Futurism logo

The Superland Enigma

The main idea of the story is based on the anthropic principle: (1) we live in a cosmologically privileged area of the universe and (2) certain properties/values within the universe enable the development of intelligent life.

By Nicholas PappasPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1

“Wake up.”

“I’m already awake.”

“No, you have not woken up yet.”

I, in fact, had not woken up. Opening my eyes, I saw him.

The Creator of the Multiverse.

Tall and substantial in stature, he wore a priestly tunic with a luxuriously ornamented sash. His facial features were angular and powerfully proportioned, but there was no denying the fact that he was rather old. The gruff, masculine aspects of The Creator however were offset by his good humor and benevolence. He appeared as someone who could explain where I was and why I was there.

“Where am I?” I asked The Creator.

“You’re in Superland,” he responded.

I suppose that he is telling the truth, I thought to myself. But what has happened to the world I previously occupied? In what universe was Superland located? Was I there, or was I here?

“I brought you here,” said The Creator, “because you serve a unique purpose.”

I scrutinized my immediate setting. A pillowy cushiony dense cloud of sorts permeated the heaven-like landscape around me. I was within an unusual atmosphere. Raindrops were floating in the air. Faux gravity and a faux climate. A world without environmental parameters.

How did it come about? Was any of it real? Where would I go and what was I going to do?

I wasn’t sure if I should be here.

“I manufactured Superland as part of a utopian master plan,” The Creator said.

“How is Superland different from what I’ve already experienced?” I said.

“It’s different in that I have altered the underlying principles of the universe.”

I was confused. Any knowledge I possessed of the governing elements of the Cosmos was amateurish and insufficient.

I said, “There are many questions that I must ask you.” I peered at the benevolent old man with an inquisitive expression on my face. “What am I experiencing at this very moment?”

The Creator smiled at me gleefully.

“What you are experiencing,” said The Creator, “is Teleology.”

Teleology...

Teleo-graphic renderings…

Teleo-phenomenal super-simulator…

Teleo-immortal extant reification process…

I was beginning to piece things together. Apparently, I had stumbled upon a vacuum of space where scientific empirical circumstances have no impact on external experience. Yet everything was intact. Everything adhered to each individual and necessary cosmic quantity. Everything was within and without the main sequence of space-time.

Everything, in reality, was the way it was supposed to be.

I said, “This is the universe stripped of its cosmological properties.”

“You are correct,” The Creator responded.

I thought about the implications of a world with a utopian master plan, and I said, “You said that I have a purpose. Could you explain what you meant?”

“Well…” The Creator was hesitant. A sense of dismay washed over him. He was somewhat fretful. “You’re part of a process that involves layers upon layers of static multi-material membranes embedded within a cosmo-mechanical apparatus.”

I did not understand what that meant, and so I asked, “Why was Superland created?”

“It represents an alternative to limitations in phenomena.”

“Be more specific.”

The Creator did not immediately respond. After a moment, he stoically shook his head. His old, withered face grew pitiful and grim. A quiet intensity took over him. He was restrained, but it seemed as though he was also somewhat upset with me.

Commandingly, The Creator said, “I’m going to walk over there”—he pointed in an obscure direction—“and you are going to follow me.”

The Creator began walking and I followed him. The manner in which he traveled was astounding. His forward motions were inverted. He remained in one place and the world moved around him. From what I was witnessing, I surmised that the environment was heedful of his every move, as if proximities and distances were mere secondary phenomena.

We then arrived at a shanty that was ornamented in the most implausible way. The colorful, corrugated exterior had me amazed and terrified. The mystical structure had a rustic charm to it, and yet its earthly properties were visually insignificant. When I arrived at the entrance of the shanty, energies and temperatures were palpable and overwhelming.

Nothing like this could ever exist unless someone altered the space-time dimensions.

Entering the unearthly ramshackle structure, I noticed in the middle of the room a table made of brick and mortar topped with a concrete slab and an orb hovering above it. The orb, about twelve inches in diameter, glowed magnificently. I observed it, and although I was perplexed and perturbed, I was also filled with wonder.

I thought to myself: No one has experienced anything quite as extra-paranormal as this.

I took my eyes off the orb and I analyzed the rest of the room. There were no other fixtures within the shanty. Scant items were strewn across the floor. The utter emptiness of the shanty was not an ordinary emptiness, but rather an ultramundane emptiness. It inspired the eeriest ideas in me.

It felt as if the shanty was my home, but it was a home that I had never set foot in.

Again my eyes were irresistibly drawn to the glowing orb. I could not begin to describe the sublimity it imbued in me. It was beautiful and breathtaking. It was spiritual and holy. It was the offspring and essence of God.

It was a Modulator for the Multiverse.

Solemnly, The Creator approached the orb. His movements were calculated and measured. It appeared as though he was going to perform some sort of ritual that would activate the orb.

The Creator looked back at me. “No mere explanation will suffice in resolving your inquiries,” The Creator said. “However, perhaps a demonstration will supply you with adequate answers.”

The Creator then waved his hands over the glowing orb. The motions of his arms were lithe and sinuous. He spoke in a language that I could not comprehend, but everything he said had an amazingly cogent effect on me. I watched in awe as he delivered those magical and unintelligible utterances.

After a few more unfamiliar and bewildering orations by The Creator, the glowing orb generated a unique visual index of data:

CONDITIONAL OBSERVATION-OUTPUTS ARE NOW CALIBRATING...

Parameter 55 Parameter 87 Parameter 12

Parameter 92 Parameter 41 Parameter 36

The entire universe had suddenly shifted.

