FYI logo

The Encounter

By Ransom TowsleyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

An Encounter

After some time of quiet, he turned and looked me straight in the eye. I knew those eyes. I had never seen him but I remembered his eyes from some place of sometime of some dream. That was the beginning of the encounter.

But l have gotten ahead of myself. Let me start at the beginning. At age fifteen I had a near death experience. It would take some time until I fully understood what had happened.

Over the next several years, my thinking began to change. There was a gradual withdrawal into myself of a philosophic and spiritual nature. I began thinking about the relationship between body and spirit. My relationship with my spirit or higher self grew and took on a personal nature akin to developing a close friendship. It was like a call and response.

I began sensing it's presence in moments of what I called “gifts”. Moments of clarity that always taught me something about my higher self. Synchronicities started happening all the time. My higher self would speak to me through music, books, movies. These encounters would help me grow in my spiritual and self knowledge. These events were always in response to what I was thinking prior to the encounter and I would get a feeling of déjà vu, like I was remembering things I had long ago forgotten.

When I turned eighteen I left my home to hitch hike around the country. I left with fifty dollars in my pocket. All the money I had to my name. While the gifts were of great value to me I always had a thought in the back of my mind that maybe I was just a little crazy. After all these encounters involved only me and were in my mind. So I left home with virtually nothing to find confirmation that I was not crazy and that what was happening to me was indeed real. Would the outside world respond directly to my growing knowledge of spirit?

During my adventures there were many people who showed up in my life at just the right time. Letting me know of safe places to sleep, where to get a cheap meal, where to work temporarily to make some money. All this kept my travels going and in each of these encounters was the gift of knowing that the outside world was responding to my remembering. The encounters were now with people, just with books, music and movies. But there was one encounter that cemented my faith that something was teaching me and it seemed to be connected to everything and everyone.

I was sitting on a bench in New Orleans pondering just how broke I was and how generous the world had been to me just when I needed it. But I was ready for a bigger leap into the gifts. I thought maybe it was time to buy a car and travel more, have more encounters. But I had no idea how that could happen as I had less money now than when I first started out.

At that moment a man sat down on the bench next to me.

As I mentioned earlier, after some time of quiet, he turned and looked me straight in the eye. I knew those eyes. I had never seen him but I remembered his eyes from some place of some time of some dream.

When he spoke, he said: “I am led to say some things to you.” Again, that strange silence. Then, “Friend, you are not alone in your changing and you feared that you were.” He must, I thought, be an agent for whatever form of spirit had been speaking in my thoughts, because he knew my thoughts correctly.

He continued. “Many of us decided to be born again on Earth. I hear from the inner source that you are one of us – remembering. The thoughts that seem to come into your mind often have considerations that you have not before thought. These come from the innermost part of your consciousness, that which the world calls spirit.

The core of your being is exposing a very distant past that is also your future, guiding you to experience it all now in those gift moments. Before we can know the value of peace brought by the security of knowledge and experience, we too, must stagger through the randomness of reality as it presently exists. You are pilgrim on that path, as I am.

You chose before birth to learn alone and so develop your own memory of truths previously known. Others of us will come to you as I have done, or have you come to me? When you have learned what you decided to learn alone, others who thought themselves alone in their strange and personal differences will come to you.

You will be for them what you have allowed me to be for you. A prompter for your own personal role in the great finale, that prelude to the new Now which is far older than mans’ idea of ancient. You will give them gifts such as I leave with you. I do not know if we shall meet again in this life. But we shall meet again as like attracts like. We are kindred spirits, friend.”

He paused for a moment and went on. “This encounter is a link in my chain, one which does not bind, but secures by freeing. Forge your chain by the cool fire of your reason, it is more purifying than heat and stronger than rigidity. Be satisfied that you learn. It is enough.

It is inevitable because you chose to come back. Each soul comes back into this system to remember who it was before it came here so that it can clear itself and have that clarity of mind again. For the world will not know clarity until each individual comprising the world has clarity.

A chain must have all of its links, a picture, each piece of the puzzle, a universal truth, individual comprehension. We will then recognize the value of the constructive idea and cling to it. We will understand the danger of the destructive idea and grow away from it. You are not alone in your thoughts and you feared that you were.”

That same unusual silence! Unusual because it held only wonder, no certainty.

There were tears were on my cheeks. Here was a man who spoke directly to my soul. He was a profound response to my search. He got up and strolled off as casually as though he asked the time, rather than defining it

As I watched him walk away I noticed something out of the corner of my eye and looked at where he was sitting. Next to me was a black moleskin notebook. I picked it up and opened it. Inside was the narrative he had just spoken. There was also a bookmark toward the back. Turning to it I found twenty thousand dollars!

My exploration of the notebook to all of 15 seconds. I got up to return it to him and ask the thousands of questions I had thought of before and since. Who are we? How have we come here? What is the meaning of this place in time? But he was nowhere to be seen. Then I remembered he had already answered me and even future questions that had not yet formulated themselves. And in those 15 seconds he had vanished.

A kindred spirit had given me more than just a notebook and money. He gave me confirmation of my hearing the inner source, clarity in understanding, an awakening of purpose and the means to continue my traveling.

I have since learned to more clearly hear the inner source he spoke of and to trust it in in the hearing of it. It is now my turn to pass these gifts on to the next kindred spirit that crosses my path.

I know now that we are many and occurring worldwide. You may well be one of us. Since coincidence and accident do not exist, why are you reading this?

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.