Futurism logo

Vitiate

\]

By Scott IglehartPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I have always lived for adventure. I could not enjoy myself without being engaged in culture, travel, sports, music, sex, gambling, drugs, and most of all, movies. My existential happiness was reliant upon the diversions.

Some years ago, during that time in my life when my only child was quite independent and my ties to my hometown of 37 years were virtually nonexistent, I chose to live and work in China. I moved onto a high school campus and began teaching the local students mathematics. Being that adventurous type, I took full advantage of the situation to experience the wonders of an "old world" that was quite new to me.

I ate foods that previously were never considered appetizing by me. Architecture, landscapes, rituals, language, religion, education, transportation: all of this brought wonder and amazement each time I ventured out of the encapsulated campus. With my adventurous disposition in tow, I began, as is my wont when abroad, to go to the heart of the matter. I avoid tourist traps and fanciful bling. I want to experience the commonplace lifestyle; or at least witness it firsthand.

During each sojourn I began to encounter a world of all show and no substance. I was able to scrape away the facade and reach the inner core of the gutted society that was fashioned by the Chinese Government. I could sense the impending doom that was soon to be foisted upon the planet, even though there was a veil of deception. I decided to return to my "home": 7614 miles away.

Several months after my return, I began warning my family, friends, and eventually the community about what I believed was to come: a viral attack on our lives. Stemming from what I could discern in the wet marks of my Chinese jaunts, I predicted the 2020 pandemic. Most of my life, inspired by my "Poppy", I was a joker. I loved to entertain. No one took me with any modicum of solemnity. What could I do?

Well, my adventurous spirit would not leave me. Yet, I was compelled to lock myself in my domicile. I truly knew the world was going to be very different by 2023. I wanted to live through this. Another great adventure. Me in a post-apocalyptic environment! I mentioned, that most of all, movies were my greatest diversion. An adventurous spirit can live vicariously when the circumstances mandate such an existence. However, if I could find a way to be one of the few survivors, I will soon be able to live my 1984, Brave New World, Fahrenheit 451, Anthem, Hunger Games all in real time and in REALITY.

I set about setting up my townhome to the point where all my activities could be handled from that inexpensive, yet modern laptop. It had a sticker saying made in China. Now, for me, since I purchased it directly from the Suzhou factory know for supplying over 78% of the world's laptop computers, that sticker could have said, "Made...just around the corner"! So, my vocation, my engagement with music, sports, sex, gambling, movies, culture, and even travel (I got a virtual reality software pack that let you visit absolutely anywhere Google Earth has taken pictures of) was all done through cyberspace. I was still fully engaged with my adventurous side. Yet, I felt protected and safe. My Suzhou laptop was my savior.

As I watched the population decline, the vegetation wither, and the landscape erode, I saw wildlife change its disposition. Birds of prey became aggressive to the point of insufferable violence. House cats were likened to crazed zombies. Rats became armies of agents for nothing more than a reconnaissance mission. All this was thrilling, as the horror of human death created a stench that pervaded the foul air.

I could feel that the time was nearing for my venture out. I remained completely isolated and stayed healthy as the infectious viral disease wiped out, first the sick and elderly, then...well almost everyone else. I remained isolated and free of infection. I had all the adventure I needed on my best friend, Lerxst, the Laptop for adventure.

While in the planning stages for my foray into this Brave New World (thanks A Huxley), I lost my connection. Of course, cyberspace was a shadow of what it was 19 months ago. Well, Lerxst served his purpose. As he no longer provided any practical use, I dismantled him (Still looking at the inner working of everything).

Curiously, I saw trapped under the motherboard what looked like a golden serpentine creature. What the hell could that be. A small piece of wire left behind? An actual soldering mistake? Well, it turned out to be a 14 inch gold chain. Good luck, I suppose. But what good would it be at this point anyway. So, I worked it gently out from its several years niche from under Lerxst's motherboard. Out came the chain and attached was a heart-shaped locket.

Well, if you paid attention at all, you now know, I must open the locket. I did. Inside was a button. I pressed it immediately, without hesitation. Lerxst began emitting an audible screech that was intolerable. Make it stop! For God's sake, TURN IT OFF!!!

I hit Control + Alt + Delete.

It worked, the Chinese government had definitely taken control of me, altered me, and ultimately within 22 seconds (the only numeral in all of my computer passwords), DELETED ME!!

future
1

About the Creator

Scott Iglehart

Sports, music, movies, and math. That takes up about 95% of my existence.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.