Futurism logo

They are Leos...

Hear Them Roar through the Eyes of Gemini

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Two Girls (Gemini) with a Very Special Lion

Lions, the kings of the jungle. We love our Leos for their majestic flair and their regal authority. Their presence is always felt in one way or another. There is no denying it. When they come into your life, they impact it in ways you will never forget. Their roar is their way of announcing that impact.

In my life, I first had the Queen of the Jungle, my mother's oldest sister, Aunt Sis. She definitely took no prisoners. She was the boss of the family even though she had older brothers. She had a strength and resolve about her that few seldom have. She was my hero for many reasons. She was a leader and was listened to without question. I think it was because we saw no fear in her. She never doubted herself. She trod her path with purpose and resilience. If she was ever depressed, I never saw it. Her life was far from easy.

She had been born in 1916, and like most Americans from that generation, was raised with little money and expected to help with chores. She had a ninth grade education, but was still the smartest person I've ever met in my life. She had common sense and will power. She was matter of fact, business before pleasures of life. But after the work was done, there was always heartfelt conversations and laughter.

There was comfort in knowing she cared. I was blessed to be mentored by her. For a Gemini, like me, she saw in me the strengths I couldn't see in myself, and encouraged me to believe in them and to pursue my dreams to become the best me possible. She never discounted my visions. I am grateful and miss her everyday of my life.

Queen of the Jungle

Then I had my first born son, my own small Simba with his lessons to learn from me and his lessons to teach to me. He was born one day before my Aunt Sis's birthday. He came three weeks early. In the womb, he rolled around and kicked continuously, even waking me out of deep sleeps. His toddler years were a testimony as to why people have children at a very young age...I was barely nineteen when he was born, but worn out everyday for the first three years of his life. Running, jumping, getting into things, exploring the world, he lived his little life passionately with wild lionlike abandon. It's a good thing that a young Gemini mother was two people in one....it took us both.

He loved me so much and I loved him, too. We still have a wonderful relationship. He's always seen the good in me, so it's made me work harder to be just that. He is loyal to his family and family comes first. His pride is his pride and he protects it. Hard working and outgoing, he never meets a stranger. He is the one that stops to help you on the side of the road if you are stranded. He is a deer hunter, too. He's a Leo, after all. He only hunts to feed his family and has taught his son, nephews, and orphaned young men how to hunt responsibly, too.

He's been an extremely helpful part of my older age. He makes sure his mother is taken care of. As you can tell, I am very proud of the man he is. Again, I have been blessed to have a Leo in my life. Occasionally we spar a bit over who is really the boss, but Leos will always test you on that. And they will respect a Gemini's need for independence.

And there was a Leo husband, a confusing mix of the lion from the Wizard of Oz... in a childlike innocent way and also part bad Uncle Scar from Simba in the Lion King, with his inability to love his family all rolled into one person. One sad and infuriating, but lovable person. He was a good provider, hard worker, and had a great sense of humor when he fed that side of his personality. We had many fun and loving memories. Together, we accomplished great things. But Leos, when fed on the dark side, can be hurtful with those roars and overbearing. No self-respecting Gemini woman will put up with that, and that is where it gets ugly real quick. We still try to be friends because I don't think either of us really want to let go all the way, but it's best and we know that, too.

Simba & Uncle Scar

And lastly, four beautiful and royal grandchildren Leos. Two boy and two girl cubs. Austen and his cousin Jade, born two hours apart on the same day. Both with beautiful blonde locks of hair, so lion of them with their manes. Austen's sister is Cara, a year younger than him with darker hair. And the baby Leo of the bunch is Caleb, Jade's sister. He is our first ginger maned lion.

They are all typical Leos....loving and adventurous, fearless and passionate and loyal. We lost our beautiful Jade two years ago, but she is always with us in our hearts, roaring away. And Cara now has two cubs of her own...you guessed it (one of them is a Gemini and the other a Cancer.) So I have again been blessed with not only grands, but great-grands in our jungle, as well as some of the other zodiac signs, too. Our family always needs our Leos, though!

Austen, Jade, Cara, & Caleb

I hope your family has a Leo or two in it. I can't imagine a life without them!

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.