Futurism logo

Twisted Vision Boards

A Tale Of Accidental Fortune Telling

By Ivy BrooksPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
This is my "Twisted Vision Board' from January 1st, 2020

The day was January 1st, 2020. My friend invited me to her annual vision board party and my 5-year-old son and I brought house-shaped cookies to celebrate the home we just bought.

This accomplishment was one of many I manifested from the vision board I made 2 years prior, so I agreed to speak to the group and show them my vision board to inspire them.

I explained how in 2018, I bought a stack of magazines from the local library for 10 cents apiece and made my first vision board traditionally. I sat down on my living room floor, surrounded by supplies, and began cutting images of things I wanted. I then used a glue stick to paste them in sections on the back of a poster that came in a cheap frame from the store.

I hung it above my living room couch and the exact images came to life over the next 2 years.

For example, I wanted to buy a home in a neighborhood I could go on scenic walks through, represented by images of lakes and landscaped bushes, and the word 'LAND', among other things on my board...

I now live in my own home by not one but four lakes in a gorgeous neighborhood I didn't even know existed when I created my board.

Most of the images I'd picked and pasted were intentional. They had assigned meanings. But some I just liked. And those also manifested in surprising ways, like incredible job opportunities and celebrity partnerships (manifested from a “Hollywood Blvd.” street sign, a brand logo that 2 celebrities I worked with were connected to, and another celebrity's face that I worked with during that 2-year period).

I had never worked with celebrities before making this vision board!

I'd done other iterations of the vision board concept in the past (regular visualization, putting a few meaningful photos on a corkboard, even making them virtually in a vision board app), but nothing delivered the magical, uncanny results that the old fashioned vision board did.

Until January 1st, 2020.

After I shared my story and we did a meditation with singing bowls by another guest, we broke away excited to make our boards for 2020.

I knew my son would be a distraction, so I planned to help him create his own board and not do my own, but he took more interest in a toy instead.

With half my mind watching him during this party and not being entirely focused, I ended up making my vision board for 2020 in an entirely new way.

I didn't consciously plan what I was going to “manifest” or the images I'd be looking for. Instead, I just browsed magazines in a dream-like state, cutting out any images that just “spoke to me”. Some of them weren't particularly beautiful, the images didn't “go together”, and none of them were assigned a meaning.

At the time, I didn't know that this board would become my most meaningful one yet.

In fact, for months I'd forgotten about it. I had no reason to look at it often because it wasn't really made with the intention of manifesting anything.

By March 10th, the world was beginning to quarantine in an attempt to “slow the curve” of COVID19 cases and as time went on, more and more theories and opinions diverged.

In one internet group discussion, a bunch of individuals said they pulled tarot cards for insight on the global situation and nearly all of them pulled the 'Tower' card.

I thought, 'That looks familiar... I think there's an image like that on my vision board.'

Yes, yes, 'The Tower' was there! I had cut out a graphic of a building coming out of a lotus.

And a herd of sheep. And a restaurant with no one in it. And an empty office in the middle of a barren desert. And a black man holding a sign that read 'Will work to build a better future for my family'.

All over the board, I saw the world events unfolding.

I also saw images indicating how we'd manage to take care of ourselves during that trying year (for example, a graphic of a pillow and the words 'Sleep is the new luxury' and an ad for Yogi tea's Sweet Tangerine Positive Energy Tea.)

These images were obvious messages. And some were not, but in meditation, I found my answers.

I was blown away. I named the phenomenon 'Twisted Vision Boards' and created a video class on it in December 2020, so people could unlock their own messages with the exercise.

Now my 2021 "Twisted Vision Board" is unfolding and I enjoy coming to it and seeing new messages for me emerge every time I look at it.

future
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Brooks

Ivy Brooks is a marketing and business strategist based in Las Vegas, NV. To balance the practical application of her talents, she also enjoys conducting social experiments and creative writing with a purpose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.