Futurism logo

“Who Created It”

Created

By JulainePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
“Who Created It”
Photo by ActionVance on Unsplash

Derrien my daughter, and I are trying to get away by outsmarting this “CREATED” that’s stalking our every move.

The Created's have no eyesight, it works off body temperature and smell. I figure that out while hiding in one of the rooms on the Airbase.

"The freakin government has known about this." I look at my daughter to add “We’ve got to get to New Orleans”

Derrien says “You think we can make it? Why do you keep putting on lotion and oils, shit Ma? Are you trying to get to New Orleans or a lotion commercial?”

I look at her with disdain but before I can reply I hear it. As the Created approaches I grab my daughter to pull her closer to me as if I’m a spider, draping myself over her body to shield her. Thinking to myself "It's me going first if the Created tries anything".

See my son is trapped in New Orleans with his dad. Poor guy, he’s trying everything he can just to stay afloat. The government has taken over the city.

Due to the high humidity and numbers of sick, the Created’s won’t go pass Pearl River.

The Created passes us and makes its way beyond our sight. We move into a nearby bedroom. BUT!! There’s a young-man already hiding behind the door. He startled Derrien to a silent stop. I bump into her, making her knock over a nightstand full of pills.

Derrien turns and says “The owners must have been really sick, they've got like 20+ bottles here. This one says (Derrien's eyes enlarge before reading the prescription) OxyContin! (Still staring at the bottle in disbelief) I'll take one just in case we need an antidote.” And shrugs her shoulders.

My face is not amused but in a low tone almost a whisper I say, “See how many bottles are there and see if there's any antibiotics or vitamins!”

The Created comes back and is close by. We all dip down in our respective spots trying not to be caught.

The young man is now able to clearly see Derrien and asks “How old are you?" (looking at my daughter as if she has three heads) Then he slowly with conviction says, "There aren't any vitamins over there." (A long pause, locked stare) "I’ll share the weed I found if I can come with y’all?”

The young man looks at me trying to pulling at my heartstrings. I'm staring back prepared to say yes. He shouldn't be alone. Something tells me he won't make it.

Derrien Hits the floor flattening her body and rolls over then combat crawls to me.

“No!”

She's now creating noise as she rolls and crawls back over to the bottles spread about the floor.

The young man again asked me to tag along, said he wouldn’t be any trouble. Sadly, I thought how if all fails he can be bait.

The young man speaks without realizing he is speaking out loud. “I really hope she on some Laura Croft, Foxy Cleopatra, Clare Huxtable shit. This little fucker said no. Please before all that’s Holy, don’t be a new-age mom! One that listens to this brat”

We both calmly reply, ”You do know I heard you right?”

Deep eye contact, before the young man says “I"ve been alone for a minute now, Sorry!”

Derrien signals them to be silent as the Created presents in the doorway.

The weight of the Created is so great the pestle that was on the nightstand starts to roll towards the doorway. The floor is cold terrazzo tile, the pestle makes a slight TING, CLICK, SCRAPE in slow motion as it gallantly rolls towards the doorway.

I jump up in a swift but stealthy like motion to grab it before it hits the door seal and my sneakers make a loud noise like I'm trying to D-up on the Created.

As soon as I balance myself the Created and I are face to face.

It moves in to take hold of my bare arms. I yell back to Derrien. “Save yourself, I lo...” and the Created let’s me go but starts convulsing.

It lunges at me again and I raise my arm to block its bite but the Created starts to gag more, then just collapses. I check my arms for injury, nothing. I'm still glistening from my oil mix. The Created is DEAD!

Derrien slowly comes up beside me to my right, gets in full view of the Created before she calmly says..”That’s all that damn shea butter and coconut oil you got on, talking bout you dry!”

The young man steps up to my left and says with his hand extended. “My name is Jahi. I was wondering why you were so shiny.”

Derrien moves passed the Created and starts going through drawers and cabinets.

“You saw that right?” I asked so excited to point it out. “All my juices and berries fucked clean over this bish. I knew it, the smells are too strong or the mixture is toxic”

I'm standing over the Created. This is the first time I’m able to get a closer look at one. I examine it like a scientist. Derrien grabs a knife from the kitchen and begins to sharpen it.

Jahi the young man is squealing before he says “Oh No! Don’t do that shit! OH MY GOD, y’all serious right now!”

We both look at him and with a mother's tone, I casually say, “Sit down or help! Now is not the time to be sensitive and practice social distancing. Grab those thongs!”

Derrien is looking at me with a piercing eye, I look up and acknowledge her. “What da Fuck!”, as she hands me the sharpened knife.

“You on some Bill Nye type stuff right now, huh? You just gonna start slicing this nasty thing up with a kitchen Ginsu knife?” Derrien asks being very sarcastic.

“I always wanted a set of these. You know MawMaw would appreciate the cut of this tool and fully understand how I’m bout to holiday ham this sucker!” My reply is swift as I take the first jab to start my incision.

There is more.......

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Julaine

Well! Where should I start?

I'm interesting, lets see where this takes us...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.