Futurism logo

When the Sea-Goat Climbed Teide

A story of the time a Capricorn climbed the top of Teide to get closer to the stars. What he found on top of the mountain changed his life forever.

By People! Just say Something!Published 3 years ago 24 min read
2

Astrology. The study of the movements and positions of the stars is believed to influence our species and environment. You can trace back any ancient civilisation and observe their close relationship with the stars. Some saw them as gods, while others as ways of navigation. We can trace back the roots of astrology as far back as 32,000 years ago, between 30,000 and 10,000BC, to ancient cave paintings marked with lunar phases seen at the time. No matter what your view is on astrology, we can all agree it provides some phenomenal reading.

I am a Capricorn myself and, being completely honest, have never looked deeply into my zodiac sign. I am the type of person that relies entirely on hard evidence and thorough fact-checking. Writing research papers is both my favourite pastime and my very own embodiment of hell on earth. I seem to love this work turmoil that drives me further naturally. On the topic of the stars, I have a story to tell you, and I think it fits perfectly with our case of the Zodiac and stars. It is about when I went stargazing at one of the best amphitheatres on the planet, Mount Teide, found on the island of Tenerife in the Canary Islands.

The legend of Mount Teide

Mount Teide, or Teide for short, is a volcano located in the middle of Tenerife and is the highest point both in Spain and in the islands of the Atlantic. Teide is a sacred place on the islands worshipped by the Guanches, members of a tribe located on the islands before the arrival of the Europeans explorers. To the Guanches, Teide was more than just a volcano. They saw it as an entity that held up the sky and treated it as a sacred being. According to local legend, the devil, Guayota, kidnapped the god of light and sun, Magec. Guayota imprisoned Magec inside the volcano, which plunged the earth into darkness. The Guanches then asked Achamán, their main and supreme god, for help. Achamán heard the cries of the Guanches and fought Guayota, freeing Magec. As punishment, Achamán threw Guayota into the volcano, trapping him inside its darkness forever. It is believed that Guayota has remained trapped inside Teide ever since.

Teide also casts the world’s largest shadow over the sea due to its enormous height and small distance to the ocean. The shadow is so vast that it partially covers the neighbouring island of Gran Canaria during sunset and La Gomera at dawn, which are more than 40km away from Teide. All of this information will come in handy later on in the blog, as it seems the stars have a much deeper connection with the island than first thought. The main advantage is that the island air space is a no-fly zone as the mountain is home to the Teide Observatory. The telescopes inside make use of the clear night skies and high altitude and have been visited by the world-famous theoretical physicist Stephen Hawking.

Before we begin the story, let’s explore what it means to be a Capricorn. For this exercise, I have decided to gather my information from astrology.com to use in this post. As there are thousands of sites that offer information on the subject, I figured that what seemed to be the most popular and professional-looking website would provide me with the most accurate information to analyse. Here is what I found.

What it means to be a Capricorn

While there is a vast amount of information on what it means to be a Capricorn, I found that it can be divided into five separate categories that cover the topic well. These five categories are astrological identity, personality, strengths, weaknesses, and the Tarot Card. This exercise will aim to see if the Capricorn traits are an accurate representation of myself, as I find that I have a sound understanding of who I am. The pandemic has given me an abundance of time to figure that out.

Astrological Identity

What I mean by astrological identity is the core information that is associated with a particular zodiac sign. This includes their seasonal solstice, cardinal mode, and element, which all differ throughout the year depending on the stars' formations and their connections with humans and nature. As a Capricorn, I have unique traits that determine my astrological identity. I will be taking certain parts of the website and providing my response on the matter to decide whether I agree or disagree, as certain sections are scarily close…

“Winter Solstice: In the western tropical zodiac, Capricorn season begins on December 21, commencing the Winter Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere. This is the time of year when the sun’s heat and light are at their lowest, with the night outweighing the day. From this point, the days slowly begin to lengthen toward the Spring Equinox, representing the fourth and last seasonal pivot of the year. Capricorn’s affinity for resourcefulness and preparedness is mirrored in the activities of the Winter, where we enter a hibernation and conservation mode.”

It’s interesting to see that your astrological identity differs depending on which side of the equator you are located on. This makes sense as the earth axis is tilted; hence certain parts of the planet will be closer to the sun while others remain further back. This tilt provides the earth with different seasons throughout the year, all different depending on where on the planet you are. You could travel to other parts of the planet and maintain a summer climate throughout the whole year if so wished.

