Futurism logo

UFlashO

A bizzarre but real story that he would never believe

By Salem RoséPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
UFlashO
Photo by Brian McMahon on Unsplash

“Hey puppy! Whatcha got there for me? Huh bud?” My dog ran up to me excitedly, with something in his mouth. He dropped the item on my lap and stared at me, his long tail wagging vigorously, and saliva dripping down his exposed tongue. My eyes widened when I looked down and realized what was laid out before me. My homework. “No no no no no this can’t be happening! Flash, this took me 3 hours to finish!” I yelled furiously. I got up from my bed and started to pace around my room nervously. I held my homework in my hands, or what’s left of it. I sighed. How am I supposed to turn this in? Just when I got the tiniest idea in my head, Flash took the rest of my homework from me. “No! Bad! Bad dog!” I tried to pry his mouth open but it was too late. He had ingested it before I got the chance to take it back from him. Perfect! Just absolutely perfect! Now I don’t even have proof that I completed the assignment.

The morning after was nerve-wracking. I followed the other students into the classroom with my head hung low. I was too embarrassed to meet my professor’s eyes. He’s going to think I’m slacking off. I’m in college. I’m not in highschool anymore. I’m going to be held responsible for this. I’m sure of it. I made my way to the seat in the far right corner, very back of the classroom. God, I don’t even want to be here right now. Most people would not worry this much, if they were in my shoes. However, I’ve always been like this. This was a big deal for me. “I’m sorry Professor. My dog ate my homework.” I didn’t know whether to look him straight in the eye or keep my head down, but I looked up to see a very irritated scowl on his face. “Ah yes...and the aliens stole your dog too. So, you couldn’t retrieve it in time. That’s what happened right?” His sarcasm bore into me, the way that a drill digs into cement. I too had a knack for sarcasm. “Actually yes it’s true. The aliens…” I proceeded to play along and told him the most bizarre excuse to top the sarcasm.

What had happened was that just after completing my work, I heard strange noises coming from outside. I looked out my window and saw that a UFO had landed on my front porch. A beam of light shined through an opening under the UFO and a belief I’ve had for a long time has finally been validated. Aliens now stood before me, shining green through my bedroom window. Aliens are real. In fear, I hastily ran out of my room, forgetting that my homework was still in my room. So, Flash ran back inside to retrieve it for me, seeing as how I looked so concerned that I left it there. I waited in the living room for my dog to return with my homework, so we could escape together. However, my heart stopped. The sounds were gone. I ran outside and saw that the aliens had captured him. My baby, my Flash, and what I only assumed to be my homework in his mouth. Desperately, I ran towards the aliens to get my dog and homework back. Adrenaline ran through my veins as I sprinted as fast as I could. Unfortunately, their bodies disappeared right in front of me just as I was about to reach out for my Flash’s collar.

“And that is why I don’t have my homework today.” I raised an eyebrow, challenging his previous response. He crossed his arms over his chest and scoffed. “Fine. I’ll give you half of the points because I liked your story.” I mentally cheered in victory as I watched him slowly walk away. I guess today is a lot better than I thought it would be.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Salem Rosé

I love writing ✍️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.