FYI logo

If you own an Asus Chromebook you may want to read this

These computers have serious flaws that may cost you extra money.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
If you own an Asus Chromebook you may want to read this
Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

A missing power cord was my first clue that this computer had flaws

This past spring I purchased a refurbished Asus Google Chromebook from Best Buy. It had been returned within the 60-day time frame and was half the original price. There was no explanation for why no charger was in the box so I had to purchase one for $40.00.

This charger had a huge transformer that feels like a brick but it was recommended as the one that was best. Something inside of me was screaming that the previous owner did not simply forget the original charger when the computer was returned but I ignored that nagging feeling because the price was a bargain.

By Marcus Urbenz on Unsplash

Fixing the issue should never be the customer's responsibility

After two weeks the charger pin on the end of the charger cord broke and I assumed the weight of the transformer had pulled on it. I also assumed this is why the previous owner returned the laptop without a charger. There were videos online and advice about repairing this issue yourself but I did not desire to try it on my own. I did not want to try to fix the issue and do more damage.

I decided that the transformer was too heavy for the thin metal prong and returned to Best Buy where they gave me a free replacement. This one lasted about 3 weeks and I purchased a third charger that did not have a heavy transformer.

By Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

The issue was not fixed

Chromebooks have a charger port on both sides and about a month later, the tip of the third charger was no longer fitting on either side. It felt as if something was inside blocking the connection but I could not see anything even with a light so my son allowed me to borrow one of his chargers that fit. I decided the Chromebook was the issue but I liked how it worked so I purchased a brand-new one.

This charger had a plain cord like a phone charger and the part you placed into the wall outlet looked like a power brick. Within two weeks the pin was not making contact on either side and I was back to using my son's charger. I saw online that others had gone through the same thing and they were giving advice on how to check to see if the prongs inside the charger port were bad. This was too much for me so now I am using a regular laptop again without any problems.

By Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

Addressing this issue rationally

If you are using an Asus Chromebook and having problems with your charger as well as the charger port it's not your fault. There obviously is a problem with these computers because many other people are having trouble charging them. These laptops have pins that break and or the port feels like something is stuck in it and you cannot insert the metal pin.

The fact that there are so many people asking what to do and numerous do-it-yourself sites online is very telling. I believe this is a factory issue that should be addressed by the manufacturer. The product should work as expected and there should not be anything to do yourself at least where the charger and the charger ports are concerned.

If other Asus Chromebook users have been able to fix their issues themselves I am glad it worked out for them but: After purchasing two Asus Chromebooks and buying 3 chargers and having one replaced for free for a total of 4 chargers I know something is wrong and I don't want to spend any more money.

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.