I always loved the winter and would either be inside my house, hidden in my room or outside in the shade if the sun was even slightly out. As I was born and raised in colder climates, Poland and the United Kingdom, I have grown to hate the sun, and any sight of warmth makes me uncomfortable and uneasy. What stood out to me is the hoarding and leadership aspects. Everyone who knows me will say that I prepare for every part of my life through thorough planning, spreadsheets and budgets. When undertaking new projects, I tend to find an aspect that I can make my own and unconsciously take the lead. I have had training in theatre directing, so it has been ingrained into me how to find the steps to progress. This can come out as bossy; however, I can now say that this is, in fact, written in the stars. It seems to be in my nature to prepare and move forward, and I love to take the ones close to me on the journey. If I am to benefit, so are my friends.

“Cardinal Mode: Capricorn is the last of the four cardinal signs of the zodiac, who all hold an elemental energy of initiation and leadership at the beginning of the four seasons. Capricorn season is the beginning of Winter, where the light and energy are at a premium. This definitive seasonal quality is the root of Capricorn’s strong cardinal authority and nature as an archetype.”

In a simple term, the cardinal modes are the first signs of the three-month seasons in the year. As I was born in January, it comes as no surprise that Capricorn is the beginning of Winter and the start of the new year. It’s nice to compare my preparedness and authority to times where seasons would pay a huge part in daily life, such as the symbolling of the end of the year and new beginnings. Sometimes, we all need that little push at the start of the year to begin well. I always set new year’s resolutions and find myself motivating those around me to start well. I guess I would be doing the same thousands of years ago when the spring preparations would occur, and the farmers would begin growing crops.

“Element: Capricorn’s element is earth, the heaviest and most solid element, thought by ancient astrologers to be the densest form of matter. Earth represents the very structure that all of nature is built with, and upon, and without it, nothing could take a material form. Capricorn’s affinity for leadership, administration, and welding material power are all akin to the structure and tangibility of the earth element.”

I have been excited to see my element. I always loved Pokémon and the Last Airbender, so to be assigned an element sparks up some deep childhood excitements. I accept my earth element fully and all the traits that come with it. While I continue to reflect on the information, a strange feeling floods over me as I begin to feel more grounded and at one with my surroundings. I am beginning to see why so many people turn to this type of information. It provides the reader with a phenomenological experience and, in my entirely personal opinion, provides a façade of what the body and mind are feeling and are meant to react to at specific periods. For example, feeling happier in the summer and more conservative in the winter due to the amount of sun present. As the information is motivating and supportive, it can fuel the reader with a much-needed self-esteem and motivation boost. It is easier to be present in your environment, knowing this type of information, as it alters your perception of reality through carefully constructed wording. I am impressed.

Personality

My personality is something that has developed over time as I grew and matured. I will be focusing on the traits that I feel I have been nurturing since childhood, as I remember being a little different from the other children. To provide some background, I was the first foreign student at my primary school (elementary school for you American readers). I had to adapt to a translating role as my attendance brought in every other foreign-speaking child in the area to attend my school. As I identified as neither Polish nor English, as I never really fit into either culture, I have been living in an identity-less limbo that allowed me to develop my version of who I am. Not a set nationality, not a set social-class, no boxes. Let’s see if my Zodiac had anything to do with this.

“Alive in both a Capricorn woman or Capricorn man, those born with the Sea-Goat as their rising, sun, or moon sign have a discipline, masterful, and determined energy in the core of their personality; an echo of the resilience and resourcefulness needed to survive the cold season of their birth.”

A very encouraging strength. As I come from a family that has achieved so much from so little, I have witnessed the transition from poverty to stability. I tend to be ready for whatever life throws on me. I remember the days of struggle and are not scared of facing them once more.

“As a cardinal sign, Capricorn holds the qualities of being an achiever, a builder, and a climber, able to set and conquer the loftiest goals one step at a time. Those born with the sign of the Sea-Goat prominent in their charts are great at being determined, consistent, and reliable. They often over-deliver on their promises and take their honour and public reputation very seriously.”

