FYI logo

Hugh Hefner

American Publisher

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hugh Hefner born on April 9th, 1926, Aries Gang! I knew I liked him for a reason! I am inspired by the Great Depression era and stories of underdogs creating empires. So many people doubted me over one year ago, called me crazy and delusional simply because I was starting a business with some pennies I was saving up. I just knew that we were in for dark times and decided to invest in myself and created The Vibe Podcast!

I admire folks like Hugh Hefner, you can absolutely make something outta nothing so long as you are disciplined and determined. Mr. Hefner died on 9/27/17, the same year I was baptized.

This awesome Aries built an Empire from scratch and is one of my heroes as a result. Mr. Hefner was an American Magazine Publisher... a publication with revealing photographs aka Playboy Magazine.

I believe in the Arts & Entertainment... if you've been following me you must know by now, I have a dark past that included a lot of nudity. It's a business and entertainment... and these are some topics I just so happen to be into.

Welcome to my dark side! You must embrace the dark in order to be the light! We have adult themed topics on The Vibe Podcast, I enjoy entertaining you with the truth.

The first issue of Playboy was published in 1953, featuring Marilyn Monroe. Another Hollywood legend who took the iconic photo right in front of my very first New York City property, now called the Doubletree Metropolitan.

Sadly, the hotel has since closed down after the Covid 19 pandemic. The world has gone through so much, I enjoy looking to legends of the past.

It is said that Marilyn Monroe did not pose for Playboy, rather Hugh Hefner acquired these photos and published them making them legends.

That's gangster! Freedom of Speech and Freedom of Press at its finest. The first issue Playboy magazine sold over 50,000 copies.

Hugh Hefner was from Chicago, Illinois. Served as a writer for a Military newspaper & graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign in 1949 with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.

Real G's go to school folks. Mr. Hefner took some graduate college courses in Sociology but dropped out soon after.

As someone who has taken Psychology & Sociology classes, I can tell you that an education is a must. You can apply these lessons to your life and don't worry if you do not have a certificate... you are not defined by that. Knowing a little bit of this and a little bit of that goes along way!

Hugh Hefner left his job as a copywriter for Esquire after being denied a $5 raise. He took out some loans, mostly borrowed capital and $1,000 from his mother.

God bless our moms! Mothers always believe in your children and watch how far they go... the sky is the limit. I am thankful for my mother; it has been a difficult year for me, but we have since re-connected and I am so grateful to have my mother.

The first issue of Playboy was released in December 1953. Mr. Hefner's work and lifestyle may be viewed by others as obscene. I see art, I see someone who wants to tell stories that some folks don't want to talk about... yet I am sure they are interested in these topics.

Playboy went from a magazine to an absolute empire! Mr. Hefner's son Cooper Hefner is the Chief creative officer and chief of global partnerships at Playboy Enterprises. $5 and a dream... I dare you to dream. The sky is the limit!

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.