Futurism logo

The Survived

Chapter 3

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

I woke up in the morning. I did not recognize the bed I was in until I remember all that happened. I opened the closet and chose an outfit, it did not look like something I would wear, it was a black dress with a white collar, the other clothes to choose from were even worse, they were not practical, other dresses were long and went down to the floor. How was someone supposed to walk in that? I stepped out of my room and the lady that met me yesterday was here again.

"Where is my brother?" I asked her and she looked up at me.

"Good morning, Enise. Like I told you yesterday, he is safe," she responded as she poured herself a cup of tea.

"But where?" I asked her.

"Safe. That is all you need to know at this moment," she said. Clara was now dressed in all silver, her long dress was the same as yesterday, but silver same with her nail polish and her head piece. My stomach turned, we were barley getting any food and here were people wearing gold, silver and eating feasts per day. And where was my brother? safe did not tell me anything. I sat down at the breakfast table and I found my appetite lacking.

"Why are you not eating, my dear?" she asked me as she sat down and grabbed a croissant.

"I don't think I can," I said.

"Suit yourself." and she took a large bite from her croissant.

"Can you tell me, what I am doing here?" I asked.

"I told you-"

"You told me nothing!" I shouted. "Just tell me everything," I exclaimed and Clara just raised her eyebrows at me.

"Sit down and eat and I will tell you everything," she said.

I sat down carefully, and I started to fill my plate with some food and I took a bite of croissant and I watched her.

"First off, you are the only that has made it that far in the test. So, we are taking you to the government precinct because you are worth a lot, we need your brain. We have a problem and we need to fix it, the only way to fix it, is to use you," Clara said as she stuffed a mouthful of pancakes.

"So I am being abducted so you the government can use me?" I asked.

"Correct."

"Is this something to do with dead army men?" I asked her.

"Yes, I cannot disclose all the information here to you because this is not a secure place," she said and she finished her pancakes and got up. "We will be arriving shortly." Then, she left me alone. I finished eating and went to my room. I sat there looking out at the window, I was so far from everyone that I loved. I had no idea where my brother is and what happened to my friends? I also had no idea. The train came to a halt and it looked like we arrived at the government precinct. The station had televisions and times were displayed on them. People dressed differently in the government. Women were allowed to wear pants, men were in suits and looked handsome, most people were dressed in fancy business clothes.

"Enise?" asked an unfamiliar voice. I whipped my head around and there was a man with a mustache.

"Yes?" I asked.

"I am here to take you to your new home, please follow me," he said and he made sure I saw his gun holstered to his belt. I followed him off the train, the air smelled fresh and trees were bursting with green and had pink flowers. How did they get it all? I wondered. I followed him through the station, the building was large and looked like something from a movie.

"Can you believe a building like this survived everything?" said the man in the mustache. I nodded and followed him out to where horse taxis were waiting. I got in and the man followed me. We sat down.

"I'm Ralph by the way," he said and he extended a hand to me, but I just smiled. "Not very talkative are you?" he asked me.

"It's a lot to take in," I replied and the rest of the way it was silent. I watched as people were passing by...did they even know what what happening in the other precincts? Maybe, they did not care, but surely someone might be here that would have caused some sort of noise for the lower precincts. We stopped and got out, Ralph helped me down from the horse taxi and he paid the driver. We came to an apartment building. We stepped inside, the building had red carpet on the floors and the ceiling was high, I could see the elevator going up and down. At the front desk a lady in a grey uniform printed a badge for me.

"This is your key, I hope you like it here," she said with a polite smile. I smiled back, but did not say anything.

I took the badge and we headed up the elevator. I could not remember the last time I was in an elevator. I forgot what a weird feeling it was for the elevator to stop. We got off and Ralph led me down a hallway and stopped when we came to a room with two doors. He gestured for me to use my card and I did. The light turned green and I opened the door. I stepped inside first, there was a living room and a large television, the couch was big enough to fit two people and it had curled arm rests. Right in front of the television was a glass clear coffee table. There were two sets of doors one on the left the other on the right.

"Is this mine?" I asked and Ralph nodded.

"I will come back to deliver the rest of your stuff," he said and I stood there. I had my own house, sure my brother and me shared a house, but it was nothing compared to the pristine cleanliness that I would never see in my precinct. I walked up to the left doors and I opened the doors a large queen sized bed was in the center of the room, it had a gorgeous headboard possibly made from gold thread, the sheets were silk, the pillows were fluffy. The bathroom was better than on the train the shower had a large head that was rectangular. The toilet was painted silver. I now had to find my brother to get him out of whatever precinct he got stuck in. I had to share this with the rest of the world. This is what our government was doing taking resources for themselves so they could live like kings and queens.

I had to find him, I did not know where to start. How would I find him? I was in a place where technology was easy to access and there were no time restrictions on it either. I walked to the opposite side of my bedroom and opened the doors, it led to a room, where a clear desk and a white computer sat.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.