Futurism logo

Virgo, The Critical Mind

The life and times of the perfectionist

By Adonis RichardsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I have a love-hate relationship with the character traits of my star sign. Virgo, the virgin. The Perfectionist. The giver. The mind of a silent internal killer. Over analytic, always seeking praise to avoid the demon in the head everything. Oh, how I love the drive that comes with my sign. But how I loathe the never-ending critiques of everything that doesn't shine the brightest in my eyes.

The Perfectionist

The perfectionist within a Virgo stands out the most. That's because Virgos expect perfection from everything, even themselves. In fact, Virgos expect perfection from themselves the most. I can't tell you how many poems I've written and performed and have shut down in the middle of reading. All because a verb is misplaced or a rhythm is off by one tick. The expectancy for perfection coincides with Virgo's obsession. Imagine wanting to be perfect and obsessing about said perfection. That combination can lead to the most glorious of symphonies, or the most catastrophic of meltdowns. There is no in-between.

However, that's the beauty of Virgos. Our obsessive nature to become perfect often leads to glory more so than the path to our downfall. Our self-critique can be self-destructive yes. But it can also create Beychella Beyonce) or 5 rings (Kobe Bryant). We are naturally drawn to create the perfect performance, add that with an uptight attitude, and you get a recipe for art that explodes particles of fairy dust into the air that when inhaled, takes you onto a wonderful ride of pure enlightenment.

The Kind Warrior

Virgos are also kind warriors that often need praise. This is to rest the sleeping demon inside their heads that critiques their every move. We often seek praise and approval only to mitigate the lingering monster that sucks the brilliance out of us. If it isn't perfect it isn't worth it to us. Thus, we usually don't do it. Therefore, if we aren't being praised for our work, we often won't participate in it. It is an intense internal struggle. I often go through weeks of isolation because of my desire to be perfect. The desire becomes an obsession that forces me into my own mind in a relentless push to craft the most brilliant products possible for people to like and share their admiration for. If not, I get upset, thinking people don't like it. that or people don't appreciate art.

We are caring individuals that often like to feel valued through the things we do for people. It’s not necessarily “look at what we’ve done for people”. It’s more of a, we feel like we contribute when we deliver for someone. When we’re providing or doing for someone. We don’t like praise to shove in people’s faces. We like to feel valued through our work. Lastly, we are control freaks. I love driving, I feel in control the most when I'm behind the wheel. Every game night I love to deal cards or orchestrate the match. I once organized a paint and sip and got frustrated when people weren’t following directions.

Control is imperative in my life as a Virgo because it allows me to not veer off the path of perfection in my mind that I had designed. Control is hard to have, yet for a Virgo, it is something we clasp onto in order to maintain stability and peace within ourselves. We may seem under control but in reality, we are losing it slowly because we truly aren’t. That’s why you’ll usually see a Virgo get uptight and upset when things aren’t going as planned for them.

Virgos are amazing signs that legitimately enjoy people, places, and things. Usually, we have fun, sometimes we try to make the fun-based on what we want. However, most of the time we are just attempting to silence the over-critical mind that craves perfection in every aspect of our lives.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Adonis Richards

An aspiring writer and journalist looking to motivate people through my writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.