Futurism logo

When Time Runs Out CH3

Marie Ryan

By Jessica GrayPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like
When Time Runs Out CH3
Photo by Rubén Bagüés on Unsplash

CH 3

At the end of the day, you have to rest on the actions that you chose. Not always the easiest thing to do. Lying to yourself is so much easier, even if the nightmares like to try to bring memories to the surface. But sometimes there is that one person that no matter what you did, how they view your actions will scare you so much more than anything.

Walker and his crew got us home, after setting up a Warp point so that we didn’t lose any more time than we had. Five years had passed with that failure the compulsion unit had. The surprise that came when Walker brought us back had left me questioning the circumstances even more. But at the end of the day, I just wanted to be done and move on.

The Overseer blamed the accident on the rebellion and used it as an excuse to start gathering people up. Part of me wanted to do something about it. The other, already had its mind set.

Walker got a commendation for the rescue, in which he announced his sudden retirement. (Wallace gave me crap about time to have a family.)

Aurtur had tried to have Zane removed from cryo while our little accident happened. Apparently, the person has to be missing for some period of time and Zane had signed something saying that only I or descendants of mine, were allowed to sign for his early release. Which I thought was strange. But Zane was always rather disappointed in his family.

So here I was, Sebastian beside me, along with Aurtur, waiting for Zane to be released. My leg bouncing nervously. Seb protectively stood beside me, between the stuck-up man that kept checking his watch.

Leaning into my ear Seb whispered. “Why did you agree to let him be here?”

Twisting my hands together, I tried to focus on him. “Cause I really didn’t want to deal with it. Once this is over with, I can go to the cabin and be away from this.”

Wrapping his arm around my waist, he pulled me close. “You’re not going to object if I come visit?”

“I may or may not, be disappointed if you didn’t.” I couldn’t help but tease, still unable to admit to a straight answer.

“Do my eyes deceive me or is that little Marie getting close to someone?”

The familiar voice had me pulling away from Seb with a smile. “I admit to nothing.”

There he was. Zane sitting in a wheel chair, the nurse pushing him in the room. He raised his hand to stop the nurse, who did, and he started to stand up. She started objecting, but he paid no mind and took a few steps, before wobbling. I caught him by the arm and we embraced.

“Zane, I’m Aurtur Strade.” Aurtur started on about the family business and that Zane was welcome back into the family.

Honestly, I quit listening after he introduced himself. Seb made a crack in my ear about Aurtur being an image hungry idiot. To which I couldn’t help but snicker. Aurtur shot an angry look and Zane had a glean in his eye.

“So, do tell me Marie. You get your act cleaned up?” Zane smiled mischievously.

I moaned, rubbing my temples. “Depends on who you ask.” I was honest with him. There were superiors that despised me and other’s that admired the fact I would always do what I believed was right. It was only due to the ones that appreciated that quality that I had stayed out mostly out of trouble.

“Could you not be modest?” Seb interjected. Zane perked up and told him to continue, which of course Seb was happy to oblige. In that moment I wished to disappear, hiding my eyes behind my hand.

Zane beamed as he was told of my adventures. He then stopped Seb, “Come let’s get a meal, we can speak more there.” He then turned to Aurtur. “I will deal with the family's nonsense after I catch up with Marie.”

Sitting down at a nearby restaurant, Seb and I told Zane of our time in the war. He simply beamed with pride. Come to find out, the three times they tried to court martial me Sebastian and Wallace caused problems because they knew the charges were bogus. Zane simply smiled and asked questions when he wanted clarity.

Our lunch was interrupted, by a messenger from the Galactic Overseer came. Can’t say I saw Zane being associated with the leader of the government, but Zane seemed rather unsurprised. Seb and I exchanged looks.

Zane gave a knowing nod. “There may have been a reason that they kept trying to get you into trouble.”

I couldn’t help but raise my eyebrow at him. “Something tells me it has to do with trying to recruit me for your business.” Leaning back in the booth, Zane and I stared the other down.

Zane relented, his arms went up and leaned forward. “Something like that. I made a bet with the Overseer that somebody who would do the right thing no matter the consequences would inspire more loyalty than their robots that enforced set rules.”

Snorting, Seb started coughing, his eyes showing amusement. Zane tilted his head with an enquiring look. Seb patting his chest, cleared his throat. “She used almost exact phrase when one of our superiors that was using his position for his benefit.”

Thinking hard for a moment I remembered the incident. The commanding officer was trying to get me to ‘have drinks’ with him. After trying to shame me for being a low born, I lost my temper. “Better to be among those below and have code, than robots who can’t think for themselves.”

