FYI logo

The Truth About Easter

And Family Trandions

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There seems to be some confusion on Christ ,Easter, Christmas , and pagan holidays so let us set the record straight on a few things .

It is said to have been Christmas when Christ was born christians celebrate the day that Christ was born as Christmas although Christians may say that that was the day the Savior was born it actually is incorrect .

That actually started out as a pagan holiday and then the Christians took it over. That very well may be the day that Christ was born and it may not there are a lot of misleading facts about that day ,but one thing is for sure that was a pagan holiday. The Christians always want to say that it is the day their savior was born then when you are a kid growing up they tell you that Easter is when Christ was born at least my church did when I was young. So then you are a confused kid thinking , okay well I thought Christ was born on Christmas and now you are telling me that he was born on Easter . This was one of the misleading things that I was taught whenever I was a child . I went to this church that tried to tell me that Christ was born on Christmas ,but then when Easter came around he was born then to, not risen ,but born.

 It was not until years later that I went to a church that had explained that Christmas was Christ original birth date that it was Easter when he had risen.

Since when is a birth and a resurrection the same thing? How excatly does this get confused?

Easter is a Christian holiday that celebrates the belief in the resurrection of Jesus Christ. According to the Bible, in the New Testament it said to have occurred three days after he was crucified by the romans .

Christians remember and celebrate the resurrection of Christ . Easter is a time when parents and clergy tell stories of Christ being crucified on the cross for our sins, so that we can have ever lasting life in heaven, instead of buring in hell.

 My husband told our kids such stories this Easter as well as the story about the last supper. They knew some of this by their years in church as well, but some they did not know and listened to him tell the stories as he knew them.

So, where did Easter get its' name?

Easter, also called Resurrection Sunday, is a Christian festival and cultural holiday commemorating the resurrection of Jesus from the dead. Why a Easter bunny? What does this have to do with Christ? The exact origins of the Easter bunny are unclear. However, one theory is that the symbol of the rabbit stems from pagan tradition.

Is it not funny to anyone else that another pagan event, holiday, or person of interest has been stolen from the pagans?

Families have their own traditions and rituals. As families get older sometimes that changes. My kids are old enough now to where we do not worry too much about coloring eggs or hiding eggs. We do not do easter egg hunts anymore. They do still get their buckets filled to the brim with candy and toys. They usually get a stuffed animal, at least my daughter does. Sometimes if I can find the right animal I will get one for my son as well. Maybe even some jewelry for my daughter.

Our cats got wet cat food, dry food , cat treats, and cat toys. We always take pictures. My basket is purple, my daughter has red, yellow or green, my son gets blue.

We spend Easter as a family.

Historical
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.