Gamers logo

Achievement Hunting

Playing games to get any and all achievements

By AjaxPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Do you know or are you a achievement hunter like myself? Do you feel accomplished when you complete a game fully and get every single achievement you can? Well this article is for you. I will tell you about my experience with achievement hunting and how it may or may not have lost some of my closest gaming friends in the process.

When I buy a game, it means I'm interested in that said game and will play it until I either beat it or it sucks and I refund it or just let it sit in my game library. With that being said, even though I beat the game more than once doesn't mean I'm going to uninstall it and just forget about it. If that said game has achievements, I'm going to try to get every last one of those, even if it means playing the older game over the new games coming out.

Let's start with a pretty old game; Age of Mythology is the game that started my pc gaming hobby way way back in the early days of 2002. I was around 9 at that time and just gotten a copy of AOM for my birthday. I was so psyched about that and couldn't wait to download the game. If I remember correctly it was on 2 discs and took a very long time to download, but little ole me didn't care. The original game did not have achievements, but when it launched on Steam back in 2014 it was enhanced and had seventy achievements that you could unlock. That intrigued me to buy it again and replay the game for old times sake and try to get every single achievement. I eventually got every single achievement, but some of them were a little harder than others because not a lot of people were playing the multiplayer version of the game and some achievements needed that portion of the game to get. I did find some people to play with after I posted on Reddit about it and those same individuals would be the ones that I became great friends with and later on in life, strangers once again.

After my success at AOM, I looked at my steam library to see what other games I could try to get 100% achievements on. I made note of every game that I needed to play to get the achievements and downloaded that game and that game only. I would only play that game for the most part as well. That part didn't go over very well with my gaming pals, they wanted to play COD or LOL (Call of Duty and League of Legends). I wasn't interested in either of games anyways and told them I'd rather achievement hunt in the games I had. They pretty much disowned me at that point. They kicked me out of our discord server and that was the last time I spoke to them.

I have 113 games in my steam library currently, out of those games I have 100% achievements in 23 games. That comes out to be 23% of steam games with a 100% completion rate. Not too shabby as I see my friends on steam with no where near that number of games completed.

Now I must say that a couple games I will NEVER get all the achievements for two reasons. The first one is that some achievements require online play and the online feature is either dead or not even online anymore, and the second reason would be that there are too many achievements to complete. I'm talking about Payday 2, that game alone has over one thousand achievements and I don't ever seeing myself sitting down and going through every single achievement to try to beat it.

The last game that I achieved 100% was Fallout 4. I just got that in December of 2020 and now I can go back to mod the game to make it extremely enjoyable once again. Most people who ask me why I try so hard to get all achievements always think I'm crazy when I tell them that I bought the game and plan on completing it completely before I move onto the next game. Now I'm not like my teenaged self and stuck with one game only, I have a ton of games downloaded now. I just now pick a game to play to try to get the achievements if I have already beat the game once or twice before. I will not try to get all the achievements if I haven't beaten the game yet or if the game doesn't technically have an endgame like Rust.

Are you an achievement hunter? Or do you not care about them at all? Feel free to let me know in the comments and I hope you all have a great day.

pc
Like

About the Creator

Ajax

Canada/United States

Father

Horror Stories/Poems

Poems

Gaming Reviews/articles

Love the outdoors and nature

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.