Futurism logo

The Understanding of Christianity

better understanding

By Kristina SteffyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
The Understanding of Christianity
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I always hear a saying that kind of goes like “You’re a Christian, Aren’t you supposed to be kind.”

That is true but… If someone over steps your beliefs, we must take action! It would be like, if you had a child and someone hurt them really bad, what are you going to do? Stand by and let it go like it never happened? Or face the problem on hand take action?

Everyone seems to picture a “Christian” wrong. Yes, it is true we try our best to be loving and kind and understanding but once someone over steps and try to make that Christian go beyond their beliefs, they must take a stand and say no.

Let me put it this way…

Let’s say you have a friend. Your best friend you could depend on. You have a family you need to take care of. Life seems to be great. But stress over takes you a bit and your friend introduces you to drugs. At first it was just to try no big deal, everything seems to go ok. Then you get heavy on the drug and even heavier. Life starts to take a turn for the worst. Family no long wants to help you and you’re about to give up… But then you decide to get treatment, go to rehab. Your recovery is hard but you focus on it anyways to get your life back in order. Once you’re released from rehab, you began to live your life again. Everything is beginning to go back to the way it was before. A few years pass and you began to get stressed again. That same friend offers you that same drug… What are you going to do? You have two choices... 1. Take the drug, it’s only once it won’t hurt. Or 2. Kindly say no and go on your way trying to overcome the stress yourself.

First off, if you choose number 1, what do you think will happen? Do you think you could seriously only take it that one time? It’s temptation to continue to do over and over. So the cycle will repeat itself.

Or you can choose the second choice. Your friend could be understanding and let you go as you try to overcome your stress. Or your friend won’t be understanding and keep nagging you, to take it.

“Come on man/woman, it will help you relive your stress. It won’t hurt.”

Yes it’s hard, very hard especially if the person keeps nagging you to just do it. Are you going to give in? Or are you going to stand up for yourself and tell the person “NO” and leave? To me the answer is simple. Trust me it is hard to take a stand but stop and think. “Do I really want to go through that again?” You know what it’s like, to go through the whole chaos do you really want to go through it again? Next time you might lose your family for good. Most the time people don’t like to take chances on someone who repeats their “Bad” habits.

It’s very similar to Christianity. Why would a Christian want to do something they know is against their beliefs? The person who is trying their best to make you do what they want, don’t understand why you won’t, even if you explain it to them. Why, because we are simply human. Our minds are different and sometimes it’s complicated to understand other people, or to stubborn.

Sometimes a Christian may do what they know or feel is wrong and get addicted. Then they would have to retrace their steps and get back to where they were before they made that wrong choice.

For example, I don’t like crazy music. I used to listen to it when I was a girl. Some of my family loves the music that I don’t like. I can feel uncomfortable sometimes while I am with them. There are times I will give in to the music and do what I don’t want to do, and I have to take a step back.

Country music and rock music both give you a different felling. Those feelings are spirits believe it or not.

“Gasp, how could I say such a thing?!?!?!”

Well, it’s true… Everything has a spirit to them. I can feel it now, ever since I became to understand the difference in the music. I like to listen to softer music, more involved with God. It’s calming, sooths my heart and soul. That music helps with my day and to be happier, for me. May be different for you, not judging you, this is just how I believe.

I do not think you are awful if you listen to rock or country. I don’t think you’re the devil, as some people believe us Christians think. I would just rather not be around when it’s playing. People say so wear headphones… That does not cover up the feeling I get when you play your music when I am around you with your blasting loud music. Like I said, it does get tempting but I began to feel ashamed as I do listen to the music because that’s not something I want to do. You may think that I am being ridiculous but it goes both ways. You wearing headphones may be better as I play my music loud on the speakers. But yet you probably wouldn’t like that either would you? So it’s best to let it go and go your separate ways.

True Christianity is about love and compassion but when someone over steps there boundaries a Christian will stand up for their beliefs. They will try to go the opposite direction and if you persist, stop and think… Am I going too far? Christians aren’t supposed to love so much that they fall into something they feel is wrong.

Example: Everyone knows it’s wrong to steal, if we get caught we get into trouble. Let’s say you have a friend that talks you into stealing. In your heart you don’t want to but you feel pressured to. So you steal. Deep down you regret it and it’s always on your conscience until you make it right. OR you continue to steal then no longer feel ashamed. You enjoy it more but then you get caught. Now you will always be known as a stealer no one will trust you.

As for a Christian it’s hard for them to forgive themselves. The Lord who is so good and merciful will forgive us if we asked for forgiveness. But it will always be on our conscience reminding us on what we did. Because we are all humans and that’s just how we are. No one is perfect, but everyone has their thing they want to stick with. Christians will stick to their beliefs and stand up for their God, and their belief. Just like anyone else would stand up for something they strongly believe in. So please try to refrain from telling a Christian that you thought they were supposed to be like. They only seem that way because you keep persisting and they are letting you know their answer is staying firm.

I don't say all this to offend anyone. Just in hope for people to understand more. Though there may be some who still won't understand. I only decided to write about this because I had someone say that phrase I mentioned in the beginning, a little different but none the less the same. Most the time I am hard to understand and I can't get to my point. I am better at writing my thoughts, then telling my thoughts. If it’s a touchy subject my emotions get the better of me and I can't talk.

Fact: All people are different. Many have their own beliefs. Some people over step and don't realize that they're going too far and need to just leave it be. When they don’t leave it be then things will be said, that they will regret. Words hurt, and can cause problems in the future. We need to respect one another, even if the other person believes in something you don’t. Cause once we over step someone’s boundaries, no matter who it may be, they will take a stand and tell you what’s what.

Thank you for reading. I hope you may have a better understanding in a Christian’s belief. I also hope it helps us to try and respect each other’s beliefs better. If you enjoyed reading please give my story a heart. If you really enjoyed it you are able to give a tip, there is a tip option. Not required of course, only if you feel led to. My heart will be filled with joy for just a heart but a tip will help encourage me to continue on with writing. Thank you again, may your day be filled with happiness.

religion
2

About the Creator

Kristina Steffy

Writing is my passion. I try to put my all into each and every story. I love to either give advice, make someone laugh, or even a heart felt discussion. I write as if I was talking to you face to face. I hope you enjoy reading my Stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.