Futurism logo

Woozy Wonks and the Little Black Notebook

Part One: Life Is But A Dream

By Charlie Le FolPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by dimitrisvetsikas1969 on Pixabay

Woozy Wonks wakes up.

Wait! Who is Woozy Wonks?

Simply a man who lives in a purple electric van.

Do you see the man in the purple electric van?

Good! Now you understand.

Let’s begin again.

Woozy Wonks wakes up.

He stretches his arms. He stretches his legs. He even whistles a tune to stretch out his brain. Once he’s stretched to perfection, he flips his seat upright again.

Why does Woozy Wonks sleep like this?

Well, you might expect a man who lives in a purple electric van to be a certain type of man. The type of man without out much drive, and for this he understands.

Oh yes, most days our hero wanders with the breeze. Following it wherever he may please, but some days Woozy wakes with a start. In his dreams he sees someplace for which he must quickly depart.

Today is one of those days when Woozy Wonks wakes with an urgent mission. A vision was had in a dream with a surprising proposition.

Last night Woozy saw two clues. A puzzle from the heart:

1) A black Moleskin notebook.

2) A woman in a park.

“The first is quite simple,” Woozy says banging out a beat on his steering column. “Michaels has what I need, and it’ll be a deal!”

“The second, well, a different story, much harder to discern. I’ll seek the first then once in hand revisit how I feel.”

An hour later Woozy stands before a wall of books both big and small. One little row catches his eye and this is where he’s called. He takes a deep breath and says a prayer fast before inspiration stalls.

He reaches out counting to 9, “this will do just fine, and look a steal at only $9.99!”

Now Woozy sits in his van opening up the clue. On the first page, in the most beautiful hand, written hitherto:

“Meet me down at Postmans Rest where I’ll wait the day for you, but if you fail to meet me there, yep, this mission’s through.”

“Interesting,” Woozy says. “Have I been there before? In this life, I don’t recall, maybe, in the last?”

Four hours later, after circling town, Woozy sits on the bench he’s found wondering what he’s missed. The sign, right there, clearly states that this is Postmans Rest.

“Am I a day late? Perhaps a day early? How long has this dream been swirling?” Woozy asks a squirrel.

“You’re right on time. It was my design to keep myself hidden. Spies seek me out, yet, by truth I see you’re driven.”

Woozy starts to turn to see who it is that’s speaking for the voice it is quite pleasing.

“If you turn, I’ll run and your mission will be done. Do you find these conditions pleasing?”

“Are you in my head,” he almost said but found the silence pleasing. So, he let time slip before releasing this quip:

“I’m talking to a squirrel in the afternoon sun. Onlookers must think me crazy. Yet, here I sit, only for a bit, in a dream awaiting.”

“The notebook you found?”

“Yes.”

“You drove all over town?”

“Yes.”

“Did anyone follow?”

“No.”

“Good, we’ll keep it quick our black books we’ll switch.”

Before he knew it the switch occurred, the woman was gone, and Woozy was moving on.

He waited until he was miles away before he opened the gift. She’d hollowed it out and inside did sit a name on top of some bills.

“Not what I was expecting,” Woozy says counting the money at hand. “20 grand! A generous gift with a single clue just my kind of dame!”

“And, Clayton Murray? The mayor’s son? Who is he to she?”

“I’ll get in close to sniff around and see what can’t be found.”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Charlie Le Fol

Bonjour! I'm Charlie Le Fol, a father of two wonderful daughters, and a lifelong enjoyer of music.

Isn't modern technology wonderful? I no longer have to push Play/Record on a Boombox to create mixtapes for you.

Profiter de la musique!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.