Futurism logo

Train Number 7

The End After The End

By Valentine VampirePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 15 min read
1

It’s been 10 years since the rapture took out the whole planet we used to call earth. Today it stands as a beacon of death and despair. The earth had become overrun by evil, consumed in the silk of Satan himself. Those who were left behind suffered a gruesome death unlike any other imaginable. Unborn children are ripped out of their mother’s womb like pulling silly putty out of a stubborn container. Children cry out for their parents as they await their heads to be cut off. Having their tongues cut out to silence their screaming before perishing. Gangs of ghouls traverse the vast wasteland once known as earth. Feasting on the blood of the innocent left behind. Creating earth as the new kingdom of hell.

Many suspected the rapture for quite some time. Constant war, the poor being crippled with plague, and the rich using their expenses to fund the plagues and war. The end was inevitable. However, some of humanity was able to make it out of the waste.

10 hyper trains were made for just the case that there would be such an event. To explore the great universe for a twin planet to earth for us left to inhabit. It’s been 10 years and 500 light years and yet we have found nothing to come close to our once home. Three of these trains were exclusively set aside for the rich and powerful that once dominated the earth before the rapture. The other 7 were set aside for the lucky citizens to win their spot on the charming “rapture raffle” they tried to make the drawings as fair as they could, but there is no fairness in death. It comes for everyone at some point.

It feels like just yesterday that those aboard the train were injected with Galactica 696. The medicine that makes us able to withstand life in space. It keeps our bodies regulated and increases our oxygen increase. Quite the helpful medication that would have helped a lot of people back on the ground below. The first injection knocked everyone out. On earth’s supple surface one moment, then awoken in the tremendous milky way. The train’s exterior is a Quintessential bullet train. Sleek and classic. The 3 reserved trains’ colors are white and the others sleek black. The trains ride in a pyramid-like formation. Having the 7 trains up front in case of unsuspecting space debris. The elites would be protected. The rest, good luck. The interior of the train is comprised of 3 compartments. The bunks are where we sleep. Each of us shares a room with another member on the train. The more luxury trains get their own rooms. The bunks are pretty standard. Two twin-size beds levitating about 6 feet into the air. With a step stool to assist in reaching your slumber chamber. Under the bunks is a small desk area where you are allowed to study the only three things that seemingly matter up here. Science, maths, and space studies. Each of us is encouraged to become masters of one if not all of these subjects. They are the only textbooks that have been saved from earth. Each room is engraved with one large window. Perfect for philosophical pondering in the great frontier.

The second compartment on the train is the work area. You would think that since the last of humanity is on these trains that our time spent would be something special. Something that everyone can remember being a sentimental and warm place to possibly spend the rest of our lives… you would be wrong. Everyone has an obligation to work. Either it is mechanical working on the trains to ensure that they are running, food preparation in the garden.. Or lab. The more intelligent of the passengers work as doctors but even the best of our doctors get transported to the 3 elites. My job here is the bookkeeper. So space librarian if you will. I make sure all the books are kept in pristine condition so that future generations are able to read our books and hopefully make more progress than we did.

The third compartment is the hearing area. When big announcements are made every passenger on the train is to head to the hearing compartment. Which is a large room detailed with large gothic-like bay windows showcasing all of the galaxies’ inner beauty. Who knew being in the middle of an ever ending space would feel so claustrophobic

I wish I could say life on this train is better than life back on the ground where the literal apocalypse ensues, but I would be lying. I miss so many things from the earth. Music, street tacos, the breeze of the fall wind as it brushes through the trees to kiss my face, I think what I miss the most however is my love… Silas….

You see during our time on earth we grew up together. We would frolic in the spring meadows where the poppies and lavender fields seemed to go on forever and ever. Laughing and dancing until the air gave out from our lungs and we would collapse into the grass and talk for hours and hours. Looked up at the stars and talked about what was out there. Our hopes….our dreams…all of that seem like a distant memory now…. I don’t know if he ever made it out of the earth. When everything went to hell everything happened so quickly. The sky once bright baby blue turned quickly into a bright shade of crimson red. Fiery balls of rock tearing into the earth’s atmosphere. Smothering the people and homes below… all I remember really is being pulled apart from his hands and onto the train. I relive that memory a lot when I stare into the abyss. I’ve written quite a bit of letters to the other trains, hoping that maybe Silas is on one of those other trains and we will be reunited again. Until then. I dream.

I awoke today to the fluorescent light hitting me in my face. The lights come on at 8:00 and don’t shut off until you leave the room to head to work, or the lights off at 10:00.