Zane laughed, thumbing his nose. “The same woman that tried to pick pocket me. I do believe those kids would be proud.”

The pang in my heart must have been visible. Zane sighed deeply and Seb grabbed my hand. I did my best to smile. “I hope so.”

With that Zane said his good byes and paid for the meal. Leaving Seb and me sitting in the booth. “He’s an interesting fellow. Not sure how to feel about him though.”

Snorting, I took a sip of my drink. “Welcome to how I feel. I always knew there was an ulterior motive to his actions. I just didn’t realize or care what it was. He wasn’t upfront with me. I cared about that.”

Walking with me out of the restaurant, Seb asked what my plans were. The reality was I had none. I was struggling on the street anymore and I didn’t have to answer to anyone anymore. What was I going to do? I did have some graves to visit.

The wind gave a chill that wasn’t particularly welcoming. Standing there in front of the graves of the other kids from the haven long dead, I had to pull my jacket tighter to me.

Would things have been different if I had just accepted Zane's offer for a job instead of making my pride happy. That had seriously bitten me in the ass.

Did anything really change?

“For some reason I figured I would find you here.” Zane’s voice pulled me away from my thoughts. “You know they would be happy to see what you’ve done.”

Sighing, I pulled my jacket tighter. “Would they? I just helped a broken system in the end. Even then, I shouldn’t be alive all things considered.” The Battle of the Falls was a miracle that we were alive, even more so that we won. It should have never happened. But it did and here I was, regarded a hero for someone else’s stupid mistake. “I shouldn’t be here.”

Zane stood by me and bumped his shoulder to mine. “They looked up to you. You were their protector, then to them you became everyone’s protector.” He handed me a disk. “Watch this. Let them tell you.”

Staring at the disk in my hand, the thought of them just hurt too much to bear at the moment. I’d do it another day. When I felt stronger. Sleep made more sense right now.

Walking out of the dark, there were rocks scattered around everywhere. The sun bore down a deep orange that caused me to shield my eyes. Looking out upon the ravaged landscape, I began to wonder where I was. Didn’t I fall asleep in my cabin?

Walking for some time I came across a stream. It seemed odd though. Why could I not tell the distance I had come? Why were there no signs of water in this area. Upon closer inspection, the color was red. Blood red.

Turning quickly, to see where I had come from, the landscape had shifted. There now stood a line of trees, too thick to see through. Their leaves blood red as well. What the hell was going on?

“...Marie...”

My name being called from behind me caused me to jump. The voice called again, from upstream this time. The hair on my arms stood on end. The small voice in my head telling me I knew the voice. But I didn’t. Did I?

My feet began to walk upon the shifting rocks, towards the voice. Evermore insistent with every call. The terrain becoming more familiar with each step.

There it was. The Falls. But it wasn’t water running over the cliff. Reaching out to touch the liquid, my hand cane back covered in blood. The metallic smell washing over me.

“Marie.” The voice came from behind me again.

Standing before me was a faceless person in uniform. “Marie, why did you survive?”

Another figure formed in the corner of my vision. “How could you let us die?” More figures came into view. Soon taking the faces of fallen friends.

No words came, no matter how hard I tried. There was no response. I knew there was nothing else that could have been done. The events replayed in my head.

BANG. BANG. BANG.

I turned to figure out where the noise came from. It sounded like a fist pounding upon a door. All I was met with were more faces of the fallen. More voices pleading. Grabbing my head, I fell to my knees. I shouldn’t be alive. Why am I here and they aren’t.

BANG! BANG! BANG!

What is that noise? There’s no door here. Getting up and taking a step the crowd parted. A sick little girl laid upon a blanket.

Kneeling beside her, I found she was one of the other girls at the haven. I had just visited her grave on New Earth. How is she here?

Turning again the setting changed again. Now standing in the haven, the girl reached out. “You meant so much to us. Always putting us before yourself.”

Still not being able to speak, tears fell from my eyes.

CRASH!

Turning to look behind me, there was nothing but darkness.

“MARIE!” Sebastian’s voice came through.

The world began to shake. ‘You have to wake up.’ A voice with no body said, as the floor gave out from underneath my feet.

Finally, I was able to scream as I shot up in bed. My face met with Sebastian’s chest. He put his arms around me and whispered. “Hey, hey, I’m here. Everything is okay.” He pulled away to look in my eyes. Stroking my face, he searched my face. “What’s wrong?”

Tears flowed down my face as I whimpered. “Why am I here? Why do I get to live?”

science fictionfantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Gray

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.