Futurism logo

Write it Down! Write it Down!

What if you could change reality by writing it?

By Stephen ReillyPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Part 1- Slacking off is cool

And 10. Ms. Heinz has 10 wrinkles on her face. Man, her writing class is boring. Who cares about essay construction anyways? Wow, there is nobody sitting next to me. Do I stink? Hmmm, yeah, I should have showered. Come on Arroyo, get it together. This is college; we must smell nice for the ladies. Oh, there’s Charles. I can’t stand Charles and his rich butt, always so focused during class. What are we even learning? Oh, how to do properly construct an ending? I hate those cutesy happy endings. Man, these chairs are super uncomfortable. Making me lose some blood flow to my legs. How much longer is this dang class? Cannot wait for my next class with Mrs. Herrera. She makes me melt every time I see her. How much time is left?

“Mr. Arroyo!” shouted Ms. Heinz.

“15 minutes left?”

“What?”

“Nothing.”

“You seem distracted?”

“No no, I’m paying attention.”

“Then what did I just say/”

“You seem distracted?”

“See me after class please?”

I made that walk down the stairs after class. Each step hurts my blood loss legs. There is she is with her arms cross, leaning against her desk, with her infamous disappointment look. She takes inhale and makes a more grimacing face.

“Mr. Arroyo, what is your problem with me?”

The look on her face is making me guilty. It’s not really her, but this class. this class… ugh.

“Nothing, I just get bored during this class.”

“Bored…” She walks around her desk and sits in chair with a defeated look on her. Puts her face in her hands, and then takes a big exhale and looks towards me. “Mr. Arroyo. Did, you know you are one my best writers?”

“No.”

“I don’t want you to fail out of college because you have talent.”

“What talent?”

“So that’s why….” She pulls out a drawer from her desk and takes out a…black…notebook? “I am giving you this black notebook. For your assignment by the end of week, I want you to write down your thought, your observations, anything that comes to your mind, write it down in this book. Got it?”

She extends the book out to me like that’s agreement, but I did make her sad, so why not?

“Sure.”

“Good.”

Let’s go to Mrs. Herrera’s class… oh my paints are sagging a bit… let me get that… cannot let her see me like that…got it…. man this book is super leathery.

Part 2- What just happened?

Oh man is this class the highlight of my day. Mrs. Herrera’s eyes just stare right into your soul when she catches me glaring at her. Man do I love….um…. World History Class. Snap out of it Arroyo, looks like she gave us assignment to do. Eh, it’s not due tomorrow. I just have these thoughts in my head. Hmmm, I guess I could try this black book that was bestowed on me. Huh, ripped pages, she gave me a used notebook? Whatever let’s get these thoughts on paper.

Mrs. Herrera flips her hair as she gets up out her seat, she surveys the room for her prey, and her eyes fell on the man of her dreams, the ever-gorgeous Arroyo sitting his chair looking so fine. She licks her lips and walks over to him with that look in her eye. As she gets closer to Arroyo, she bends over near and..

What is that smell? Is there something behind...What in the world?! Mrs. Herrera?! What… did anyone else see that? Goodness gracious, that smile is a bit creepy up close. Why are her eyes so dilated? That’s so…oh, they are shrinking back down.

“Mr. Arroyo? How are we doing?”

"Good..."

"That's good." There she goes back to her desk like she did not just acknowledge what she just said.

What in the world just happened?

Part 3- Trial and Error

Lunch time! Is there a table to put my stuff dooowwwn? Yes, okay. Lunch time, crowded people, supposed magic black notebook. Let’s test this out! So many stupid people to choose from. Oh, there’s Stacie from my Math class. Well STACIE, let’s ruin your day.

She takes a giant step to the right, ripping her pants right down the middle. She feels so humiliated that she runs out of the room crying.

Heheheh…. Wait a minute, she just walked by, pants unripped? And she is smiling. Oh, the audacity. It worked with Mrs. Herrera. Let’s try it again. Someone different. There’s Derrik from my English class eating soup. He’s a cool guy, sorry dude. How about something small?

He eats in delight as his soup spills in his pants.

No spillage of the soup. What’s going on? Let me go back to Mrs. Herrera story. Hmmmm, okay, I named Mrs. Herrera from the get-go.

Derrick spills his….

Oops it’s Derrik…

Derrik eats in delights as his soup spills on his pants. And he screams running out of the lunchroom.

“AAaaaahhhh.” As Derrik runs out of the cafeteria. YES!! That’s what it. I have to say their name.

Trial two. Okay there’s Charles. Rich boy.

Charles gets all his money from the bank gives the money to Arroyo Richardson.

There he goes. That should be interesting a few paragraphs down. Okay, who’s next. That’s all I knew. Oh, there is cute girl next to me with wool hat on.

“Yeah there! What’s your name?”

“Uhhh…Agnus.”

“Agnus? That’s a… name.”

Agnus takes off her wool hat and flings across the lunchroom. It lands into Derrik's unattended soup, but then he comes back, sees the hat, looks into Agnus’s eyes with a cackle, and then flings it across the room.

Hehehe, ow, something wooly hit my eyes. Oh it’s Agnus’ hat. Agnus comes rushing by me and snatches her hat from my hand.

“UGH!” She briskly walks out the lunchroom.

