Futurism logo

The Summer Solstice

My life as a Cancer/Gemini cusp

By Katie ShayPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
The Summer Solstice
Photo by Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

There's something particularly magical about the Summer Solstice. It is the day where the sun shines the longest, the seeds of the Spring Equinox begin to bloom, and the warmth of Summer has finally arrived. It also happens to be the day that I was born.

June 21st, 1990.

That was the day that my little ray of light made it's way out of the womb, and into the world. Oh happy day!

I have always felt very connected to my astrology. I grew up in a small town where a short drive up the mountainside provided the most astonishing view of the stars. My friend Jillian and I would spend countless nights laying on the hood of my Jeep, staring up into the abyss, wondering where we actually came from. It made sense to me, even at a younger age, that we were made of stars...or were at least created by some force larger than life.

Somewhere along my adolescence, I lost connection with that feeling. I became numb to my own power and mysticism. I forgot who I was. I was caught up in the Matrix, and I didn't even know it. What I did know, however, was that something in my life was missing. A certain, spark.

A few months before my 24th birthday, I woke up. I had a near death experience that left me paralyzed for several weeks, and at the time I wasn't sure if I was going to make it.

So, I had to do something I hadn't done in years.

I had to pray.

I had to acknowledge that something, some force bigger than me, was in control. It was out there, listening to my plea for more time.

It wasn't until I regained sensation in my hands that I was able to type 'what is spirituality? ' into my search engine.

And so it began.

My deep dive, headfirst, down the rabbit hole of my spiritual awakening.

Now, at 30 years old, I can truly attest to the realness of the Cosmos.

By Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Have you ever heard of the Star People? It is said that these beings are on planet Earth to ascend to higher levels of consciousness. They are in fact ascended masters, who go through a sort of amnesia upon birth where they experience a complete loss of identity. They forget who they truly are, beyond the physical human form. Shaped by society, they often must endure the most treacherous experiences in order to reach deep within to find the inner light that had been lost. I refer to this process as the awakened death and rebirth. This is the path to ascension, and I believe we are all Star People who have simply just forgotten.

Now, in order to to break down what I find to be the most important aspects of our intergalactic makeup, we have to take a look at three categories: Star Signs, Life Path, and Human Design.

Image from https://i.thehoroscope.co

Star Signs

In astrology, the Summer Solstice is on the cusp of Gemini and Cancer. I was born exactly 13 minutes into Cancer, which is almost as close as it gets to being right smack dab in the middle.

Half crab, half twins.

This combination makes for a pretty stellar human being, if I do say so myself. I have adopted the best of both worlds. I am intelligent and intuitive, spontaneous yet dependable, and outgoing yet nurturing. Sun signs represent identity, and the essence that we share with the world. It is our individuality, and can be seen at as “I am."

For example, "I am love."

There are specific traits to a Cancer-Gemini cusp that deeply resonate for me. One of those traits is the emphasis placed on love, and how love gives us a reason to live.

Unconditional love is my self-mastery. It is blessing your best friend and your ex-boyfriend, because you know they have chemistry. It is forgiving your parents for not showing up how you needed them to. Unconditional love is self-love, and through that love, the ability to love others without expectation or conditions. I am able to love openly and whole heartedly with compassion, understanding, forgiveness, and honor. I believe my astrology has something to do with this. I am often told that I have a very healing energy from those around me, and I do feel that the combination of my intuition and my nurturance has helped many people.

Image from https://www.thegorettigroup.org

There are many aspects of a natal chart aside from the sun sign, two of which include moon and rising signs. I will briefly touch on both.

Your moon sign can be seen as the soul behind the identity. It is your emotions, and how your emotions influence your perceptions and behaviors. It is also the house that rules creativity and authentic self-expression. My moon is in Gemini, so I thrive best when I communicate my inner world to the people around me. When I keep my feelings bottled up, I create resistance in my life, and I don't feel as fulfilled as when I am am speaking my truth fully.

Your rising sign is the opposite of your moon sign in that it is how others perceive you, rather than who you truly are at your core. This perception is a combination of your inner and outer world but displays itself through your physical body and style. My rising sign is Sagittarius, so people perceive me as confident, action-oriented, and often blunt. Whether I feel confident or not, most people assume that I am. My motto with self-confidence: fake it till you make it.

Life Path

Another aspect of cosmic influence is Numerology. Numerology is used to determine your life path based on your astrology and your birth name. My life path number is 1, which is the most independent, visionary, leadership oriented life path, and emphasizes believing in oneself. It is very forward thinking, often associated with paving new pathways into the unknown. My life path resonates with me very deeply, because the mission I have been given in this life is to create something very magical. Something that has never been done before. I am here to pioneer a new form of media and entertainment; an intergalactic festival-inspired reality TV show.

(But that’s a topic for another day ; )

Human Design

What I find to be even more interesting than my astrological makeup is my Human Design. Based on our astrology, each of us fits into one of five categories: Manifestor, Generator, Manifest-Generator, Projector, or Reflector. My human design is Manifestor, and my power centers are my throat and heart. That means that my throat and heart are my greatest gifts, and by tapping into those centers I am able to manifest anything I desire. It took years of self-discovery to understand what this truly meant, and I am still learning. However, the Jovian Archive of Human Design is probably the most in depth understanding of self on this plane that you can dive into. I suggest settling in with a cup of tea, and a few hours to spare.

What I have uncovered about myself as a Manifestor (9% of the population), is that I thrive when I am free to create directly from Source. Meaning that unlike a Generator, who does best when given direction, I am the director. I sometimes refer to myself as the creative director of my life, as if I am living a movie and writing the script. I am a visionary and a leader. I take the information I receive from the divine Spirit and put it into action by sharing my vision with those who are aligned with the mission.

Human Design Chart (Image from Jovian Archive)

Truthfully, I could spend hours upon hours diving into each of these subjects, digging deeper and deeper into their meaning and relevance. I absolutely love the laws of the Universe, the concept of time/space reality, Astrology, Numerology, Human Design, the study of metaphysics, and so forth. It is my passion, my purpose, and my mission, to take the knowledge and wisdom that I have gained over lifetimes and share it with the world.

With these teachings, you must believe in it to really see and feel it for yourself. So if you are new to the world of spirituality, have no fear. The journey is the purpose, and there is no limit to your expansion.

If you are interested in learning more about spirituality, Human Design, and the laws of the Universie, check out my YouTube channel @bosskatie. I use my personal life experiences to share what I have learned, and I am excited to expand my community as the Great Awakening unfolds.

Stay blessed!

Katie Shay

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Katie Shay

Conscious Influencer

Content Creator

YouTuber

Writer

Artist

Model

Friend

@bosskatie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.