It is crazy to count the number of personal goals I set myself, and even crazier at how many times others try to bring me down to earth and tell me to be ‘realistic’. I thank them for their care when doing so, as at times, I do find myself drifting from my path, yet these goals allow me to undergo trial and error. I believe that there are no better times to learn than from failure. If you are not scared to be wrong and analyse what went wrong and learn from it, you will never truly fail.

Strengths

Let’s now see what the Capricorn has at its arsenal to fend the troubles of the world. I will think back at the times where I struggled and fought on. What did I do during these times of hardship, and how did this compare to others around me? Does being a Capricorn present me with certain qualities that are beneficial in life?

“The primary Capricorn strengths can be found in their perseverance, longevity, and focused self-mastery. Coolheaded and down to earth, they have strong powers of discernment. They are often good Saturnian judges of character and can be approached for pragmatic advice and a fair verdict.”

I have to agree with the statement given. For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to become a university lecturer for the sole reason of supporting others, providing advice and sharing knowledge. I see it as the answer to life's meaning, but that is a topic for another post in the future. I see my craft as my life's goal and passion and will do everything to master what I aim to achieve. A very accurate comparison so far. I wonder if this information is structured for the reader to quickly adapt these traits, as they are extremely rewarding and desired by many? Let’s continue reading.

“The Sea-Goat does not shy away from commitment, but rather requires it of their friends, business partners, and lovers before they can fully trust. As a result, your Sea-Goat friend may be one of your most loyal allies, unless of course, you cross them in a business deal.”

It is true that I only trust a couple of people, and the ones that I do, I trust with everything I have. Being sceptical is something I have had to push through all my life, as it has kept me safe yet can be a toxic habit when meeting new people. And yes, I do get competitive with my close friends; however, I make sure that they succeed as much as I do, as I said before. I just like it to motivate me as a friendly rivalry.

"Capricorns may not be seeking fame or glamour in the obvious sense yet are known for their enduring beauty and classic elegance. Those born under the Sea-Goat are old souls who traditionally are understood to age in reverse. They usually begin life with the weight of the world on their shoulders that they gradually learn to let go of over the years. Humour is one of Capricorn’s most underrated strengths, which is an important source of their resiliency."

Some very flattering words for the Capricorns here. Yes, I do like to dress well, and yes, I do feel a lot of pressure throughout the day. I come from a very competitive environment with my sister. Since day one, there has been a secret battle of the siblings that will never end as we pursued different fields. It is interesting to hear that, according to my Zodiac, I will learn to enjoy life and live a little without the weight on my shoulders. I feel it now, so knowing that someday I will grow to let go is very comforting. Once again, clever writing, I feel great.

"Capricorn has an instinct for surveying the peaks and valleys of life’s opportunities and tracks an efficient course to the top of whatever profession they pursue. While others may peak early, or flash in and out of the public eye with gimmicks and hot takes, Capricorn will stay the course and out lap their contemporaries by building a legacy."

If you could see the sheer number of spreadsheets, budgets and tracking systems, you'd be headbutting the wall. It is insane seeing how much of my life I track. My spreadsheets include every aspect of money, investing, progress on vocal and other sales, dietary needs, personal work schedules, sleeping patterns; it’s crazy. I enjoy seeing the process in front of me and understanding what is happening to motivate me and take action if needed. I always have to be one step ahead of the game. Also, I like numbers and profit. Who doesn’t like a good bar chart!

"They often achieve fame and accolades later in life, coming into their own after years of dedication. Once they age, they become our wise Saturnian elders, with a twinkle in their eye."

Oooo, becoming a Saturnian elder does sound interesting. I guess this goes hand in hand with my goal of becoming a university lecturer in the future. I am nowhere near being a wise elder, as I am barely a functioning adult, but someday who knows. If it is to be, I would not complain.

Weaknesses

After the huge number of compliments in the strengths section, I am excited about how the weaknesses will affect me as both a Capricorn and a reader. I expect that the wording will remain comforting and structured to not sound like an attack.

"Some potential weaknesses in the Capricorn archetype are rooted in their great strengths. Though diligent and determined, they can succumb to being myopically focused on their goals, becoming stubborn and relentless. They may hold everyone else to the strong work ethic that drives them, not understanding that others have different rhythms, values, and needs."

