Futurism logo

The Survived

Chapter 5

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I got dressed in clothes that did not make me seem too ridiculous and I stepped out of the apartment with my key in hand. I found pants that were high waist and ballet flats that were black along with a short-sleeve blue blouse that we buttoned up to my neck. I still felt stupid wearing clothes. I went downstairs to find the conference room. The lobby was vast and large, there were hallways that I had not noticed when I first walked in. I found the correct conference room and I opened the door. I was surrounded by mostly men who wore suits and had beards. I recognized the man at the end of the table as the president. His suit was navy blue, he was a tall thin man with a mustache that was milk-white and his ears were pierced through and wore diamond earrings, his hair was pepper colored and it made him look weird because his mustache did not match his hair at all. He looked better on the television at home. That's when I noticed the security guards standing behind him, they were dressed in all black and had dark sunglasses even though they were outside.

"Mr. President," I said and I gave an awkward curtsy.

"Yes, you are the girl we have been waiting for, take a seat beside Clara will you?" he asked me and I approached the president closer and then took a seat beside Clara who was wearing a turquoise suit today. "Now, I am sure you have heard why you were brought here," he started.

"I have not. I still do not know why I am here," I interrupted.

"Oh well then, as you know we decided to split up the precincts into like-minded people, but you are the only one that got to the end of the test, which means you are the one for the job."

"What job?" I asked.

"We need a spokesperson."

"Why's that?" I asked.

"You see, there have been riots arising in the precincts, people are complaining that they are being treated unfairly and we need to tell people that we do not live the glamorous lives that they have heard." I wonder where those rumors came from.

"So you would like me to lie?" I asked him and a few murmurs broke out around me.

He laughed uneasily. "Not lie per se, but just calm people down. We need the riots to stop," he said.

"Okay, well why can't you do that Mr. President?" and a few chairs backed away from the table.

"They are unwilling to believe me, but if you someone of their social standing were to reach out to them you would be able to speak to them..."

"And if they do not listen to me?" I asked.

"Then we always have alternatives..." he said and he picked up a remote control and turned on a screen that showed military forces being trained.

"What if I refuse to help you?" I asked.

"You are a smart girl, I believe you do know the consequences."

"What is in it for me?"

"Excuse me?"

"What do I get out of this? surely, you will be paying me handsomely or something?" I said. I knew I could not turn against my people, but I also did not like the idea of dying or being shot at. I had to keep him talking, so I could figure out a plan.

"Well, you like your apartment right?" he said with his thick eyebrows raised at me.

"I want more," I told him.

"Sign the contract and you will, how is that?" he offered with a toothy grin on his face.

"I need time to think," I said and he nodded with a smile across his face. "You hear that she needs to think?" he said and immediately everyone marched out except for the bodyguards and they stood by the door. I stared at the door and they moved closer. Message received. I paced the room, I had to think of something and something fast. If I rejected this the men in black would shoot me, if I ran out of the window they would shoot me, if I signed it, it meant I was giving up everything...unless. What if I signed it and then when they asked me to speak I would say something completely different...would they shoot me then? it is probably expected. I could get my brother's help, I had no idea if he was going to agree though or get everyone else on his side...I would have to try. I picked up the pen and signed my name in the blue ink. The two men by the door and they nodded at each other and split apart to let me out.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.