FYI logo

Vocal Facebook groups discriminate just like the others

The communities are biased and I can spend my time writing instead of socializing.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2
Vocal Facebook groups discriminate just like the others
Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

Vocal groups may not publish your article

This morning I was going to post and noticed that I had 2 posts pending on one of the Vocal media Facebook groups I joined. I admit I do not socialize and read as many articles by others as I would like to. I don't know if that has something to do with it or not but group creators holding people hostage is not something I agree with.

I have shared articles on groups about the royal family and soap opera groups where when I return I see previous posts still pending. If Vocal and the other sites I write for don't flag an article or refuse to publish it then I feel I am good to go. You never know what is in someone's head and if they don't alert you to a problem you are left to wonder why you were rejected.

The Vocal Facebook groups are supposed to be for writers to share their work and no stipulations were listed. Since the two articles were written last week other creators have had their work published even today. I checked back this evening and my stories are still pending. I take this to indicate that my work is not welcome and that's OK. I can spend my time creating more stories rather than sharing them in the group and reading what others write

. There are not enough people engaging in the groups to boost reads

Truthfully there are not enough people engaging and reading to make a real difference. The other issue is the time spent trying to engage other Vocal creators could be better spent honing our craft and getting it tho those who will read and appreciate what we write.

The other Vocal group I joined is filled with manipulators and I mean no disrespect. I had been scrolling down the page each day reading and commenting on the stories others shared but was not getting the same in return. I noticed that when creators posted one of their Vocal articles they invited the group members to "drop" their own work in the comments section. In other words, prove you read my work and share yours in my personal space and I will read it. I realized that most creators were not scanning the page as I had been doing but only reading what someone put in theri comment section.

No one owes us anything but if our work is going to be censored or only read if we place it underneath the story of another that's manipulation. it means that instead of 10 people looking at the Facebook page and reading your article by choice you would have to "Drop" in 10 different stories of others. This defeats the purpose of a group being a place to share and have your work read.

There are ways to boost your posts

Group creators and managers can do what they want because it's their space. I am sharing this not out of anger or trying to out anyone but to let other Vocal Creators know what is really going on. If your work is being read by many in the groups then I am happy for you but that is not my experience. Anyway, you know what the possibilities are so carry on and do what thou wilt.

As a creator heading towards 2 million reads I think I can share what will really work. Write about engaging subjects and highlight keywords at the beginning and end of the article. This allows the search engine to pick it up and more people will see it. Share in Facebook groups where you are getting 50 to 100 views and comments or more otherwise it's pointless.

Check back to make sure your stories are not left pending and to see if they are being read. Vocal is more liberal than other sites but I have found that readers as a whole don't like profanity and sexually explicit material. It might get you the top story on Vocal but may not translate into views.

Pop Culture
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka7 months ago

    I take this to indicate that my work is not welcome and that's OK. I can spend my time creating more stories rather than sharing them in the group and reading what others write: Then no point joining these groups. That's so sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.