FYI logo

Real Cures No One Talks About

How to Stop a Virus IN ITS TRACKS!

By Maria CalderoniPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9
Real Cures No One Talks About
Photo by Brittany Colette on Unsplash

Your day is going fine when you start to feel just a little tickle in your throat. You ignore it and go on with your day. Later you feel extra tired, just dragging and wonder where your usual energy has gone. The tickle in your throat gets worse and you find yourself clearing and clearing when you need to speak. Then your ears feel a bit plugged....

You know it before you know it that you are getting a cold. Home in bed you hope to sleep it off but unfortunately the morning greets you with a full blown sore throat, stuffy nose, maybe a few aches, possibly a slight fever and definitely NO energy. Darn it! You really didn't have time for this today. Who ever really has time to get sick? I mean, when it happens we do our best to take the time, but something always suffers. Our kids. Our work. Our home. Our friends. And worst of all, ourselves as we feel like crap.

You may check the cold and flu remedies in any drug store or online, there are hundreds from the symptom masking medications to vitamins, herbs and homeopathic remedies. It is a multi million dollar business trying to cure the common cold and keep us moving and on our best game. And we pay the price. We try this and that and eventually the cold runs its course and we get back to our busy life.

What if I told you, that for the past decade and a half, I have been avoiding most colds with a simple trick that costs me less than 5 cents per use. Though really not a conspiracist, it does bother me that this almost free technique is not shouted from the rooftops by the companies that claim to want to cure our colds. Sadly, however, if this knowledge became widespread again, it might just bankrupt the cold and flu industry.

Let me pause to tell you that I am not a doctor. I am not a medical professional and I am not here to give you medical advice. It is simply my goal to share what has been working very nicely for me and many other people including my grandmother (now that I realize she was likely the best one to listen to in the first place)!

If you have stuck with me this far, I expect that you are on the edge of your seat wondering what magic snake oil I might be touting. Trust me, if it were snake oil it would be expensive and I'd be trying to collect your money. But I expect there is a store in your town with several similar elixirs......

My solution is not a cure so much as a prevention. It works the very best if one is able to use it at the very first sign of a cold. That first twinge in the throat or itch in an ear. I also want to be clear that in my experience it has not worked 100% of the time. But most of the time it works while I am sleeping and I wake up healthy and ready to tackle the day.

This is easy and uncomplicated. The product I use is a simple bottle of hydrogen peroxide. The last bottle I purchased cost $1.00 -- No one got rich. I lay down and pour a small amount into the lid of the bottle and then dump it into my ear, leaving it in place for about 5 minutes. Then I drain it out and switch sides repeating for the other ear. That is it! Then I get a good night's sleep and almost always wake up with no symptoms. If I have not caught it quickly and more symptoms are cropping up, I will also sometimes gargle with some peroxide as well.

Many people whom I have shared this with look at me quizzically and question how pouring something in one's ear can help the throat. Let me assure you, as I have assured them, everything is interconnected and if a virus is growing in one's throat it is quickly spreading to the nasal cavity and the ears as well.

In our house, we have additional preventions and remedies, but honestly we rarely need to use them, as the $1.00 bottle of peroxide rids us of the majority of illnesses before they even have the opportunity to dig in.

Please watch for a sequel article.

Thank you for "lending me your ear." I love sharing information that can make a fellow human's life a little better. If you appreciated this I would be honored with a like and even a tip. Have a healthy and beautiful day!

Science
9

About the Creator

Maria Calderoni

Born a lover of stories. I love to read, write and tell them. Tales of inspiration, resilience and struggle.

A life long learner, I enjoy nothing more than sharing interesting and useful things I have learned so far.

Please join me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.