Futurism logo

To Be or Not To Be

Religion is the question.

By Alexis Ybañez-JohnsonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
2

I have to be honest. I don't talk about my religion nearly as much as I should. Ever since I was little, I was raised a Mormon, in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Don't get me wrong, I am still a Mormon, but ever since I was 14, I knew something was missing in my faith.

It was Wicca (paganism). Everything about it appealed to me, appealed to my soul. Wicca is not what most people crack it up to be. We don't all have black cats (mine are calico), we don't kill people as offerings to Satan, and we sure as hell don't waste our time hexing people. (That takes way too much time/energy).

I am of the guild of kitchen witches, or green witches. I dwell in the light. I mean, one of our most famous mottos is "harm none." How can people still be so naive? Anyways, I am what you would call a Miccan (Mormon Wiccan). I have not met another like me. Although there are Christain Wiccans, it's not technically the same.

What's a kitchen witch? I'm glad you asked. We focus mostly on cooking. I like to call it brewing instead of cooking, but I digress. I put most of my time into herbs and spices. I make my own healing techniques and potions. For example: I am currently making my own version of Wiccan holy rose water, which is primarily used in giving blessings or honoring the earth goddesses. I currently do not make them for other people, as I am still learning. But I do have an altar, and no, Satan does not sit atop it.

Who do I worship? Well... that one is a little harder to answer. I have a certain system of beliefs. I believe that God is the one true God, and that he created all of the other gods and goddesses to help us here on Earth through our lives. I believe there are thousands for all purposes of life, and that some may walk and breathe alongside us in disguise, while others watch from above, silently guiding us through our decision making. I believe that Jesus Christ is one of those Gods, kind of like an assistant manager, if you will.

I worship all Gods, but as a Wiccan, no, I have not found my personal guider yet. I will one day, hopefully soon. So as a Miccan, no I do not attend church. I am still afraid of being highly judged. As all of you know, paganism is not accepted in today's society... yet. But when I have the time and energy, I like to practice out in nature. I like to go out in a heavily wooded area, usually near a body of water, and meditate. I believe highly in mother earth, perserving her, and trying to help give back to her as much as I can.

On another note, yes I do own a wand, spell book, broomstick, and a little journal called the Book of Shadows, which means my personal spellbook, as well as a cat, who is my familiar (otherwise known as an animal whom I am connected to spiritually). I, however do not have my own cauldron yet, but as a kitchen witch I hope to have one soon.

The last thing I will leave you with is blessings and good karma from all Gods, and the hope that instead of criticizing, you spend some time researching the things that you find odd or weird. Just try to remember, different does NOT mean wrong.

If you have any questions, don't be afraid to shoot me a message! I go by Spring, or just Alexis is fine.

religion
2

About the Creator

Alexis Ybañez-Johnson

I am a musician, writer, photographer, baker, and plant lover. A fur-mama with three beautiful felines, and I am a dedicated Miccan (wiccan/mormon). Check out my pages either through Facebook or instagram: BeyondImage/@heyitsbeyondimage

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.