FYI logo

Dromana Drive In

The Perfect Setting

By Mary Jo HanlyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
36
"Off to the Drive-In" Photo: Clarence 'tangcla' Tang

Unleashing yourself on your deepest imaginings is easy when you're single. It's not a place that's foreign to me and I often take refuge there from the emptiness of not going through sharing in life with your best buddy, learning about each-other and the evolving union that is your shared life. I've even written a song about hovering in that space of being attracted to someone and lingering between the not knowing and knowing about their significant other, 'main squeeze', partner, girlfriend, wife or indeed their boyfriend, perhaps husband as the case may be.

So conjuring up images of an impeccable first encounter, date, rendezvous or dare I say tryst, is all too easy. I've done it before but it's so much more fun when you're given the opportunity to pour it out on a page, dig deeper to scour for accompanying images and bring life to romantic dormancy. At this point I should probably encourage you to sit down with a nice glass of whatever your favourite bevy may be and enjoy the ride. Welcome to the corridors of my mind.

Who doesn't like a good movie? Well when you live in my part of the Southern Hemisphere we take this experience to another level and Autumn is my favourite season! Not just because the surf happens under the most joyous of conditions but it's also that the Dromana Drive-In becomes a favourite movie buffs destination. 'Goldilocks' weather. Not too hot, not too cold, with the sun not taking so long to set that the night time backdrop doesn't have enough of an opportunity to take hold and allow you to take in your favourite screen time experience. I could go to the 'currently screening at' options but that's not what this story is about. I'd much rather take you on the full imaginary trail.

Dromana Drive-In

You come out of the surf from a session of note! Let's face it, it was offshore in the carpark before you got in the water if you know what I mean. Then it happens. Everything slows down and you hear 'The Morning of the Earth' soundtrack beginning to play in your head as you realise it's 'HZ SAND' man and he's coming towards YOU! Then he calls you by name and asks you to the Drive-In! There's a cool movie showing and he can't remember the name of it but would I like to join him anyway? He begins to tell me how his car is all set up with a table that can accomodate us for a bite to eat during the show and I use all my power to resist saying "Are you kidding me? everyone knows how well kitted out your van is." It's even in magazines Fu-cryin' out loud but I smile, broadly, and can barely contain my excitement. "I would LOVE to! Thank-you." I quickly get changed while the sun goes down as we have to go straight there to make it in time.

He suggests that I leave my car and jump in his coz we can pick it up later. I agree and off we go into the sunset. We decide on grabbing some Fish'N'Chips for the viewing and agree that it won't stop us from having the mandatory pop-corn later on. He suggests that I check the website to find out what the name of the movie is. I tell him "I've got a better idea. If you could put together a list of movies to choose from, what would they be?" Oh well, that's just opening up the proverbial tin of worms isn't it? So off we go on long rants about surf movies from long ago.

He starts with "Morning of the Earth" and it's at that moment I feel myself blush, wondering if he can read my mind. I quickly resurrect myself from melting into the leather and suggest how good it would be if they could set up a half pipe at the Drive-In while having the 'Dogtown and Z Boys' documentary playing on screen. He's totally on board with it and suggests that I put it to the owners to see what they think. We spiral into one for one suggestions.

What about 'Breath'? Yeah! Or 'Puberty Blues'! Of course you have to love that, it's an Aussie classic! The list goes on and on. 'Step Into Liquid' we both agree is something that really captures the phrase "If you don't surf, there's no explanation possible. If you do surf, there's no explanation necessary." We both sit in the back of the van eating our pre show fodder and express our admiration for the heroes of surfing and who we really admire. He tells me he likes the way I surf, admitting that he knows I'm not the flashiest surfer but he loves my style. He is also really looking forward to seeing 'Girls Can't Surf' and was really hoping IT was on at 'The Drives' tonight. I really admire women who surf and they're just not given enough 'cred'.

100 Foot Wave Photo: Luis Ascenso

Mid-sentence of me being in awe of '100 Foot Wave' what it finally comes back to is the 'Decider' so it will be at this point that it dawns on him. That's right! We're going to see 'Soul Surfer'! My favourite quote from Bethany Hamilton is "My Passion for surfing was more than my fear of sharks." He turns to me, asks if I drink alcohol and wonders whether I would like a drink. I politely decline and explain I don't drink beer. He says he's not much of a fan either and pulls out a bottle of Merlot and two glasses.

"O-Kaaaayyyyy. Well I wasn't expecting that I must say. Perfect! Could this be any better? We had better just make it one glass though coz we've gotta go back and get my car 'n tomorrow the surf will be PUMPING!

Yep. The Perfect date. You just can't let the truth get in the way of a good story.

By M J Hanly 30th March 2021

If you have enjoyed this submission be sure to give it your love. Feel free to unleash your kindness and give me a tip if your humble earnings permit. Thanks for reading and be sure to check out the plethora of awesome writers that grace this platform.

Pop Culture
36

About the Creator

Mary Jo Hanly

Mary-Jo Hanly is a budding philanthropist and as such is working on all her skills to manifest this into her reality. A unique creative that has a breadth and depth of life experience unlike any other history has known. Be a part of this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.