FYI logo

Trainspotting: A Cult Classic

Trainspotting movie recommendations

By Tristan MitchellPublished 3 years ago • 5 min read
Like
Trainspotting: A Cult Classic
Photo by Hello I'm Nik 🪴 on Unsplash

Psychology is the science of mind and behavior. That is the field that I am going into for my career. I have been studying the mind and really have enjoyed it. This has also creeped into how I recommend movies and TV shows to others. I don't just ask what movies they like and such unless I know them very well. I also try to learn a little about their personality. When I know more about them I can make a better recommendation. For me it helps to more so look at what that person will enjoy not just what I think is good. I even have an ongoing record with my fiancé that whenever I recommend a movie or TV show to her she always enjoys it, every time. I believe that is because I look at what she likes and who she is and make a recommendation based off that. That is my formula and it seems to work pretty well, but since I do not know who is reading this I am just gonna make a general recommendation for anyone who likes the movie Trainspotting.

Cult Classic. This is a term that has been thrown around for a while now. I as a kid and even into my teenage years had no clue what a cult classic was. Is it a movie that is liked by a cult; that is what I used to think. Thinking in simple terms rather than larger broader ways. Cult classic is essentially a movie that a lot of people liked but it was mainly just liked by a certain group of people or a “cult”. As I got more and more into movies I started seeing that I happened to like a lot of cult classics, was this because I did not like it when I liked something popular. Maybe. More importantly though I liked movies with a meaning. I still do to this day.

Movies that have a meaning to me are the most interesting and insightful. When I say movies with a meaning I am talking about a movie that has a message that is not really apparent to the naked eye. One that you must discover for yourself, or let the ending finally tell you if you cannot figure it out. Of course every movie does have a point, but an example of what I am talking about is Arrival. I won’t spoil it here but just go watch that movie and then come back to this spot(and if you have already seen it then good for you!) This movie captures the experience I desire. This movie however is not the one I am talking about. It is Trainspotting.

Trainspotting is a 1996 British Drama/Dark Comedy that follows Renton, a drug addict, as he stumbles through sobriety, relationships, and a whole lot of bad ideas. Renton, played by Ewan McGregor(My favorite actor), is shown going through this journey of sobriety essentially while learning a lot on the way. Of course there are many hidden messages and the movie does keep you interested throughout. I also loved the score and soundtrack that is present throughout the movie. It honestly enhances the experience a lot. Now if you have not seen this I would not just jump into it. First I would look up the trailer or more about the movie to make sure that it is not too serious for you or shows graphic material that you cannot watch. If you do find that you are able to watch it then I would highly recommend it.

Though I am not here to recommend this movie but to recommend similar movies to this one. So if you have gotten this far and have seen Trainspotting and thoroughly enjoyed it. Then get your notepad out because I have some recommendations for you.

I have 2 recommendations for Trainspotting fans. One that more so follows the unique comedy side of things and one that follows more of the mental fight within someone.

The first one that more so shows the mental fight within someone but in a very interesting way is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. This movie starring Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet is in simple terms, about a man getting over a breakup. Now that might just sound like a rom-com but it certainly is not. They do it in a very unique way that really explores the pain of loss and the journey through. It also has that strange filming that Trainspotting has in some scenes. The soundtrack again really is incredible for this movie. It brings the scenes to live. Of course with Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet leading the charge they provide excellent acting to fuel the movie.

The other movie that I would recommend to Trainspotting fans that is more of a unique comedy is Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. This movie shares the title of well known writer Hunter S. Thompson’s book. It is mainly starring Johnny Depp who perfectly encapsulates the character of Raoul Duke and does such a fantastic job in this movie. It also stars Benicio Del Toro as a supporting actor but is seen in most of the movie and does a great job playing off Johnny Depp’s character. I am not gonna say much of the plot here and with this movie I would also like to make sure you look into it more to make sure you are comfortable with it. All I can say here is that Depp and Del Toro go on a road trip to Las Vegas to film a motorcycle race. This movie features great writing, great cinematography as seen in Trainspotting and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind as well, and a great score throughout to tie everything together. Now this movie while not as much of a “making you think” movie is definitely a good time and is very enjoyable if you are comfortable with it.

All in all there are many movies that are cult classics like these that will make you think. If you have not really ever been introduced to those types of movies then look into it more. You may just get attached and will have to come back for more recommendations like these.

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Tristan Mitchell

I'm Tristan Mitchell, college student majoring in Psychology. I love basketball and football. I enjoy reading books and watching movies. Listen to all types of music and I love to write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.