“Man what I would give for a black-out curtain Right about now.”

I chuckled at Rose. Besides the view of space, She has been the highlight of being on this train. She has become my best friend in all of this. We have been roommates on this train since we first got here. She works as a botanist. She reports to the garden and tends to the various plants that pump oxygen into the train. A very honorable responsibility if I may say so.

“Suppose maybe we can request it on our Christmas list” we both laughed.

We both got dressed in our typical blacks. I get a little bit more room to be comfortable since I’m working with books. I slip on my black jeans and cami top and throw on my wool cardigan. They don’t lie when they say space is cold.

Rose looked at me before departing

“Maybe today will be the day”

She smiled and carried on out of our room

She says this to me every morning before she heads out. She knows how I hope and wait for a letter back from Silas. She awaits to hear from her sister so she understands. I wish I had time to be depressed but I’ve gotten so good at working while it hangs on my shoulder…

I head down to my check-in and check in with the overseers. The overseers are the guards of the train, but they don’t like to call themselves that, but we all know what they are. They make sure we don’t get out of line. People who get out of line are taken and never really seen again. Some say they have put on space mechanic jobs where they work outside until their oxygen depletes and they float into the black. Others wives’ tales say that the bodies are chopped up and put into our food. I don’t know what to believe anymore

I hand in my id card to the overseer who scans it. Which sends some type of message to the Deus to show that I’m doing my part in the collective.

“Wonderful weather we are having” I snarkily say to the overseer

They never respond. They just stare with their all-black masks. Daft punk but less cool.

Pretty standard to-do list for today. Take the used books to the preservatory and have them dry cleaned. Take the new books back behind the glass. Then of course check in and out books to the other passengers. I also deal with the mail. Anything that comes in (which is mostly nothing) goes through me and then I press a really handy button that alerts the person in their room if they have mail.

I turn on my headset and listen to my playlist of trance techno. Lane 8, rufus du sol, deadmau. Some of my favorite artists I wish I could have seen when the earth was still…well earth.

We aren’t supposed to have any outside electronics that aren’t produced and distributed from the train, so I keep this pretty hidden.

“ the future of space exploration”

“ Math to solve the secrets of the universe”

“Studies for a secular society”

I gather my books up and take them to the preservation chamber. I slide my id card for the door, but to no avail…

Again…

Once more…

There it goes. Damn doors. This ship continues to amaze me and its “state of the arc technology”

Right as I set the books into the preservation chamber the intercom comes on and an auto engineered voice interrupts

“ All passengers aboard thantanos need to report to the hearing area at once. Once again, All passengers must report to the hearing area at once.”

Sigh. This is probably another oxygen check. I take my headphones out and place them in the back of my jeans so nobody can make them out. I exit the chamber and make my way to the hearing area. Walking behind a sea of heads all going to the same place. I see Rose and stand next to her.

“ Think they are adding pad thai on the menu?”

“ Mhmm. I miss pad thai. Maybe they are adding the blackout curtains too”

We laughed

“Anything today? From Silas” Rose asked.

“No… not yet anyways. I was about to check the mail slot until this”

Rose looked at me hopefully and held my hand

“Well don’t give up… His letter is probably waiting in the mail slot awaiting your read”

“I sure hope so..”

As the room flooded with all passengers from the train the intercom proceeded

“Please direct your attention and your ears to the following message from Deus”

The room started whispering awaiting the message. Until a deep cynical voice entered. The room looked upward

“Hello, passengers, as I’m sure you all may know I’m Deus the founder of these trains that have become our only method of survival, We have been traversing the great galaxies and nebulas for quite some time now. 10 years since we left the destructive chains that earth was bounding us to. Leaving death and despair for the hope of something yet untouched by man. We seek a better tomorrow with the best of humanity’s foot forward. With all this being said, some changes are to be made. In the coming days, we are on course with a star that is set to go into a supernova. The amount of fuel needed to move off track from that star has not been met. With this being said. Only 3 of our trains will be able to move off track. Our elites. The only way that will be possible is by the generosity of the other 7 trains. Including this one. As we speak our overseers will be retrieving the fuel from all 7 remaining cars and transporting them to the elites. Now I know hearing this sounds as shocking and scary, but you must look at the bigger picture! This death will be painless and quite an amazing sight, and honorable death! You will be ensuring the future for the generations to come! The stepping stones of humanity. What is better? To have perished with the rest of the world with gruesome macabre-like deaths? Or to die knowing your death will have meaning and be in the history books! As of now, this train is on a nonstop course towards the star. We want this to be as smooth and calm as possible. So please do not fight what has already ended. We sure do appreciate your compliance and of course, we thank you for being passengers on thantanos.”

