FYI logo

Tinder Chronicles Episode 1

First Tinder Date

By Nelis ThuoPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Tinder Chronicles Episode 1
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Lately, I have been hearing a lot about people who met through tinder and are now married. This got me thinking that probably in this age and time, clubs, bars, and coffee houses are no longer the only ideal places to meet potential life partners. So, I signed up for a couple of dating apps, and Tinder was particularly interesting.

Now there are thousands and thousands of hot, gorgeous people, most of whom, if you are shy like I am, you would never even think of approaching them. Once I got the hang of it, I preset the location filters to only show me anyone within a 5-mile radius.

With a few swipes here and there, I got to this beautiful girl, let's call her June. She loves reading, she is a chef and loves quiet nights in with a good bottle of wine and a good movie. In her profile she had uploaded pictures of her hiking, cycling, and just smiling; the best smile I have ever seen.

Several days later, I received a notification that we had matched. I was watching a basketball game with a beer in hand when the notification came in. I literally zoned out and started coming up with something exceptional, like a funny comment (not Chandler funny) or a not too common compliment. Ever felt like your entire future depends on one single move? Was I to text immediately or wait a couple of days? Would I appear too desperate? How was I supposed to phrase this text in order to create an exhilarating first impression?

I waited a couple of hours (which was not at all necessary) and texted a simple,

"Hi, you look gorgeous, our kids should definitely have your looks." Corny right; I know.

She replied, "Ooh haha we have kids now, thank you for the compliment though."

From here on, it was fun, we texted almost all night, came up with names for our alleged kids, and our pets, and found a good location for our 4-bedroom family house.

The next couple of days were great. We kept each other updated on the activities we were engaged in. We shared millions of pictures and talked for hours. By the 4th day, we had come up with a meeting date.

You know when you just start talking to someone and they are just so darn interesting that you really want to get to know them in person. But then, you start getting nervous and wonder what if, they are only this interesting through the phone. I was stuck in this phase. Where everything is going so well that you do not want to change anything.

All in all, we went for the date, and let me tell you, this lady came dressed in a beautiful sundress, with a scarf that complemented her skin and outfit. I was in a window seat, so she saw me right away. Man, she entered the restaurant and everyone turned to look at her. The little boy in me literally jumped. At this point, I was physically, financially, and emotionally ready to show up for the CEO Tinder if he/she ever needed it.

I stood up, like the gentleman I am, gave her a light hug with a peck on the cheek, and then pulled the chair out for her. She sat, looked at me, said thank you, then complimented my Jacket. For a minute, I was completely speechless. We then started talking and any chance I would get, I would play with her hands, which she actually seemed to enjoy, because she would get all gigglish and beautiful.

We had some wine, ate some nice food, took more wine, and by the time we actually realized what time it was, it was around 11pm. It was so fun until we reached at home, at her house, and I got to learn that she lives with her ex-husband. Don't get me wrong, I still went in and had the best sex ever, but my question is, would you date someone who lives with their ex-partner, or ex-fiance?

Pop Culture
1

About the Creator

Nelis Thuo

Welcome to my world of words! I am a lover of all things literature and storytelling. Join me on my journey as I explore the depths of the human experience and uncover the beauty in the everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.