FYI logo

Musicians making there own back tracks

Guitarist explains how to

By Jefferey Scott PhillipsPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Like
Me Jamming at the local town Car show

My name is Jeff I am a 59-year self-taught musician. My dad came up with a stage name fingers fhillips. My parents were always so supportive of my music and dad always said you need a nickname a stage gimmick or something you could brand as your own, my name is jeff Phillips but for looks I spell Phillips with an F to make it look more cooler, I have played in many bands and toured all over always ending with the same result someone quits then you're stuck trying to find a replacement. That is when I decided to come up with a way, I could write my own music to perform to, being on a budget was my first concern so I purchased a keyboard. This I would use to write the bass lines and laydown the drum tracks with now I needed a way to record this on. This is where I purchased a pedal called the jam man stereo pedal it's a looper pedal meaning when you record something on it plays it over and over. The really cool thing about this pedal is that it holds a SD card which stores all you information on. Also this being a stereo pedal it has two inputs and two outputs. Now this is where the fun starts first, I come up with a song on my guitar. I write the song the words and such. then I would record the guitar part on a tape deck and plug the keyboard into the pedal and record the base line. After this is done then I would play the base line from the pedal and record the drum parts. when this process is done then I plug the pedal into my P.A system and there you go I have a back track for a song to play along with. The nice thing about this pedal is that it holds a hundred songs, and it numbers the tracks so I can make a sheet of what song is on what number. I have been using this process now for about two or three years now and since then I have used what money I made and reinvested into my ideas and have purchased a wonderful lighting system a nice P.A. system and I made my own back drop from a table cloth. Which has Fingers Fhillips in bright green glow in the dark letters and I shine a black light spotlight on it to make Glow like crazy? And the best part about doing this I get to have all the crowd attention on me which makes for better interaction with the crowd more rewarding and I have no overhead to pay for any money I make I don't have to split with anyone which is great since there isn't many clubs in this area that are willing to pay over 500 for a live band. Also, the other best thing is I am not stuck into learning cover songs all the songs I produce are originals and that gives me great satisfaction. of knowing these are my songs. I hope you enjoyed my story of how I make back tracks to play out live Thank you. Jeff Phillips

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.