The weakness is still surrounded by a compliment, so our mood does not alter much. I still feel positive after hearing this. I do have to agree, as stubbornness is a significant weakness of mine. Even if the process I am presented with is more straightforward and makes much more sense to pursue, I like to work in a familiar method. However, when I let myself explore and let go, I learn extremely quickly and adapt current practices to a better process.

"The Sea-Goat is known for its discerning and judicial nature, yet this can easily slip into being judgmental, and unforgiving of other’s mistakes, or life choices. Though Capricorn does have a mystical and intuitive side, they can also be traditionalists and may have a conservative streak that does not allow for flexibility in how they or others live their lives."

I would not say that I am a controlling person, but I will say that there are certain lifestyles that I know I will not be compatible with. I forgive others very quickly, so I disagree with this section, but I can come off as quite judgemental, especially within the art world. Unfortunately, I have the eyes of a critic.

"The Sea-Goat is no doubt honourable and committed when in balance with themselves and their needs, however, if they are feeling insecure, they can default to a radical self-reliance that cuts people out of their lives if they fall short of what they promise. This may be an important self-care instinct that can protect the surprisingly sensitive Goat from being used, however, if this is done reactively too often, they may end up isolating themselves."

I wonder if this is why I have a small group of close friends instead of a multitude of people I know. I do prefer quality over quantity when it comes to popularity. I know people that are obsessive over their image online, which slowly beats them down over time. I do not judge my relationship with people depending on their work attitude or ethic. I will admit that I am excellent at not being used by others and tend to be a little secretive. However, if you are in my close circle, I become an open book with my life on my sleeves. I like to release myself when I am comfortable with people.

"Capricorn needs to let their walls down and allow themselves to be interdependent with others. These folks are known for their resourcefulness and business acumen, but if money becomes too important, they can become overly ambitious, materialistic, and even miserly."

One of my recent New Year’s resolutions is to open myself up emotionally to others, especially those close to me. I know that I am quite a strong-headed person, so being emotional is something new to me. I also have seen a significant increase in interest regarding investing, saving and frugality. Maybe the Capricorn in me is just blossoming? As I continue to become more open, I hope that I will stray away from becoming entirely materialistic or miserly.

The Tarot Card

I will be frank and say that I have absolutely no experience with Tarot Cards, and I was not originally planning to mention them in the blog. Once I read the section, however, I found that, entirely by coincidence, the symbol supports the subject and the story at Teide, as the Capricorn Tarot Card is the devil...

“The Tarot card that correlates to Capricorn is number 15: The Devil. This symbolism has its roots in Capricorn’s esoteric past, where goats were used as ritual sacrifices to atone for human sins before the gods.”

Some interesting information. I still am not quite aware of what the relationship is between Tarot Cards and the Zodiac. It seems that there are symbolic connections between some kind of past ritual. In the case of the Capricorn, it is the sacrificial goat. In my case, was I a sacrifice to Teide?

“As the goat’s magical association became misunderstood over the years, Capricorn became associated with darkness and evil, but unfairly so. The more nuanced connection the goat has to our shadow or dark side is found in our human tendency to fall into vices, indulgences, and materialism, where we lose our freedom and become spiritually enslaved.”

I often am misunderstood as a dark character when, in fact, most of what I say is humour. Due to my openness and honesty, I can seem quite brutal and direct. In the end, I am just a misunderstood sea-goat. I also enjoy that the site provides some historical connections to my sign. It adds extra layers to the history of who I am.

“The Devil card appears to remind us of this tendency, so that we may check in on what we have become attached to in an imbalanced way. This card draws awareness to what is in our shadow that is controlling our habits and perceptions. Sometimes we think we have this under control, but we need to be honest, courageous, and dig deeper to heal what has been neglected.”

I connect with this statement a lot. There are a handful of habits that I absolutely know I need to stop and start. Sometimes, it’s good to admit that things are not going okay and begin to fix the situation rather than dwell on it and never move on. How strange that the site is making me reflect so profoundly on myself? A very refreshing exercise, nonetheless.

Now that I understand more about what it means to be a Capricorn, I now want to share my experience of stargazing on top of Teide and why my research into my Zodiac sparked my interest in writing this blog.

