own experience with the game and doesn’t actually describe its exact current situation or the experience someone else might have on it.

Now that this is out of the way, I wanna say that I don’t care at all about anything that has been said about the game so far. I actually went out and bought it! I found a deal for the PS4 version at 25€ and did not think of it twice. So I go home, put the disk on my PS5, which I ended up buying from a scalper, and download the absolutely massive update.

So after trying it for myself I have reached to my own conclusion.

First of all, the game doesn’t have the amount of bugs it had when first released. They have updated and patched pretty much everything after all this time and this is all that I care about cause I’m experiencing an almost bug free game. If I had gotten it on release this might have gone the other way around. After 10 hours of gameplay the only bug I came across was one car floating about 10 cm from the ground and that’s it! And, secondly, the performance on my PS5 is awesome. Again, that doesn’t mean that if you try to play it on PS4 you’ll have the same experience, I don’t actually know what you will face, but playing this game on a next gen console is awesome. The framerate is consistent and the graphic quality is superb, even if the version I own is not optimized for the PS5.

Now, as for the game itself, it is awesome. I chose to play the game in normal difficulty. The long hour shifts at work kinda does that to you. You want to sit and have a nice and relaxed experience while playing. I definitely intend to replay the game on the hardest difficulty for a challenge, once I actually have the time. Starting up, there are countless ways to customize your character, but I’m not really into long character creation so I choose a preset and started my game. Up until now I didn’t see a single thing to hate about the game. The story, the dialogues, the side quests and pretty much everything is well thought through.

I chose to focus on melee combat, since I don’t think you can actually do that while playing on hard difficulty, and got advantage of the low difficulty as my first playthrough. I love how there are unique weapons that you can actually upgrade by crafting and using spare materials to do it. I love the crafting system the game incorporates. It is simple but well thought. Also, I loved a skill I learned that, when active, every junk item you pick up gets auto disassembled. This might sound like the game gets easier by giving you quality of life options, but to get that skill you actually have to spend a skill point in it and probably end up losing some other skill you could have picked up.

Adding up, the RPG element is strongly present here as, depending on your stats and what you have decided to raise, you get some extra options while the story is unfolding. For example, you can brute force your way out of a situation if you have high body perk points or, in another, to hack, steal, confuse or deceive someone. If, for example, you choose having low body perk points and focus on reflexes you might not be able to force open a certain door. These options actually take me back to classic Fallout 1 & 2 which were actually some of my favorite RPG games of my childhood.

If there is something I didn’t actually like about the game at the moment is vehicles and driving. It actually feels clunky and you don’t get the sense of driving a fast car. This might actually have to do with the fact I’m still at early game and haven’t invested time to buy cars or upgrade them (if this is something that I can actually do) so I guess I’ll give you a definite answer about driving in my next article about cyberpunk 2077.

Verdict: Cyberpunk 2077 rocks and I don’t care what everyone else thinks about it. I love it!

console
Like

About the Creator

Ashzar

I like playing games and writing about them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.