Looking back at Derrik and he just looks dumbfounded. The eyes of despair. Oh, no, he's putting his arms over his head. Wow, what's is this awful feeling that I'm feeling?

Part 4-Glimmer of Hope

Derrik's face said it all. I have never been so guilty in my entire life. I'm the one who put him in that situation, and he paid for it. I don't think I can have this much power. Maybe Ms. Heinz can help me out here? Where is she?

“Hey Arroyo! I got something for you!”

I turned around and I see Charles, holding a bag up and eyes dilated? Oh, that's right.

“What’s in there?”

“Its money. All $20,000 of it. Something in the back of my mind told me to give you all the money I had. Only problem. I couldn’t withdraw it all without my parents, so I had to improvise!”

“Improvise? You only had $20,000?” Then I heard the blasting noise of police sirens outside of the building.

Quickly I closed the door. Then I grabbed the bag of money from Charles. He gradually got more confused on what was going on.

“Arroyo… what happened? What’s in the bag? Is that the police?”

So, the spell runs out as soon as the story is finished, and it ended with me getting the money. Not going lie, pretty rad.

“Just stand to side, I’ll think of something.”

“What is happening?”

Ugh, where’s that black book?!,

Charles stop asking Arroyo questions, and then sat in the corner for 20 minutes being quiet as possible.

Good, Charles is clamed down. Oh no, yelling in the hallway. Two policemen around the corner with their guns drawn. Goodness. I cannot write a story if I don’t know their names.

“Hey, open up, this Officers Luke and Gary.”

Why hello Officers Luke and Gary.

Officers Luke and Gary try to look through the window of the door, and aggravatedly didn’t see anyone. After failing to see anybody, they walk back out to their police cars.

“Well, no ones in here, let’s go.”

As they looked right into my eyes, and they just left. Wow, this book is awesome. Now what to do with this money. I say leave it and have the police recover it after we escape. Well, no, then they will still be after Charles. But what has he done for me except be an okay friend? Still not a reason just to abandon him, since I am the one who made him do it. Man, this is hard.

“Open up!”

You got to be kidding me, two DIFFERENT cops this time. Now I do not know their names.

“Excuse, what’s your guys’ names?”

“What?”

“Your names, I don’t believe you guys are cops.”

“I am Officer Logan, and this is Officer Ariana!”

“Thank you!”

Duck down below the window.

Officers Logan and Ariana smack each other in the face and start an argument over who should get the promotion to detective. Then Officers Gary and Luke come back inside, handcuff them, and take them outside to their cars. Then they drive back to the ….

“Oh my god, Arroyo what’s going on.”

police station, while Charles still stares at the corner calmly until I tell him not to.

Alright, Charles is good in the corner. Let us look out the window, and wow, handcuffed and all. They get into the car, and there they go.

“Okay Charles, grab the bag and let’s go.”

“Annddndd…. What’s going on Arroyo?! Why the cops?! And what’s in the bag?!”

“Stay calm and follow me.”

“I will not calm down!”

Oh god.

Charles calmly follows Arroyo as they try to get out of the building.

Peace and quiet. Let’s get outta here. Think Arroyo, think. I don’t want Charles to get in trouble, but I don’t know what to do with this money. Take a deep breathe. That noise. Oh no. Policemen are coming into the building. They will arrest Charles because of my stupidity. I cannot just write a story of them forgetting, the robbery is already in the system. But if someone took the fall for it,...arrgh, I’m going to have to do the right thing, aren’t I?

Charles goes and hides in the bathroom. Then Officers Luke and Gary accidentally destroy the camera footage of the bank, erasing any evidence of Charles robbing the bank.

“Put your hands up in the air! And drop that darn book.”

Do not want to get shot.

“I am Arroyo, and I am the one who robbed the bank.”

“But someone said they saw someone with blond hair.”

“I was wearing a blonde wig. Why would I want someone to ID me?”

“Lieutenant Parker, come in!” Wow, that radio is loud!

“Yes. Over”

“The footage of the bank has been destroyed. We have no evidence. Over!”

“Well, this might not be enough, but I got confession here from someone who did it. Over”

Gawd, handcuffs are tight. Well at least Charles won’t be arrested. I wonder if he’s ever going to leave the bathroom.

Part 5- Inspired

Down at the jail, got 2 years for the robbery. Could this cell at least be a little warmer, and a cellmate who would stop crying!

“Hey, you got a visitor.”

Officer Luke to my rescue. I wonder who came to see me. I walk in and I see a familiar face… Ms. Heinz.

“Hi Arroyo.”

She’s grabbing something from her purse.

“You left this on the floor of the English Building.”

She hands me the black book. I looked confused. Then she gets up and begins to leave.

“Wait, you knew about the book, Ms. Heinz.”

“Yes, it has helped me and several of my students to be inspired. It seems like it took you a while, but it seems like you got inspired after all.”

Inspired. She leaves and I must go back to my cell. I have nothing to be inspired.

“Here’s your new cellmate.”

Man, does he have to be pushy? Oh no, my celly is crying.

“What’s the matter?”

“I was stupid, and I left my daughter all alone to be taken care of by a foster family. I just want her to be happy.”

I looked at the book, took a big sigh, and smiled.

“What’s her name?”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Stephen Reilly

Hey. My name is Stephen Reilly and I have just gotten into writing. I’m from Indianapolis, Indiana and I’m eager to get to writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.