An uproar began as people rushed the overseers in anger grabbing around their throats and rushing them to the ground beating them profusely. Squeezing their necks so hard that their eyes explode inside their helmets

I feel as if I’m looking down at my body. What is happening does not feel real. I look at rose who is blankly staring into the window. Speechless.

“Go check the mail slots,” rose said with fear protruding out her lips.

Disoriented I walk back towards the preservation chamber. The yells and screams grow louder and louder. I look beside me to see a pregnant woman stab herself over and over and over as blood gushes from her stomach and from her mouth. She falls to the ground as her blood leaves a trail on the windows.

“Bloody hell”i exclaim

I push past the sea of crowded people. I myself begin to vomit uncontrollably and find myself falling to my knees. Silas…ill never be able to see him again.. I arrive at the preservation chamber and hold a bag of mail. I sob as I flip through the letters.

Train thantanos

To Sophia

From Silas

My heart stops as I hold the letter in my hand. Starstruck and unable to open it. I kiss the letter about 20 times until gathering enough courage to open it. He is alive. I can’t believe it.

To Sophia, My Love

My darling Sophia, how I’ve longed to hear from you. Reading your letter was like I was hearing each word come out of your sweet lips. I feared that day we were separated would be the last day i would ever hear from you. I’m on train 4 or (Dagon) my Dear.. I’m afraid once this letter gets to you it will already be too late. Deus has said that those of us will perish in order for the elites to continue to survive. I’m afraid it is true. From the time I last saw you, I’ve been trained as a doctor. So they are going to transfer me over to train number 2. I’ve told them that I will not leave the train unless they allow you to come aboard with me. overseers will be at the rear end of the train with a list of people who will be able to come aboard these trains. I’ve ensured your spot with me so as soon as you read this, Go… I’ve dreamt about the day I can caress your soft rosy cheeks with my lips and hold you tightly in the grasp of my arms. To touch your delicate black hair that frames down your face and the figure of your body. To kiss the tender parts of you I’ve missed. To hear your voice again. It sends shivers down my spine just thinking of it. Now please my love, go. I will await your return and I will see you soon. Until our arms embrace once more

Forever yours, Silas”

“Silas, my god you are alive”

I rush to my feet and sprint as fast as I can to the rear end of the train, however, I’m greeted with horror. The overseer’s body was strung up by electrical wire. Each limb stretched to its full capacity. The joints and bones were broken…blood everywhere. The abdomen of the overseer ripped open and guts cascading down onto the floor. Beside him is a list.

Passengers to board train 2

Bobby ruin

Rose Witman

Elizabeth opal

Sophia sapphire.

Deadra Dagon

Samuel helm

It feels like I spent hours looking at that list and the overhears disjointed body. I held the paper as I walk through the crowded mountains of people. Killing each other. Themselves. I feel so desolate.

I arrive back at the hearing chamber to see roses’ body on the ground cold. Wrists slit, and a note written to her sister. I sat beside her body and watched as this runaway train collided with space and time.

For what if I am to be apart from that whom I love the most? To have my heart plucked out of my chest as a raven does to a rotten corpse waiting for decomposition? To be separated by death before our time has nearly reached its finish. For the meadows in which we once roamed in our dreams and reality to die right before our eyes. When I close my eyes and imagine our love, I imagine how tender that which we loved and cherished each other. Roaming each other’s minds much like this blasted train has crossed the linings of the universe. Endless and beautiful, but so incredibly heartwrenching. To crave the warmth and touch of the one to which my heart belongs I wonder if he will remember my love as fondly as I will remember his soft and somber smile as we watched hell fall onto the earth right before our eyes. In these final moments, before I meet my end. I shut my eyes for death’s embrace. I see your sweet face. Oh, my love. I shall see you soon. As the screams increase The bright lavender light takes me in its unmerciful grace

I open my eyes to a familiar bright baby blue sky and the smell of lavender. I turn my head to see Silas laying down with his arms propping himself up. He turns to look at me, caresses my face, and gently smiles.

“Some dream?” he asks

I face the sky and then proceed my gaze back into his beautiful amber eyes.

“Not like this one”

He lays down beside me as we enjoy our little piece of forever.

science fiction
1

About the Creator

Valentine Vampire

A collection of poetry and short stories :3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.