The world around me was bright and tropical and atmospherically changeless. I felt a lot different as well—as though I were robust and no longer limited by physiological constraints. I acquired ultrahuman athletic ability and I was much more agile than before. My body and my mind were no longer an extension of each other: they were one in the same thing. I marveled at how rejuvenated I felt.

The world was forever new and it would never decay.

The Creator as well had a changed appearance. He was no longer old and austere, but youthful and urbane. His hair was long and fluffy and voluminous. His eyes twinkled brilliantly. He reminded me of a Mythological archetype for a handsome young man who sacrifices himself in the honor of a beautiful and passionate young woman.

The Creator saw that I was in disbelief at the alterations of the landscape, and in soft, buoyant voice, he said:

“Superland solves every enigma;

“Superland abolishes every subversion;

“Superland embodies every perfection.”

The Creator smiled at me and made a gesture with his hands that was not unlike that of an adolescent demonstrating their excitement. The changes in his demeanor and the way he spoke were so extreme that I erupted with a prolonged, disparaging laugh.

Ha...ha ha ha...ha ha...

But I felt immediate regret for treating him with such humiliation. Right then I felt fearful for the first time since I had entered Superland. What would motivate me to laugh at a man with a deific influence over me? Was it a side effect of passing through the different universes?

Would The Creator condemn me for my ignorant behavior?

Would I lose all my purpose in the Multiverse?

But The Creator had apparently shrugged it off. No amount of derision could anger him. He knew that, of the two of us, I exceeded him in inferiority. He brought me into Superland, and he could very well banish me from it.

But The Creator was quite serious once again, and he said to me, “Have all your questions been answered?”

I took a moment to think it over, and said: “Did we leave Superland?”

He said: “No, but I was able to alter it through cosmic engineering.”

I did not immediately respond. I took a moment to consider my next question—a question that would once again challenge his hopes of reconciling my curiosity: “Do I have a greater purpose now than I did before?”

“The overall value of your purpose within the Multiverse remains unchanged.”

Although The Creator had provided me with reassuring answers, my skepticism was undeterred. For instance, was the universe more “utopic” now than before he altered it? Were there other life-forms that inhabited the Multiverse, and if so, what were they? Was there any scientific basis for a place like Superland?

Was my existence more or less important now than it was before?

“I’m uncertain of my significance in Superland,” I said to The Creator, unable to contain my urge to examine and interpret every peculiarity.

The Creator frowned. “What is it specifically,” he said, “that has you doubtful?”

I considered his question and I responded with a question of my own: “What lies outside of Superland?”

The Creator was silent for a while, but his frustration was all too apparent. “I am confounded,” he said, curtly. “I’ve provided you with the most extraordinary and incontrovertible evidence, and yet you continue to dispute every confirmation of the truth.” He closed his eyes in dismay. “Superland does not reside in a solar system, nor is it based in nature.” He reopened his eyes. “Here there are no radio signals, there are no laser beams, there is no ether in the atmosphere, there are no electromagnetic propulsions, there are no undetectable phenomena.” His eyes glossed over. “In Superland, there are no hierarchies of life.” He closed his eyes again. His voice grew louder. “Superland is not a kingdom. Superland is not a republic. Superland is not a dystopia. Superland is not an infernal abyss.” He reopened his eyes again and looked at me acutely. He paused for a moment before he finally said, “Superland is your home.”

Superland is my home...

What this man has said...is incredible, I thought to myself. It was a most sincere appeal for my trust and acceptance. It was a brave and emphatic attempt at placating my fears. But perhaps most importantly, it was a love letter to Superland.

I felt my anxiety dissipate. Every qualm and every scruple of suspicion were now irrelevant. I was able to abandon those thoughts of skepticism and disbelief.

I understood the Cosmos.

I understood why I was created.

I understood that I was an expression of intelligent design.

I understood my purpose.

But there remained something that bothered me immensely…

“You are The Creator,” I said, “and you possess a great deal of power.”

The Creator nodded.

I continued: “I want you to bestow that power onto me.”

The Creator blinked. It appeared as though he could not wrap his mind around what I had requested of him. His face turned pale. His entire body trembled. I could sense that he was apprehensive. Some sort of nameless emotion was taking effect in him. At that moment he was clumsy and indecisive.

He could have been hiding something.

He could have been regretting something.

Anything could have happened at that moment.

But Anything could be Everything.

The Creator, however, was able to regain his composure, and without saying a word, he retrieved a foreign-looking device from within a hidden pocket in his garments. It was somewhat unwieldy, and it appeared as though one would operate the device via a head-mount comprised of a complicated wiring system and the tiniest of mechanical components.

“This is a meta-cognitive adaptor,” The Creator said. “What I experience, you will experience.”

He handed me the adaptor and I carefully assembled it. On the left side of the adaptor there was a toggle switch, and printed underneath it were the words “Selection Mechanism.” I activated the adaptor via the toggle switch, and within an instant—

An ensemble of every conceivable universe appeared before me.

Then, the adaptor generated visual representations of various elaborations of micro- and macro-scale processes on a bright and translucent screen. A wealth of information and unfathomable insights into the physical and ontological aspects of the Multiverse were implanted in my mind. The meta-cognitive adaptor was fertilizing my intellect with everlasting Knowledge.

And then I had become The Creator.

Every universe was made up of small, indiscriminate membranes.

Every universe was comprised of dynamic, galvanizing enzymes.

Every universe was manifested with interacting energies.

Human Beings have brought the world into existence.

Human Beings have control over the Cosmos.

Human Beings have a theory for everything.

God has given us all a purpose.

And through God, we found Superland.

science fiction
1

About the Creator

Nicholas Pappas

I began writing several years ago to escape from reality and tell stories that I thought were interesting and original. I hail from northern Indiana, but I currently reside in Indianapolis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.