FYI logo

As a writer I prefer Chromebook over a laptop

This is my personal preference and it may benefit others.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
As a writer I prefer Chromebook over a laptop
Photo by Kind and Curious on Unsplash

My personal choice as a writer is Chromebook

One of my pet peeves is when someone gives a personal opinion as if it speaks for one and all. Each of us is different and has different preferences. Comedian Steve Harvey causes me to cringe each time he says "All men" as if his preferences are the way every man feels but it's not true. Having said that I now prefer a Chromebook as a writer but I cannot say every writer needs a Chromebook. I am only sharing my experience but others naturally will have a different one.

My laptops have been lasting about 10 months before the keys stop working. My husband used to tell me to stop eating while I am typing and he would clean the keys for me. I was careful with my last laptop but the keys stopped working anyway. It's difficult to use the online keyboard because it slows the flow of writing and my train of thought. I went to Bestbuy last week and could not find a decent laptop in my price range.

Reasons the Chromebook benefits me better than a laptop

When I told the employee I was a writer he suggested a Chromebook and gave me reasons why but I cannot recall them. When I got home and opened the box I instantly fell in love because it felt like this was what I had been searching for and I knew it would solve several problems. For anyone who does not know the difference with this device and a laptop, I will tell you in layman's terms.

A Chromebook operates by Google Chrome only and does not have Windows. This alone was a blessing because I cannot tell you how frustrating it has been each time I had to reboot a computer or set up a new one. I would have to enter my windows Microsoft information, choose a language, and all the other things that were necessary and get that system going through many prompts.

I next had to go through the frustration of Microsoft Edge practically being forced on me. Finally, I would have to download Google Chrome again and all of this takes a lot of time. This is why I was stunned when all I had to do to get the Chromebook going was to enter my Google info and I was set. I found seven reasons why a Chromebook is better for freelance writers online and three of them I truly appreciate. This device has a longer battery life than a laptop, gives automatic updates, and is free from malware. It also has a touch screen which is beneficial and the keys seem to com up to meet my fingers in a way that allows me to type fast and I love it.

The ease of a Chromebook

The keys on my Chromebook seem to be raised a bit and I find that I type better using it. I am now writing more articles and making fewer mistakes. My new device has keys that light up when means I no longer have to have the light on at night and will save on electricity. I am also thankful that my new toy is not slowing down. My last three laptops started out fast and although I have Cox high-speed internet they eventually began slowing down and buffering which is a big turn-off.

I cannot really put it into words but once this device was in my hands it felt as if it was made just for me and I love it. I can click on a site and instantly have access as opposed to having to wait. The Chromebook also has another feature that I believe is absolutely necessary as a writer. On my laptops whenever I wanted to do a screenshot I had to go settings and click on the snipping tool. I would then have to try to catch the right moment during a video and many times I would snip the wrong image.

I cannot count how many times someone's eyes were closed or another scene came up and I had to spend a lot of time trying to get the right shot. With the Chromebook, I simply touch the camera icon above the keys and "drag to capture" comes on the screen. I can center the snipping tool first and as soon as I see the image I want to catch I click capture and I have it without any do-overs. This is my personal experience and opinion and I know if Chromebook works so well for me it will work for others.

Pop Culture
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Cheryl E Preston is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.