Futurism logo

Timelapse of the Future

Journey to the end.

By Boboie LimenPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1

I always wondered what the future would look like. How would the Earth change? How would the stars die? How would the universe end? I decided to find out for myself, by building a time machine. A device that could take me to any point in time, from the past to the future. A device that could show me the ultimate fate of everything.

I set the coordinates to the year 2019, the year I was born. I wanted to start from the beginning of my journey and see how far I could go. I activated the time machine and felt a surge of energy. I saw a flash of light, and then darkness. I opened my eyes and found myself in a familiar place: my hometown, my neighborhood, my house. Everything looked the same as I remembered. I checked the date on my phone. It was March 20, 2019. The day I turned 18.

I smiled and walked around the streets. I saw people, cars, buildings, trees, flowers. I saw life, in all its forms. I felt a sense of nostalgia and gratitude. I realized how lucky I was to be alive and to witness this moment in history. I decided to make the most of it and enjoy the present. I spent the day with my family and friends, celebrating my birthday. I had a wonderful time and felt happy.

I returned to the time machine and set the coordinates to the next destination. I wanted to see the future, and how it would unfold. I decided to travel through time exponentially, doubling my speed every 5 seconds. I activated the time machine and felt a surge of energy. I saw a flash of light, and then darkness. I opened my eyes and found myself in a different place. A new world, a new era. A new future.

I saw the Earth, from space. I saw the continents, the oceans, the clouds. I saw the changes, over time. I saw natural events, human activities, and cosmic phenomena. I saw civilizations' rise and fall, species' evolution and extinction, and stars' birth and death. I saw the beauty and the horror, the wonder and the terror, the order and the chaos. I saw the future, in all its possibilities.

I traveled through time, faster and faster. I saw the years, the centuries, the millennia, the eons. I saw the future, in all its stages. I saw the Anthropocene, the Holocene, the Pleistocene, the Cenozoic, the Mesozoic, the Paleozoic, the Phanerozoic, the Proterozoic, the Archean, the Hadean. I saw the future, in all its epochs.

I traveled through time, until I reached the end. The end of time, the end of everything. I saw the Earth, frozen and barren. I saw the Sun, dim and red. I saw the Milky Way, fading and drifting. I saw the stars, dying and exploding. I saw the galaxies, colliding and merging. I saw the black holes, evaporating and decaying. I saw the atoms, decaying and disintegrating. I saw the photons, stretching and fading. I saw the space, expanding and cooling. I saw the time, slowing and stopping. I saw the future, in all its finality.

I reached the end of time and felt a surge of energy. I saw a flash of light, and then darkness. I closed my eyes and found myself in a familiar place: my hometown, my neighborhood, my house. Everything looked the same as I remembered. I checked the date on my phone. It was March 20, 2019. The day I turned 18.

I smiled and walked around the streets. I saw people, cars, buildings, trees, flowers. I saw life, in all its forms. I felt a sense of awe and humility. I realized how small I was, in the grand scheme of things. I decided to make the most of it, and appreciate the present. I spent the day with my family and friends, celebrating my birthday. I had a wonderful time and felt happy.

I returned to the time machine and set the coordinates to the next destination. I wanted to see the past, and how it began. I decided to travel through time exponentially, halving my speed every 5 seconds. I activated the time machine and felt a surge of energy. I saw a flash of light, and then darkness. I opened my eyes and found myself in a different place. An old world, an old era. An old past.

But that is another story.

futureastronomy
1

About the Creator

Boboie Limen

Discovering and sharing knowledge is my passion as a Filipino citizen. Let me guide you through the vast resources available to us under the sun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS6 months ago

    This is a great work you can join my friends and read what i have just prepared for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.