Gamers logo

Being a Gamer Girl

Love and Gaming

By Victoria contoisePublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

As I look over at my soon to be husband I think to myself how lucky I am to have him in my life and at the same time how hard it sometimes can be. He loves to play games and sometimes a little too much. As his wife I would love to have all of the attention and most of the time I get it. But when he plays games he also has headphones in listening to YouTube videos. So being the soft spoken person I am, it is sometimes hard for him to hear me. I know he is trying and I can tell he loves me with all his heart because the other night I wanted to do a puzzle. So I sat at the table doing it and for two hours he sat with me trying to help even though he is bad at it. When I first meet him, I did not play very many video games but now I have learned that is what we have in common. We bond over the things we love to do together. He loves seeing me so happy and it's the same with me. We would do anything to make each other happy, and that is what is so wonderful about our relationship. I will play games with him and he will cook or do puzzles with me. We are also both very competitive. I love playing Overwatch. He can can kick my butt most of the time. But when I do win, I love how he makes it such a big deal. It makes me so proud. Being a gamer girl in a relationship is learning to have fun and not take things so seriously. I mean come on, it is just a game. Last night for three hours he sat in the living room and played Monopoly with me until we both finally gave up, laughing until our hearts were content. Never giving up on each other is what we live for. And I honestly can't wait to marry one of THE most wonderful people in the world. For better for for worse no matter how many games I loose I will always love him!!

Being in a relationship that is centered around video games is hard to manage sometimes. Do I spend money on him or do I buy a game? Do we play games together or do we do separate activities? My advice is this... don't give up! Always listen to each other even if it is tough and say what you feel to your partner even if it is difficult. That is how we get though things, is by being honest with each other, even if I had a chance of making one of us cry. We do the things we do because we love each other. Because we are so competitive we do get in a few tiffs, but we don't let that get the best of us. We have learned to take a step back and breath. Live life doing what makes you happy.

So as I look next to me at my soon to be husband I really do think he is the one for me. He is the love of my life and he is my true soulmate, my better half. No matter what. Through thick or thin. All the bad that can happen he is and will always be there for me and I can ask for anyone better to take this journey with. I can't wait for the day that I get to say " I Do," and officially be a Smith.

women
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.