Futurism logo

The Way of the Cancerians; Flow With the River, Wherever It May Lead You.

"In The Stars" Contest

By TLCP CreationsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4

Have you ever picked up your local newspaper and immediately flipped to the horoscope section? What about researching it online or even looking for a tarot reading that relates to your zodiac sign? If not, that is alright, but I can say with pride that I definitely have! You see, I am a Cancerian, and for me, there has never been anything more exciting than reading or listening to my horoscope and being left thinking, "the writer must be watching my every move because this is mysteriously accurate!" I'm confident that I can't possibly be the only person who is left with that thought after indulging in a horoscope, tarot reading, or even some extensive research about the zodiac sign in general. I find the parallelism between my own personality traits, both negative and positive, and my zodiac sign impressive. Though many people believe that astrology is nothing but pseudoscience and several others consider it a legitimate discipline, I have a very conflicting opinion as a very spiritual Cancerian. All I know for sure is that the likeness lies in nearly every aspect of my life, from lifestyle, values, and beliefs, to relationships with family and friends and even my preferred career path!

Cancerians have many values and beliefs that help get them through their day-to-day activities. They generally value fidelity, trust, stability, and, most importantly, communication. They also work extremely hard to adjust themselves to the preferences of those around them so they can increase the probability of being accepted. Cancerians often seek positive attention from those around them, such as reassurance, appraisal, and recognition. This has a lot to do with their incredibly low self-esteem and self-confidence. They have a challenging time seeing the good things in themselves and frequently need to remember how absolutely amazing they are. Unfortunately, this results in Cancerians often being overly sensitive and way too insecure, and even the smallest of things could mean the world to us. Sadly, these traits often make a Cancerian seem as if they are quite selfish; however, all we are trying to do is feel as if we are good enough to fit in somewhere. They are also very empathetic, causing them to sense the emotions of others who are important to them, even without being told about the feelings of that individual. Because of this, they often do everything they possibly can to manipulate those around them to be happy. Whether it be a simple smile, providing a listening ear, or even trying to make jokes at seemingly inappropriate times to lighten the mood. When it's me, I know this isn't to try and show that it does not matter to me, though that may be how it appears at points, it is actually to try and lighten the rollercoaster of emotions that is travelling through the room. Eventually, the traits of a Cancerian strongly impact my lifestyle, values and beliefs.

Relationships with family and friends can be quite precarious if you are a Cancerian because these water signs are frequently rather challenging to get close to or even understand. They often do not trust easily, fearing the possibility of rejection or being criticized; however, once they trust you, they are quite tenacious. They often cling to those they trust for dear life, but they will treat you as if you are their closest family member. This trait is one of the strongest parallelisms to my own life because I treat most of the really close people in my life like family. For me, there really is no middle ground; either I trust you fully and have decided you are family that I never want to lose, or I decide that there is just something I don't feel comfortable about or trust. I choose to keep you at a safe distance while still being polite if we interact. Also, just like the Cancerian traits, I will do absolutely anything in my power to make sure that the people closest to me are happy. I always strive to ensure everyone I care about knows they can come to me if they need a listening ear, any time of day and regardless of what I may be doing. I also may simply decide to take an interest in things that may not seem fundamental to me, simply because I notice a loved one finds it highly important. Evidently, there are quite a few similarities between the values, beliefs and traits of a Cancerian and my own personality.

A Cancerian has so many options that they may not know what to do when it comes to careers. This is likely due to all the hidden talents just waiting to be showcased to the right audience; however, it becomes complicated for this water sign to follow only one career path. With their incredible spirit of enterprise, combined with their phenomenal creative and imaginative minds, Cancerians thrive for success and acceptance. Unfortunately, they despise being criticized and are also quite fickle, so chances are they will try to find a career that suits the things they are great at so they can avoid any possibility of criticism or rejection. I find that I have already explored so many career paths for myself, and I have found an abundance of ones that have piqued my interest. I have explored being a musician, an artist, a writer, a teacher, a PSW, a vet, a dog walker, and probably many more that I can't remember at the moment. The career that I have most recently decided I am determined to pursue is Animal Care. But not just animal care in general, my dream career is to have a farm with horses so that I can run a horse therapy ranch for individuals with developmental disabilities. This would be the best career for me because I would get the opportunity to care for and raise beautiful horses. I would also have the chance to help people become more sociable and hopefully overcome their own personal barriers. Evidently, there are quite a few similarities between the values, beliefs and traits of a Cancerian and my own personality.

In retrospect, most of the traits of a Cancerian are parallelized to those of my own personality. The likeness isn't just in my lifestyle, values, beliefs, and relationships with family and friends; it also very accurate within my many ideas of career paths over the years. I definitely believe that astrology has some mysterious ways of knowing us, sometimes even better than we know ourselves, but perhaps it is time to reevaluate a lot of the stuff you do.

astronomy
4

About the Creator

TLCP Creations

I am a young aspiring writer who intends to pursue all her dreams. Line by line and page by page, we can get through anything our beautiful minds can imagine if we believe! Welcome to my journey! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.