Futurism logo

The Ultimate Dreamer

How I Navigate the World as a Pisces

By RJPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
6
The Ultimate Dreamer
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

My father sat in the lobby waiting to welcome our family to the hospital. Afro in full effect, he filled out his choices in the newspaper for the upcoming March Madness tournament.

The family was in unrest. Each side bearing its fangs at the other. A mix of religion, pride, and anger clouding the judgment of everyone.

My mother had me around 8 pm on March 11th, smack dab in the middle of Pisces season. My parents told me all the nurses wanted to hold me. I had a full head of hair and soft pink skin.

My dad always finishes my birth story like this,

"You brought us all together. From that moment on, we realized there was something else more important."

External Relationships

By Matheus Ferrero on Unsplash

Friendship

Once while working at my first job bagging groceries around 15 years old, a man came down my aisle with a full and luxurious handlebar mustache. I couldn't help myself but compliment him, and after he left, my co-worker turned to me, chuckling.

"What zodiac sign are you?"

I flushed with embarrassment but told her, and she nodded her head.

"I knew it. That was such a Pisces thing to say."

I took it as a compliment. I like talking to strangers, learning about their lives. Pisces are naturally friendly and easily related to. I love people, and when I find someone interesting, I dive into them. Often asking the questions, they've never been asked. Learning the things that have never been told.

"As the final sign, Pisces has absorbed every lesson — the joys and the pains, the hopes and the fears — learned by all of the other signs."

-Aliza Kelly Faragher

I want to understand others, and usually, I do. However, I can often feel like no one understands me. This can keep my friendships rather surface level.

Conflict

By Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

True to my Pisces roots, I am very sensitive. I'm sensitive to others' emotions and suffering. I find it hard to pass someone on the street who is struggling and ignore their request for cash. I feel compelled to help.

On the flip side, I am also susceptible to criticism of my actions but especially my character. I believe this trait of mine goes back to being understood. If I feel that the person I have a conflict with can't or won't still see the good in me, I shut down. It's vital to me that those I love understand my heart.

One important distinction, If I do not have a personal relationship with the person giving me criticism, i.e., a boss, I do not engage. If I'm hurt by the criticism or feel it's unfair, I try not to protest and keep adapting to my environment. “Just keep swimming.”

Love

"Kind and gentle, Pisces are invigorated by shared experiences of music and romance."

-Aliza Kelly Faragher

By Marcus Byrne on Unsplash

Pisces are romantic and very compassionate creatures. This is a dynamite combination for being good in a relationship. I can understand my partner and what they expect from me without having to hear it.

"they are capable of coloring every moment."

Pisces engage in deep conversation and adapt to the mood as it changes. I can detect the slightest shift in tone and know when my partner is upset. As the most romantic sign, we have a legacy to uphold.

On the one hand, you have a wonderfully caring, magnetic personality that draw people in close. On the other hand, you come across as standoffish, even reclusive. While both personalities are, in fact, who you are, at any one moment which side you show to the world depends on who you are with and the circumstances you are in.

Rosemary Breen

However, I'm also very reserved. I'm an introvert who needs alone time to replenish my energy. The wrong partner could take this as neglect. Some sources say Pisces have wandering eyes or too high standards but I must have missed that dose when I was born.

Internal

The Ultimate Day Dreamer

By Tachina Lee on Unsplash

I look forward to downtime to sit and think about someone in particular or just about life. During my silent reflection, I'll think about the vastness of the universe or go down rabbit holes trying to find answers. Why are we here? Where did we come from? How can this person perform so well?

I love politics and philosophy, areas of opinion and debate. Creativity and passion fascinate me; they appear so differently from person to person.

We probably have different answers for most life's questions, but I find that the fun is in debating and learning from one another.

Stuck Between Two Worlds

"It's symbolized by two fish swimming in opposite directions, representing the constant division of Pisces's attention between fantasy and reality. "

Aliza Kelly Faragher

By NASA on Unsplash

I like to live within my thoughts and my art with little variation. Talking to people about my art makes me anxious, and existing more as a businesswoman than a creative makes me depressed. I'm constantly pulling my own head of the clouds.

I'm dreamy and idealistic. I imagine a world where things bend for me and allow me to achieve success without silly things like “marketing.” But you have to combine a lot of moving parts to survive as a creative. I can use my brain better by playing by the rules of society. Sometimes though, reality can be heavy and overwhelming. During those times, I want to escape.

Pisces Escapism

By Thom Milkovic on Unsplash

Pisces is ruled by Neptune, the celestial body that governs creativity and dreams, and these ethereal fish adore exploring their boundless imaginations. In its more nefarious form, however, Neptune also oversees illusion and escapism.

Neptunian energy is like the energy of the ocean: magical, mysterious, and often scary. When the fog is thick on the water, the horizon is obstructed and there is no differentiation between the sea and the sky.

Aliza Kelly Faragher

When everything gets to be too much, I find myself wanting to disappear. I believe this to be my most negative trait. During hard times and difficult conversations, I feel my body shutting down. My chest becomes hollow, and my mind moves elsewhere.

As a child, I used the internet to find some sense of escape. Now we see the effects of social media and how it's deteriorating our mental health. So in my adult life, I try to find better outlets. I go on walks and journal out my thoughts. There still are those days when reality just doesn't feel like home, but I can escape into a world I create with words.

Parting Words

By zhengtao tang on Unsplash

There are experts who spend their time making our signs fit the majority of society while somehow not fitting us at all. But I've always thought that my stars ring true to me.

Being a daydreamer with high hopes for the world and myself has always been a fundamental part of my identity. I relate to feeling like an old soul, and I genuinely believe I was put here to create and appreciate art.

In the end, it's up to the individual to take or leave astrology. In this world, we know so little about the universe that anything could be possible. Life is so confusing that I encourage everyone to find guidance and understanding where you can. Me? I'm sticking with my fish origins.

astronomy
6

About the Creator

RJ

Find me on Instagram at @awriterwhodraws

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.