My Experience of Teide

It was December 2019. My partner and I joined her parents on a Christmas getaway to the Canary Islands. I was quite excited as I have never been to any part of Spain before, especially not the Canaries. While we began our travel, I got informed of the holiday's to-do list, and one was a whole day’s trip to the top of Teide to experience the clear night sky and the sea of stars. I cannot express how excited I was.

We rode up the mountain and experienced the sun falling behind us throughout the day. Accompanied with some champagne and a superb three-course meal, the night was destined to be perfect. As the darkness began to fall, we came close to our destination. Everyone was given a blanket as they left the bus and were asked to follow our guide to start a small talk about the night sky. We all huddled together for warmth like penguins and listened.

As the guide began to talk, he showed us a small black device before shooting it up towards the skies. A laser, and what power! The red light pierced the skies with the beam as the rays sliced the air like a bloodied sword. The laser’s ray was mighty. The guide continued to say that you need a licence to use a laser this powerful in the sky and are only allowed to do it in a specific location, at a set time, for a set amount of time. This is not to disturb the telescopes with light pollution as they aim to uncover the secrets of our universe.

Stars visible from the peak of Teide

We were shown some visible winter constellations. Taurus, Gemini and Orion greeted us amongst the thousands of stars in the sky. I have never felt so small in my life. To think that we are on a planet that is the same spec in the sky as all that I can see placed me in a perplex state of meditation. I seemed to have stopped thinking and let the guide take me on this journey through the stars.

I remember that night so well. The quietness of the mountain, the smell of warm rock and the magical night sky hold a special place in my memories. I wish to share this story with you for a couple of reasons. No matter what your view is on astrology, I want you to know that I never felt more connected to the universe, or the idea of the universe, in my life. I always catch myself thinking that I do not look up to the skies enough, which proved me right all that time. It felt like an out of body experience.

When on the topic of astrology, and after understanding what Capricorn truly means to me, as it seems there are strangely quite a lot of similarities between the Capricorn identity and myself, I must imagine the possibility that I was meant to be there for a plethora of reasons. For a sea-goat to visit Teide, a mountain that shadows the water, pierces the air, and controls a burning fire underneath, it must heighten the earth elemental energy. To be with people I trust in such a fantastic place made me feel very comfortable, and the source of information coming from the guide mimicked a soft lullaby. As if I could feel the cries of Guayota, the devil, from deep in the mountain, trying to communicate with the Capricorns that visit, as our Tarot Card supports. Could the mountain cleanse the Capricorns of their dark energy as they did the world of the darkness Guayota introduced or was I just another sacrifice to fuel his power? Whatever it was, a small part of me remains on the island, amidst the Atlantic sea.

When the Sea-Goat climbed Teide

On Tenerife Island, a sea-goat climbed the mountain. Dragging his fin through the rocks, he pushed on, determined to make it to the top. Alone, he fell exhausted. Together, he navigated through the pain. Tempted by Guayota, giving up felt like the only option left. Bleeding and exhausted, his hooves stopped, but his heart kept going. The twins chased the bull ahead as he moved closer. Day by day, the sea-goats hooves moved forward.

Months passed as the sea-goat continued to drag his fin across the mountain. There was no more exhaustion left, no pain to feel in his bleeding fin. Just as the sea-goat was ready to throw himself into Guayota’s lair, he wished to see the world one last time.

His eyes opened; his hooves stopped. To his shock, he found himself way above the mountain's peak. Teide, the vast blanket that hugged the Atlantic, was now nothing more but a spec in the distance, no bigger than a walnut. Suddenly, a ray of light shone down from above, covering the sea-goat completely. Achamán has heard the cries of the sea-goat, and for his dedication and resilience to Guayota’s calls, his body became celestial, and his spirit forever a part of the shimmer of the night sky.

It is believed that every winter, other sea-goats come and try to scale the mountain, only to be disrupted by the celestial. They are reminded to go back to the coast and live their lives happy. The celestial sea-goat sacrifices itself for their sake to be free, forever remind them not to overwork, and open up to the ones they love.

However, every once in a while, a sea-goat will try to climb the mountain once more. The celestial sea-goat has pledged his being to teach its kind of the secrets of life and remind them that there is more than just the top of the mountain.

Sometimes, the sea serves the sea-goat just fine.

- David Wici

astronomy
2

About the Creator

People! Just say Something!

Quirky Writing created by Artistic Creativity and the power of AI with the goal of learning something new every day!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.