Futurism logo

What Even Is a Scorpio?

By Hope Hausman

By Hope HausmanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
What Even Is a Scorpio?
Photo by Fredrick Filix on Unsplash

As a young woman surrounded by more young college woman, I am more than familiar with zodiac signs. The amount of times I have walked into a party and have been asked what my zodiac sign was in order for the other person to decide if we're compatable even in friendship is astronomical. The zodiac influence is growing, and the craze over it is everywhere.

Being born at the end of October, I am a proud Scorpio. Do you need me to shout it from the roof tops, because honey do not tempt me. Zodiac signs go so in depth and too much for a "simple" break down of the Scorpio sign, if there is such a thing. Let's start off by handing you what a textbook Scorpio is meant to be like.

Normally how I have heard Scorpios described by the general public is a) intense, as in they are passionate and determined due to their all-or-nothing attitude, and sometimes that determination or focus can come off harsher than is may seem, or even as impulsive, b) Scorpios are mysterious, secretive beings and are the sign most associate with sex, and c) they are extremeley deep creatures, meaning they want to know everything about you, but may not share everything about themselves. They crave deep conversations and connections in friendships and in relationships with significant others.

Their intensity causes them to be confused with a fire sign, but they are in fact a water sign which just means they are easily manipulated by their surroundings. Water signs derive their strength from the psychic and emotional realm, causing them to be super clairvoyant and intuitive--so Scorpios are extremely aware of what is happening around them and introspectively aware as well. Scorpios are also known for their undying loyalty to ones they hold close, and their honesty, which may or may not be be such a positive trait depending how they deliver it as a Scorpio is also known to have a very blunt tongue.

Of course there are the more negative sides of Scorpios. They are known for their jealous side, their stubborness, and their mildly controlling manner. Scorpios determination may cause some anxiety and can spark jealousy. They have a hard time not comparing the achievements of others to their own, and believing that they are somehow in competition. However, their stubborness is a trait that can be either positive or negative. It is good to know when to stand ones ground, but this also means that they are slow to change their ways and have a hard time arriving at a compromise. As for their controling manner, this does not extend so much towards a relationship. The passion of a Scorpio causes them to believe they know best, or that their moral compass is more correct than others. However, because they are so introspective and empathetic, it can be easier for a Scorpio to recognize and resolve toxic behavior.

I have read several articles, watched several videos and even messaged some friends who knew more about astrological signs than me, and all have come to the conclusion that they couldn't quite give me a solid definition of a Scorpio. A Scorpio is meant to be one of the most complicated of the signs, but also one of the most maluable.

What do I mean by maluable?

They're adaptive. Their determination causes them to attain their goals at whatever costs is deemed necessary to them, whether that may be career, friendships, or relationship oriented. They are just some determined beings.

A Scorpio sits on the verge of two months, which I interpret as they are two different souls within one; a yin and yang. There is light and there is dark to them, and because of this they can sympathize with either side and it allows them to be introspective and mediate situations if need be.

I have been coming back and forth to my laptop for days trying to type out how the Scorpio defines me, or if it defines me for that matter. Every paragraph I have written has sounded monotone, serious, and not something I feel someone wants to read. I have given you the texbook version of who a Scoprio is, and to be brief, I find a near perfect reflection of myself.

And I am quite a complex person.

I think the complexity if the Scorpio comes from their ability to see grey in a world where most see black and white. Sometimes I may shy away from a situation because I know that neither side if necessarily right and I rather be on the outskirts and take no side than be burnt by both--or one of them for that matter.

Sometimes I may come off as intimidating because I am quite and I tend to survery the room and people in new situations in fear of being out of control. I could sit here and write paragraphs upon paragraphs of my similarities to being a Scoprio, but what I want to know is if any of my other fellow Scoprios feel the same? Are you blinded by your passion so much so that you will do anything to attain it, even if it means you mean burnt? At the same time, are you sensitive and craving reassurance from those you hold close, but saying nothing?

Is a Scorpio the emo teenager of the astrological signs?

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Hope Hausman

I am someone who loves to write and who sees everything as a movie waiting to be written inside her head! Unfortunately, I'm also a writer with little confidence in myself. Hopefully, this helps!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.